Nothing special about this place even though they try by providing music entertainment during the evening hours. Food very average for the price. One area for improvement would be the service as we had a reservation and were required to wait for approximately 30 minutes even though there were open tables available. We were given one of the open tables that I pointed to as we were led to the small bar to wait, simply unacceptable with a reservation. I think the staff was trying to build bar business, but when they found we were going to wait for our table without ordering a drink, they moved us to the restaurant. Don't get this approach and would recommend it change.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
October 30, 2013
We are truly sorry that you did not enjoy your experience at the Shovel Handle Pub. As you can tell from the other reviews, we have been getting great responses about our food so we are sorry if you did not enjoy it. We did want to clear up your concerns about reservations however. The Shovel Handle Pub does not take reservations and never has. We're not sure why you thought you had one but we serve our guests on a first come, first serve basis and we do not make exceptions to this. We just wanted to clear that up and we hope you can give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.