We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wunderbar!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bavaria Restaurant

Bavaria Restaurant
1461 Hooksett Rd, Ste C7, Hooksett, NH 03106-1813
603-836-5280
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 29 Restaurants in Hooksett
Cuisines: German
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wunderbar!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We took our brother-in-law for his birthday. He is of Bavarian descent and has raved about this place. The outside is deceiving--once inside you have great atmosphere and are very well taken care of by the wait staff and owners. Our 11 year old amazed us by ordering the goulash soup and the schnitzel wiener art. "Best meal ever" was her spot on evaluation. The adults also thought the german beer selection was fantastic. If you are looking for an authentic German food experience and want to save reading the Rick Steves' books and air fare to Europe, this is your place.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    18
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Outstanding German Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

German restaurants are few and far between in the Northeast, and perhaps it is just as well. As someone who has spent a good deal of time in Germany, loves the country, culture, and cuisine, and speaks the language fluently, I have more often than not been disappointed by most German restaurants in the United States, even those run by German ex-pats or their offspring.

The Bavaria Restaurant in Hooksett, NH, is a refreshing and highly welcome exception to the above generalization. Run by a middle-aged German couple who had operated a restaurant in Munich and then emigrated to the United States just a few years ago, Bavaria offers some of the best and most authentic German cuisine I have found in this country. That said, the menu prices are very high, given that the cuisine is not all that difficult or time-consuming to prepare.

A few additional caveats are in order as well. First, the cuisine is purely Bavarian and does not draw upon the culinary traditions of the rest of the country, which is quite understandable if somewhat regrettable. Second, the chef-owner and hostess-wife are, as several other previous reviewers have pointed out, considerably less than warm and fuzzy; their business policies, which are explained in tedious detail when you call to make a reservation, are not customer-friendly. Their rather cold and inhospitable personalities are unfortunately quite typical of many older-generation Bavarians I have met over the years, so I guess one could simply chose to regard their all-business attitude and lack of warmth as authentically Bavarian as well. Both the chef and his wife choose to hang out at the small bar and talk with the local barflies rather than engage their dinner guests in conversation.

The two locally-sourced waitresses who were doing all of the table service work were friendly, efficient, and very hard-working. They were probably very happy to have their jobs and, given the very high tabs, probably were amply rewarded with commensurate tips. After considerable effort, I did finally manage to win our German hostess over by the end of the evening with my German language skills, knowledge of the Vaterland, and flowery compliments, but it was an uphill fight all the way.

The menu pretty much covered all the bases in standard Bavarian cuisine. I had looked forward to sampling their Kartoffel Kas (=Kartoffelkäse) which, like Leberkäse, is a misnomer insofar as it usually doesn't contain any cheese. Their house version does apparently have cheese as an ingredient, but I was informed after ordering it that they didn't have any available. I gather that it is not a big seller.

I did learn that the sausages were out-sourced, so decided not to bother sampling them. The light rye bread with caraway seeds was excellent but also out-sourced from a local bakery. Bear in mind that you have to requested bread and butter if you want it, and you will be charged extra for it as well, which is still customary in some restaurants in Germany but very much off-putting to American diners not familiar with the custom.

The beer menu is small, but there are a few real gems to be had. The only two draft beers are from the Paulaner brewery, which I have never cared for personally. However, the two bottled beers from Weihenstephan and another two from Ayinger are excellent and highly recommended. The Weihenstephan Dunkleweisse in particular is a superb world-class brew, although of course it is understandably not quite as fresh as it is in Germany.

I would recommend Bavaria very highly as one of the best Germany restaurants in the Northeastern United States, provided that you are not deterred by the steep menu prices, the rigid unfriendly policies and practices, and the hefty dose of South German arrogance that comes as a side dish with every meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Pricey, but authentic!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Have been here on a few different occasions, small restaurant of about 60 seats plus a small bar seating area. Food is very consistent, beer (Spaten, Franziskaner) is the drink of choice here, wine is limited and small portions. Everything is a la carte and you pay for substitutions. I would go here more frequently but for the above.

They usually have some specials to complement the standard menu, pork schnitzel is one of the best in my opinion, with spaetzle/gravy.

Owner is always present, I believe they are from Munich area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“A HIDDEN GEM”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

If I hadn't a GPS, I wouldn't have found this restaurant as it is off the road in a business complex .Since German restaurants are scarce, and we enjoy German fare, we made the trip and were delighted with everything. The minute you walk in, the place screams, "IMMACULATE"
There was only one woman serving all tables, but she gave excellent service to all her clients. We loved the food since everything was home made, hot and tasty. My only objections were: no ice in the water, no unsweetened Ice Tea and no cream or Half & Half with the coffee, just CoffeeMate. The food is genuine, fairly priced and delicious. We shall definitely go back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern NH
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Good food, cool reception”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The limited menu lists all very authentic dishes in original language, which brings a touch of old Europe nostalgia to support the stark simple decor and surroundings in the restaurant. The price point is a little high, compared to what some of these dishes would cost even in Europe, (which is known to be expensive in the first place) but the quality of food is certainly fresh and authentic. One thing missing here is a warm reception from the owner, who seems more preoccupied with only guests she seems to be interested in. A German "wirtshaus" usually has a more familiar and warm atmosphere and the cool reception does color the experience. Service from waitstaff was generally good, but nearly $65 for two mains, one beer and one non-alc beverage seems a little high for the region, even if they won Best of NH 2013 for best German restaurant. It isn't cuisine per se, but very good "Hausmannskost" (home style cooking).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bavaria Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bavaria Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bavaria Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.