We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great country inn with extreme hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Old Field House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Old Field House to your Saves list
Old Field House
347 Intervale Resort Loop (Rt 16A), PO Box 1, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03845   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 Intervale B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“great country inn with extreme hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2009

The Old Field House owners, Linea and Rod and their staff are very gracious, friendly and accomodating. We recently stayed in a beautiful condo unit with a fireplace and jacuzzi. The unit was beautiful and clean. It was also private and very nicely decorated. The price is very reasonable for the accomodations that we had and it is located just a short distance from North Conway in the most ideal location one could imagine. Breakfast was included and it was delicious. The dining area is very clean and quaint with huge skylight windows and a very cozy atmosphere. The coffee is great and there is a big selection of cereals, pastries, muffins, oatmeal, and other breakfast delectables. The best was the waffles that Rod made for each guest upon order. The owners are so nice. They treat their guests as if they are all good friends. Very friendly and comfortable treatment by all.
The staff went out of their way to make sure that we had a relaxing time and also provided us with information on surrounding events. We chose the horse drawn sleigh ride and Linea actually called and made the reservations for us. They also advised us of an eating estabishment that was fantastic. I can't express enough that the Old Field House is in the perfect location for everything fun to do and the owners are very comitted to making sure that their guests are very well taken care of. We will stay here again for sure. You will not be disappointed as long as you enjoy a cozy atmosphere, friendly staff , a great breakfast, and the warmth of the wood stove. It seems also that very nice people choose this country lodge. Good people attract good guests. They feeling is definitely........good karma.
Thank you Rod and Linea for a very relaxing time. T&M Smollett

  • Liked — The owners of this beautiful lodge are great hosts who create a very warm and friendly atmosphere without compromising privacy
  • Disliked — Not one thing. It was a very pleasant stay and we will be back for sure.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    18
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
46
44
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Newburyport, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

The Old Field House is our home away from home in the White Mountains. We have stayed there several times typically during the winter months as we ski. I usually shy away from B & B's with my kids (10 and 13), but this is not your typical B & B experience. The price is right for sure...we have stayed in several of their room types, most recently their "economy" family connecting rooms downstairs for only $120 per night (for both rooms!) They are small but the fact that they connect is huge and we were not in our rooms at all. We enjoyed the fireplaced sitting room downstairs as well as the fireplaced sitting room upstairs. We love the waffle breakfasts, the jacuzzi, their beautiful dog "Teddy" and we really enjoy Rod and Linea. They are very welcoming but not pushy in any way. There seems to be a room to suit many tastes at the Old Field House from economy to townhouse. We will be back again and again!

Stayed January 2009
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2008

The last time we visited Storyland, we stayed at The Suisse Chalet motor lodge and had a horrible time there. So, when a friend told me about this "Bed and Breakfast," I thought I would try it out. I am not a fan of B&Bs but I booked a room anyway. It was wonderful! My only regret is that I did not book more than one night. The room was quaint, warm and inviting. I felt at home. They even set up a pack and play for my 10 month old and the owners made our stay relaxing and enjoyable. And it definitely caters to families including a heated pool and a game room. This is one place my family intends on staying at again and again! LOVED IT!!!

  • Liked — The friendly service and quaint accommodations
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Andover
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2008

We just returned from staying at the Old Field House. My wife and I stayed there twice before our daughter was born. We liked it so much the first two times we stayed, we went back as a family over the Memorial Day Weekend. We stayed in the "Honeymoon Suite". This suite has a full kitchenette, a seperate entrance, a jacuzzi tub, a pull out sofa bed, king sized bed, and cable serviced television. The room cost us $195 per night and we had plenty of room for our daughter's play yard by the pull out sofa. The Old Field House has many rooms including 2 and 3 bedroom suites.The proprietors are wonderful people and provide a full breakfast each morning. The property is located in the perfect spot and is approximately a five minute drive to outlet shopping at Settlers Green; and, a 6 mile drive to Story Land. There are many family oriented restaurants, activities, and events aruond the Old Field House, and the rates are quite affordable. If you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of day to day life, the Old Field House is the place to go to. I know we cannot wait to get back. Check it out for your self. Their website is: www.oldfieldhouse.com

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, Calif.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2007

My wife and I stayed in a half-dozen B&Bs during our early October tour of New England. The Old Field House (whose name might be taken for a gymnasium, and is anything but) was the best of them all. The genial owners, the accommodations, the good breakfast were all pluses, but best of all was the locale. The Old Field House is in a quiet, wooded, park-like setting. The view from the breakfast room is spectacular. An excellent experience for us.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2007

We made a last minute trip to new Hampshire with our two little ones, 3 and 5. We were looking for a place that was family friendly and close to Story land and the Old Field House was recommended to us. We were able to book one of the townhouses behind the main building with only a few days notice. The price was about middle of the road for what we were looking at and the townhouse was extremely spacious. it was listed as a two bedroom but could easily have slept more people with a daybed in a nook at the top of the stairs, a massive master bedroom closet where you could easily put a crib or a couple of sleeping bags and couches in the main room. It also had a bath and 1/2, a full kitchen, a dining table for 8 and very large living room. Everything was very clean and well maintained, well stocked with towels, extra pillows and blankets. There was also a selection of games and books in the main room, perfect for a rainy day. There was a fireplace available but you are expected to supply your own wood. There was a bit of confusion on check-in. The website and sign out front said breakfast was included in the price but on check-in we were told that the townhouses were not included in the breakfast plan, only the main building. But when we protested the manager quickly said to just come on up. And breakfast was good, their specialty is belgian waffles with all the fixings but they also had eggs, toasts, oatmeal, sweet breads and cereal. Overall, I highly recommend this as a great home base for exploring an area that is very kid-friendly and packed with things to do.

  • Liked — spaciousness
  • Disliked — breakfast-included or not?
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2007

We've stayed at the Old Field House many times over the past several years, summer and winter as each season in the Mt. Washington Valley offers plenty to do. The inn is centrally located within the valley and so a good hub for all the recreation options from hiking and skiing to shopping. Never been dissapointed and as a veteran shopper of vacation lodging, I would definitely say that the Old Field House is a terrific value. Inn rooms are clean, comfortable, with all standard ammenities, cable TV, phone. One caveat - some of the rooms tend to be small , but they do offer the option of adjoining rooms and family suites for parents plus kids. One of the best features is the extra space for hanging out in the lower level, i.e., game room for kids with ping pong etc and adjacent den with TV, books, scrabble and other board games. The ground level has a sunny dining area for breakfast as well as another very pleasant sitting room with gas fireplace. During nice weather, there are a couple of hammocks on a shaded lawn. All these places and spaces within the building and grounds give multiple options for hanging out other than the usual confine of a hotel room. Also on the grounds is a basketball hoop, spacious lawns for the kids to run around, swim pool and jacuzzi. If your group is larger, there is yet another option - 2-3 bedroom townhomes. These condos have it all including laundry, but best is that they can be rented on a nightly basis, I think with 2 nite min. Often when I'm looking for condo rentals, it's weekly only. The Innkeepers, Rod and Linea could not be nicer - attentive, helpful and resourceful . We'll be back. Tip: if skiing ask at desk about discount coupons available for many mountains.

Stayed February 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Field House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Field House

Address: 347 Intervale Resort Loop (Rt 16A), PO Box 1, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03845
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Intervale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Intervale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Old Field House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Field House Hotel Intervale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Field House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.