We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No comment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Yankee Trail Motel

Yankee Trail Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Holderness
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Yankee Trail Motel
Save
You added Yankee Trail Motel to your Saves list
430 Route 3, Holderness, NH   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
altamura
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“No comment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

No breakfast. No water,it was broken. Room was not clean. Bathroom the same. The pool was full of dark things and impossible to swim. It was very unconfortable. The director tryed to be nice. Next time i will stay in another place. too expensive for a bad service.
Next time i will find a better hotel, maybe the hotel across the street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    6
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
8
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thomas Pelton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2009

Nice motel, reasonable rates, older but clean. My wife and I and her parents stayed for four nights. Hospitality was excellent, the owners are very friendly and will do anything to make your stay comfortable. We ate at there breakfast diner everyday, great breakfast!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoemakersville PA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2009

It was a shame the room was not as friendly and charming as the owners. A better choice is the Ashland NH Comfort Inn (five miles away) that has a lower rate, breakfast included, and is clean! We needed a place to stay along a return trip from Maine and were planning on touring and hiking at Castle in the Clouds and visiting the Loon Center in nearby Moultenborough. This motel was directionally on our way, had a restaurant for breakfast and was supposed to be located close to Sqaum lake so we took a chance. When we arrived the owner asked us if we needed breakfast and what time since they would only be opening the restaurant for the guests. She provided dining advice and dinner reservations. She showed us the room and had already turned on the AC for us. The room was in sore need of an update and had a slight odor. The lighting was poor which helped mask some of the dinginess but we were hoping the odor would dissipate. The bathroom seemed clean so we changed and went to dinner. After this it is all downhill folks. When we returned the odor had gotten worse and the longer you were in the room, even with spraying, it returned. We turned down the bed and the sheets seemed in need of some bleach. Something was biting my back when I laid down on the sheet (let's hope it was some type of black gnat) which led us to inspect the bed more thoroughly to find at least a quarter inch of dust and dirt on the bed rails. When we lifted the sheet the mattress pad was covered with hair and some dirt that I cannot even guess at. By this time it is around 10:30 pm and we are trying to figure out how far to drive and where to stay since we had already paid for two nights. This had never happened to us before. We called the owners (woke them up) to explain the problem to be told they could not switch the room. I assured them we did not want the room switched and needed to leave but just had to find a place to go. They inspected the room with us, made a reservation at the Comfort Inn, and gave us a full refund. Sharri the owner truly did seem mortified and stated this had never happened to them before. I guess she was not checking on her cleaning staff and the bad lighting and the bed covers hid the horrors. They then had trouble with running the credit on my card so it was after 12:00pm when we finally got to the Comfort Inn.
The two hours after dinner in that room were the some of longest in our lives.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2008

We went to this motel at the recommendation of business associates we were visiting in the area.

The room and bathroom were clean, but it needs updating. As well, the room smelled musty, even after having the windows open for a while. We were tired and staying only one night, so it didn't bother us too much. Having said that, I think the cost of the room should have been lower, but it's probably comparable to similar establishment in the area.

Apart from that, service was very nice and courteous.

  • Liked — The nice lady running the place
  • Disliked — Musty smell in room.
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Yankee Trail Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yankee Trail Motel

Address: 430 Route 3, Holderness, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Holderness
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yankee Trail Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.