We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of New England Inn

Save Saved
You added New England Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New England Inn
336 Rt. 16A, Intervale Resort Loop, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03845   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Intervale
Boston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Not great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2006

My fiance and I recently stayed at this B+B. The suite we stayed in was across the street from the main building and restaurant. We found that the room was very nice, new, rustic and clean for the most part. However, there were mysterious stains on the pillow shams, so those went promptly on the floor. The jacuzzi was clean, but very small. The TV wouldn't go above halfway, so you couldn't hear it above the jacuzzi. We assumed this was to prevent it from bothering other guests, but the room next to our bedroom had the TV loud and we could hear it perfectly while trying to sleep on Sunday morning at 7am.
There was no view out of the back of the unit, just trees. The units are non-smoking, but we smelled someone smoking in the morning on Sunday and it was disgusting. It also smelled of smoke in the main lobby.
The included breakfast is your choice of pancakes OR eggs. We had the pancakes, and they were dry and unappetizing. The towels were small and not very soft. The fan in the bedroom was noisy when it was at the high setting.
When we checked out there was a "Gratuity Charge" of $21.00/day, which they attributed as going to the waitstaff and room cleaners. Then why did we tip them?? This place is *way* too expensive for what it is, coming out to be more then I pay to stay in NYC at a nice hotel. Try someplace else. It would be worth it if the price was around $100/night.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    25
    7
    8
    8
See reviews for
16
55
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2006

My husband and I had stayed at New England a few years ago and enjoyed it very much so we decided to go back. We went on a mid week special in one of the little red cottages.
We like the privacy of the cottages and found it very clean. THe jucuzzi is very relaxing.
We also like that the restaurant is right there. Tuckermans has a wide selection of food and the people are very friendly. The main Inn where you go for breakfast is a little dark and dreary but the food was fine. The older lady in the Inn who served us was very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2006

We recently visited The New England Inn and were very impressed. The rooms were very nice with a jacuzzi tub and fireplace- perfect after a day of skiing. At night we went over to Tuckerman's, their restaurant and tavern, for dinner and the company. The food was excellent and the waitstaff very friendly. Todd, a partner in the inn, took several minutes to make sure we were enjoying ourselves and to point out the attractions in the area that we shouldn't miss.

We left planning our next trip back. I cannot say enough about this place- I highly recommend it for both the lodging and the friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2006

My husband and I just returned from a trip to MA, NH and ME. We stayed at the New England Inn for two nights in NH and it was very nice. We were helped with our luggage, checking in was easy; Carol was very helpful telling us where to go and gave us coupons for the outlets and activities. Gary also asked us if he could assist several times. The room was neat and tidy, bed was comfortable and the water pressure was good.
The best feature of this place is the restaurant next door which adjoins the Inn. Tuckerman's offers anything you can think of to eat, and if you get the dinner as well as breakfast offering, you get several courses in your meal. This is quite a popular place, so make reservations if you don't have dinner included in your stay. Todd made sure we were seated exactly on time - no wait. All in all this is a fun place to stay; the managers bend over backwards to serve you. I would definitely return - although my husband and I are thinking of returning to the White Mountains permanently. The area is fabulous!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2005

My wife and I arrived in North Conway as part of a touring holiday in New England - without having booked overnight accomodation. The information centre sent us to the New England Inn after being told we were prepared to pay about $200 per night for accomodation.
We were first shown a room in the main hotel which was shabby and tired with a small and dirty bathroom, worn furniture a dirty carpet and a veteran television. We refused. We were then offered a semi detached white "cottage" which shared many of the above features but also smelled of dampness. We refused.
We were about to leave (we would rather have spent the night in the car) when we were offered a room in the relatively new lodge on the other side of the road. This lodge is in pine in the style of Austrian skii accomodation. It was smart, clean, pleasant, no smells - another world from the accomodation offerd in the main hotel. It was getting late and we were pleased to take this accomodation at about $250 per night. However we are sure we would never been offerd this accomodation had we had not first resolutely rejected the other dreadful rooms we were shown.
Still hopeful the following morning we set off for the inclusive breakfast. The restaurant was dark, overlooked skips in the backyard, had sticky plastic table cloths and a stale smell of cooking. Against my wife's better judgement I insisted we give the food a chance. What a mistake. Sevice was surly from two young ladies who clearly would rather have been somewhere else and the food was heavy and greasy. One bite was enough. After complaining to reception and telling them we would not be eating there the following morning we left to have breakfast in North Conway. On check out we were given a $20 breakfast reduction but still had to pay the service charge on the total bill.
In summary a place to avoid. We know the difference between quaint period accomodation and neglected decaying elegance - and quaint this aint !!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

