We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic country inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Christmas Farm Inn & Spa to your Saves list
Christmas Farm Inn & Spa
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Jackson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Los Angeles
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Authentic country inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As a city-weary couple from way-out west, this place delivered for us. We chose the area of Jackson and the White Mountains, during the spectacular foliage season for our first trip to New England. We also decided to stay in a typical country inn to enhance the experience and this place did it for us. The inn has several buildings, along with the original structure, stand alone cottages and the newest, Carriage House suites. Our suite was on the second level with a view of the woods and the indoor pool and hot tub facility below, from the balcony. The mountain scenery beyond it was soul cleansing. The king size bed was comfortable, on the firm side, which is what we prefer. The sitting area with the television and fireplace was perfect for my husband who likes to get up early in the morning before me. We thoroughly enjoyed the jet tub in the bathroom; a nice way to relax after a full day of leaf peeping. As we were there for a week, we took advantage of all the inn had to offer, the indoor pool, the spa was so nice and relaxing. We opted for a salt scrub treatment followed by some time in the steam room. The spa staff were professional and friendly in a warm manner. Finally, we just have to give a big round applause to the restaurant and tavern for the delicious meals, both breakfast and dinner and a special thank you to Kathy from the restaurant staff. Her knowledge of the area helped us to locate some wonderful locales that as visitors, we had not previously known about. When the reception staff recommend booking a reservation for dinner, do so. The dinner times book up quickly and we had to eat out a couple of nights or sit in the tavern. The tavern also serves the same dinners. The reception staff was also courteous and eager to make sure our stay was pleasant and memorable; which it was.

Room Tip: Book the Carriage House suites for a deluxe experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for sharing your experience. Our main effort is to be an authentic country inn and a break from an otherwise homogenized life of chain stores, restaurants and hotels. We are an inn for all seasons, but fall foliage is a very popular time for people to experience the wonders of our destination. The great thing about fall foliage here is that every year is different. We hope to welcome you back here again!

Gary, Sandra and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    141
    43
    31
    21
See reviews for
155
259
5
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

With the name Christmas Farm Inn, I wasn't sure what to expect. While Christmas themed things are around you at this inn, it wasn't overdone. We stayed in the North Pole and found that it was roomy and comfortable. Being a "stand alone" building, it felt very private and quiet. The main room needed more lighting--it was hard to see maps to plan our next day travel. The breakfast was included in the price and was outstanding. The servers did a great job.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are more into the Spirit of Christmas, were people are kind and memories are made and shared…not the commercial side of Christmas we often experience. It keeps us sane, and we wait in anticipation to put up the Christmas decoration at Christmas time, which we all still enjoy. We took note of you advice regarding the lighting. Thanks for your comments.

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Stayed in a small room in main building. And I will never go there again -- the mattress on the beds are horrible (like sleeping on the floor, not kidding). I was there for 2 nights and the second night I put pillows and towels under me to try to get some sleep. I did talk to the man at front desk -- he simply said he would advise the Maintenance person. There was no acknowledgement for my needs or empathy for getting little sleep and no offer to adjust bill or even an offer to buy us dinner...he could have turned a bad situation around, but he didn't get "it" so I am attempting to get the last word. My recommendation -- go someplace else.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
For the record, we inspected the room when we received the feedback. We could honestly find nothing wrong with the bed (not broken, saggy, etc.) and had many good comments on the room and bed in general. We are a popular inn and the room you stayed in is occupied frequently, without complaint. However, it was one of the smaller rooms, but it is first-come-first-serve, especially during the high season. There was no opportunity to move you – sorry. We do have suites and other upgraded accommodation, subject to availability at the time of booking.

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Not being a person that likes Christmas I was a bit put off when I received our travel plans that we had been booked in to a hotel named the Christmas Farm Inn. As we didn't have a choice of hotels we just had to wait and see. Thankfully it wash't at all kitschy. Our room was in the Salt Box next to the main building. The room was quite big as was the bed and there was ample drawer and wardrobe space. The room was however in need of a good clean and the carpet could do with being replaced as it was very stained. As we have found with all but one of the hotels we've stayed in whilst in America the public rooms are very well maintained and decorated but the bedrooms could all do with being brought into the 21st century. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and the food was excellent. Really big portions and delicious. The breakfast was very good as well. The service on the second morning wasn't up to the previous standard as the waitress kept forgetting what we had asked for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for your feedback and observation – we are intentionally not kitschy. Before your comments came through, we had already noticed and cleaned the carpet – it was indeed stained with a spillage of some kind – sorry. Apologies about the waitress, as well, we sent her back to elf school to have her ears stretched!

