We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing and Unprofessional Service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Christmas Farm Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing and Unprofessional Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

Let my start off by stating that I never complain or have a problem with the hotels I have stayed at and I realize that no place is perfect. Due to a last minute emergency, I had to cancel my 2 night stay at the Christmas Farm Inn. The policy states a cancellation fee which I understand but it states that if you reschedule you will not lose the one night deposit. When I called to cancel, I wanted to reschedule right then and there. (and a more expensive room than originally booked.) The front desk said they had to see what the procedure was and I would be CALLED back as soon as possible. Instead, I received an email with the cancellation policy that I was already aware of. So I called back and left a voice mail with the Innkeepers.. no word so I called the next day and was told they would be given the message.. no word.. so I called back leaving the Innkeepers ANOTHER message.. no word again so I called back and front desk said they were busy and I would be called back that night. NO WORD BACK! At this point, I realized I was charged another night's room without being notified!! This was not stated in the policy. Needless to say, my husband and I now don't want to return there even if we were allowed to rebook. We are upset because the Innkeepers do not have the decency or professionalism to return my phone call and give me an explanation. They were scamming us by adding money on the credit card without as much of an email telling me in advance. It is there loss because since coming here last year on our honeymoon, we planned to return every December. We also raved about the place to friends but now those friends are warned. All we wanted to know was if we could reschedule to a more expensive log cabin and add the forfeiture deposit toward a new reservation. I would have even been willing to lose half of the deposit and pay upfront considering we did cancel at the last minute and I realize there is a cancellation policy. Such a disappointment...

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for the opportunity to clarify. As always, there are two sides to the story. We are a small inn, and late cancellations and no shows affect us greatly. A cancellation on the day is considered a no-show and charged fully. We did try to call the number left on the voice mail, but the number we retrieved was not in service. On the next day, we called the number on the registration and did not leave a message when no-one answered (your message beep come in abruptly). Subsequently, we called several more times in the next few days to discuss the matter, but didn’t connect – we did leave voice mails. We also responded by email.

It was a very busy weekend for us and we were sold out except for your cancellation and one other. We had many guests to attend to for Polar Express, a full restaurant and bar, and good memories were made for many! Thankfully, we also had an abundance of snow to shovel and plow. We regret not having responded to your expectation, but we did the best we could. It was busy and it was ‘all hands on deck’ until late, each night. The fact was, that it was not possible to resell your room, which we had been holding for you since August – and not selling to anyone else. We could have sold it 10 times over.

Above you say ‘a last minute emergency’, your voice mail said ‘because of the snow’. Either way, we have no influence on anyone’s personal circumstances or life’s challenges. Our circumstances did not change. Many people have travel insurance for unexpected challenges to their travel plans. We are sorry you feel the way that you do, and regret that this has diminished your otherwise happy memories with us. We hope you can appreciate that our rooms can only be occupied once per night. We guarantee that it is available when you arrive; you guarantee that you will arrive or pay for it if you don’t. Thanks for your understanding.

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    141
    43
    31
    21
See reviews for
155
259
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
North Billerica, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

I and the wife went up here during December before Christmas and we were in love with the place. Quaint, when you walk in there is a small little pub bar on the right and there were candles lit making it a beautiful winter scene. We had 2 Grand Marnier (recommended by the bar keep). That warmed us up right away. We went to the room in the carriage house (partride) and we loved the open view of MT Washington covered with snow on the peak. We had a huge jacuzzi that we used with champagne and candles wewre lit all around us. The best par tof the weekend was the restaurant!! The food was delivered cooked perfectly and the beef melted in my mouth. The chef came out and greeted us and asked us how we liked the faire. We were spoiled with all of the attention we got. It is a beautiful time of the season to go up and stay a night or two. The place is straight out of a magazine shot for Christmas. It is a little pricey, but if you want romance, seasonal beauty, gourmet food, great service, then this place is a must see.

Room Tip: Carriage House!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. We are dedicated to offering an authentic New England experience. We are so happy that you ‘got’ what we are all about! We hope to see you again…perhaps for a Grand Marnier!

Gary, Sandra and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelbeers, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed in this hotel in last june and we had a terrific stay. Clean room, convivial and helpfull owners. The restaurant is perfect and has some delicious deserts.
The hotel is perfectly located to explore the beautiful area of new hampshire and is, for those who like cheap shopping, a short drive to the settlers green outlet in Conway where you can by tax free clothing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thank you very much! We enjoyed meeting you, too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granby, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Christmas Farm Inn does deliver the "Quintessential New England Inn" experience. The key to any country Inn is the people who take care of you. In this case Sandra and Gary and the entire Christmas Farm Inn staff make you feel at home. Great service! Thank you to Daniel in reception, Deborah our amazing server in the dining room and Chef Dan and his team in the kitchen. We were visiting to plan our wedding and at every step of the way our expectations were met. We stayed in the Carriage House in a comfortable suite and enjoyed a massage at the spa as well as time in the pool and at the fitness center. Sandra was everywhere and always willing to chat. We enjoyed the cozy pub and can't wait to return for our wedding later this year. Thanks for making the planning so easy for us. It will be magic! Yes Christmas Farm Inn does make memories! A first class experience all the way!