We have three small children, with the youngest being just 1 year old. We wanted a place with 2 rooms, and without stairs. The New England Inn fit the bill, had decent reviews and 3 stars from AAA. We stayed in one of their white cottages. Decor was cozy country. Rooms were a decent size, and the two oldest children really enjoyed the trundle bed. The pillows were not too comfortable, but hotel pillows never seem to be! The bathroom was dirty. For $150 a night I don't expect to see mold/mildew in the caulking around the tub. We wouldn't even consider giving our children a bath in the tub. The 1 year old was not thrilled with a shower, but the goal was to get her clean, and a bath wouldn't have done that. One of the outlets in the bedroom did not work, and the television was outdated with a poor quality picture. The deck was a nice feature, but with the broken boards was somewhat dangerous for small children. The children did enjoy the pool, but it needed to be vacuumed quite badly.

The room rate did include breakfast, but the choices could have been a bit healthier. Options included eggs, french toast and pancakes (plain, blueberry or chocolate chip). It would have been nice to have muffins, bagels, fresh fruit, yogurt or cereal as options rather than all heavy and fattening choices.

The country setting is ideal, and with some attention to details (i.e. cleaning a bit better, fixing broken decks/outlets, etc.) and perhaps the addition of a play area with a swing set for the young children this could be a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2005

We enjoyed 4 nights in the New England Inn in Feb 2005 and really had a great stay. We stayed at one of the rooms in the main building. Our room had a fireplace which we used every night after returning from a full day of ski-ing. The breakfast was included in our rate and consisted of a pair of eggs, baked potatoes, bacon of sausage and french toast or pancakes. After a few days it might have been nice to have some fruit of some kind, but nonetheless it was ok. I read an other review that mentioned the smell of mildew in the rooms, and to be honest we also smelled an 'old' smell upon arriving in the room, but the second day either we didn't notice any more, or the smell was gone. Maybe the room hadn't been used in a while. What really set this Inn apart was the friendlyness of the people working there! Alway open for a chat and really helpful in answering questions (what ski area to go, where to find this or that etc..) Also we got to see one of the suites in the other building across the street and I must say that should I come here for a special occasion I would definitely book one of those. Great 2-room suites with a jaccuzi, a fireplace and 2 tv's. The ambiance of that whole building is different from the Main Inn, since it really is a big log house and is new (built just a few years ago). The prices are a bit higher, but I think it is worth the extra money. We saw it just before our last night, so we didn't move, but we might have if we saw it earlier.
To sum it up; the New England Inn is a friendly, nice place, just 10 minutes out of central North-Conway on a calm road. The staff is great and the rooms are ok. I would advice either the rooms in the log house, or the room we had in the Inn (no. 3)

  • Stayed February 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to New England Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New England Inn

Address: 336 Rt. 16A, Intervale Resort Loop, Intervale, Bartlett, NH 03845
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Bartlett > Intervale
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Intervale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New England Inn offers a variety of accommodations; Inn rooms, cottages, family suites, and log cabins many with a gas log fireplace & a Jacuzzi. The adult only lodge offers deluxe rooms & suites all with gas log fireplaces; some with a Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your New England Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New England Hotel Intervale
New England Intervale

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New England Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.