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

This place is 1/2 mile out of town on a busy highway. Not much in the town of Jackson. Lots of different buildings at the farm scattered over the area. We stayed right behind the main building in a old, not so comfortable room with a not so comfortable bed. The floor around the toilet had some soft spots. Luckily we didn't fall thru. Had a bonfire going, which was nice. Ate at the tavern and had great service and food. The breakfast was very good as was the service. People with kids would probably like this cuz of the theme, but it wasn't for me. I think some of the other buildings had better accommodations. Guess you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for the comments overall, and good comments on the food. The bathroom floor did have some give, and we subsequently pulled it up and found the old boards beneath had worked loose. We replaced the boards and resurfaced the bathroom floor. Otherwise, the room you had was in good condition.

We did also inspect the bed, which is a firm newer and not a pillow top that seems to be in popular demand now (we have already replaced most of our beds with pillow tops, and continue the roll-out).

We are not sure about your description of a ‘busy highway’, as many people can’t find us on a GPS! Route 16 B, Black Moutnain Road turns to gravel in less than two miles beyond us, as Jackson is a little enclave surrounded by mountains. The road can be called many things…but not busy. There is more traffic in the winter, with Black Moutain ski area just a mile beyond us. With that said, we are closer to most sites, activities and attractions compared to other towns or villages.

There is a lot of activities for adults and kids, and magnificent scenic vistas for those who just want to ‘look around’. I guess it is about what interests you. We have over 7 million visitors to the White Mountains annually. Most find something to do. Come back and we will tell you more!

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

If you are looking for the quintessential New England experience, look no further than the Christmas Farm Inn. We had a very nice experience! The Inn is quaint, charming and welcoming!

When I booked our stay, I had some fears that it may be a little kitschy because of the name. However, that could not be further from the truth. The place was perfect for creating a feeling of being in the woods while still having all the modern luxuries one would expect. We stayed in the Carriage House and the rooms/suites were huge, well decorated and had a gas fireplace. We even had a deck that allowed us to view the White Mountains while sipping our cocktails. The only downside was the bed. It was very hard and uncomfortable. It also made a squeaking sound every time you moved or breathed (no fooling around that night - smile). I have to admit, it made for an uncomfortable nights sleep.

The main inn was extremely charming and the staff was very friendly. From the moment we walked into the Christmas Farm Inn, we were greeted with a warm smile and cheery welcome. We also had dinner in the restaurant and the food was excellent. Huge portions and delicious. A great way to end the day after a great deal of driving, hiking and sightseeing. Also, the complimentary breakfast the next morning was equally tasty. The town on Jackson is extremely charming......a perfect New England town to visit. The Christmas Farm Inn sits near the Jackson Falls which are peaceful and beautiful. The perfect walk in the morning with your coffee for some great photo ops.

Our entire stay, albeit brief, was a nice ending to our New England adventure. Thanks to everyone at the Christmas Farm Inn for helping us create a memorable experience!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. There is a tremendous amount to do and we are pleased you made the most of it. We did find that the bed had a problem with a broken frame - sorry about that. We can’t imagine what guests get up to…! Unfortunately, it wasn’t noticeable unless you are on it, and we learned about it from another guest (see feedback below). We changed it out and it is good again with no squeaks…or so we’re told!
Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

We have stayed at this inn before and liked the charm of it, we travel to this area at least 2x a year. There was a promotion running with discounted rates that we debated booking or spending a little extra for a more upscale hotel. We decided to go with Xmas farm and stayed in the carriage house suites, room 1. The room was generally clean, minus the shower floor being stained from use-which was a little off putting. The room had a nice fireplace and view and very spacious but when it came time to sleep none of this mattered-bed was unsleepable, I had to sleep on the couch due to springs poking into our backs and very lumpy and creaking with every movement, in the future I will spend the extra for a good night sleep elsewhere

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CFIManager, Owner at Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
We are sorry. We only learned of this later when a guest brought the issue to us directly. The bed frame was broken and we replaced it immediately, as soon as we knew of the situation. TripAdvisor can be a good avenue to share experiences or vent complaints, but notifying the management in real-time will usually get you a better solution to the problem. We can only say that things break and sometimes, as in this case, it is not always noticeable until somebody sounds out about it (most do it nicely). In most situations like this, most hotels will endeavor to do what they can to make the situation better as fast as they can. We certainly do.

Gary and Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Christmas Farm Inn & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Christmas Farm Inn & Spa

Address: 3 Blitzen Way, Black Mountain Road, Jackson, NH 03846
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Jackson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Jackson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Christmas Farm Inn & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Christmas Farm Inn and Spa is a historic country Inn with a state-of-the-art spa, offering dining and lodging in Jackson, New Hampshire. Our 15 acre campus is the perfect retreat to enjoy the amenities of the Mt. Washington Valley. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Christmas Farm Inn & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Christmas Farm Inn And Spa
Christmas Farm Hotel Jackson
Christmas Farm Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Christmas Farm Inn & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.