As a footnote, I cannot understand why anyone would be negative in a review of a Country Inn of this stature. By nature the Country Inn experience has special moments. That's what the country experience is all about. What is critical is the willingness of the staff/family to meet the individual needs of the guests and this is they key to Sandra and Gary's formula. They are accessible and responsive. We left after two nights feeling that Sandra and Gary are now friends. That we could call tomorrow if we needed any particular request for our next trip and that is what a visit to a Country Inn is all about.

Room Tip: The Inn has multiple choices. Traditional B and B style room in the original Inn. Cottages that ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Awe.., thank you so much! We’ll see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We recently stayed at the Christmas Farm Inn (second visit). We were not able to get a room in the Carriage House Suites (newer rooms) so opted to stay in the Barn. As expected, lodging in the Barn has a much more rustic atmosphere, yet was comfortable and consisted of a living room, bedroom and bath on one level and a loft (could accommodate 4 people in the loft) on the second level. In all, this unit could have slept 8 people but with only one bathroom I wouldn't advise doing so.The room is in need of some minor repairs, improved lighting and updating and the windows need to be washed.

Room Tip: Stay in the Carriage House
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Sorry the Carriage House was not available. We took note of your suggestions and thank you for taking the time to feedback. Rest assured that we are working to improve and update our rooms on an ongoing basis and have spent tens of thousands doing so in the last year, including for lighting in the barn rooms. The windows are washed regularly, but sometimes the storms get the better of us. Thanks for letting us know.

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As a city-weary couple from way-out west, this place delivered for us. We chose the area of Jackson and the White Mountains, during the spectacular foliage season for our first trip to New England. We also decided to stay in a typical country inn to enhance the experience and this place did it for us. The inn has several buildings, along with the original structure, stand alone cottages and the newest, Carriage House suites. Our suite was on the second level with a view of the woods and the indoor pool and hot tub facility below, from the balcony. The mountain scenery beyond it was soul cleansing. The king size bed was comfortable, on the firm side, which is what we prefer. The sitting area with the television and fireplace was perfect for my husband who likes to get up early in the morning before me. We thoroughly enjoyed the jet tub in the bathroom; a nice way to relax after a full day of leaf peeping. As we were there for a week, we took advantage of all the inn had to offer, the indoor pool, the spa was so nice and relaxing. We opted for a salt scrub treatment followed by some time in the steam room. The spa staff were professional and friendly in a warm manner. Finally, we just have to give a big round applause to the restaurant and tavern for the delicious meals, both breakfast and dinner and a special thank you to Kathy from the restaurant staff. Her knowledge of the area helped us to locate some wonderful locales that as visitors, we had not previously known about. When the reception staff recommend booking a reservation for dinner, do so. The dinner times book up quickly and we had to eat out a couple of nights or sit in the tavern. The tavern also serves the same dinners. The reception staff was also courteous and eager to make sure our stay was pleasant and memorable; which it was.

Room Tip: Book the Carriage House suites for a deluxe experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. Our main effort is to be an authentic country inn and a break from an otherwise homogenized life of chain stores, restaurants and hotels. We are an inn for all seasons, but fall foliage is a very popular time for people to experience the wonders of our destination. The great thing about fall foliage here is that every year is different. We hope to welcome you back here again!

Gary, Sandra and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

With the name Christmas Farm Inn, I wasn't sure what to expect. While Christmas themed things are around you at this inn, it wasn't overdone. We stayed in the North Pole and found that it was roomy and comfortable. Being a "stand alone" building, it felt very private and quiet. The main room needed more lighting--it was hard to see maps to plan our next day travel. The breakfast was included in the price and was outstanding. The servers did a great job.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are more into the Spirit of Christmas, were people are kind and memories are made and shared…not the commercial side of Christmas we often experience. It keeps us sane, and we wait in anticipation to put up the Christmas decoration at Christmas time, which we all still enjoy. We took note of you advice regarding the lighting. Thanks for your comments.

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Christmas Farm Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Address: 3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Farm Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Farm Inn and Spa is a historic country Inn with a state-of-the-art spa, offering dining and lodging in Jackson, New Hampshire. Our 15 acre campus is the perfect retreat to enjoy the amenities of the Mt. Washington Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Christmas Farm Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Farm Inn And Spa
Christmas Farm Hotel Jackson
Christmas Farm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.