We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor on Golden Pond

Save Saved
You added The Manor on Golden Pond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor on Golden Pond
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Simply Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

My husband and I had the opportunity to take a brief one night away from the kids in November. What a relaxing and romantic stay! The manor itself if simply lovely on the inside, rustic yet elegant with an old world charm. As I saw in some of the other reviews, the grounds and outside of the building could use work. However, we were travelling in the low season between fall foliage and winter snow so there was not really any reason to go outside (plus we were there for romance so did not leave the room much).

The weather outside was nasty and the welcoming fire was a nice touch. The reception desk is a bit awkward being up two stairs and in a side room, though someone did come out right away to assist us.

After having been given a brief tour we were escorted upstairs to our good sized room with all of the amenities we could need. There were even wine glasses and a corkscrew in the room! Keurig coffemaker, several LARGE fluffy towls, warm robes (though clearly they anticipate all guests were a mens extra large....my robe was pretty comical) plenty of wood for the fireplace, etc. There is a decent movie collection, books, and board games galor, all free to borrow. Lovely tea service in the Library from 4-5 which tided us over until our dinner reservation at 7. I must admit my dissapointment that there were no scones and clotted cream at tea as they tout themselves as an English country manor and tea was not served with what it would have been served with in England. That said, the sandwiches and cookies were delicious.

We grabbed a drink in the Three Cocks Pub before dinner. The very lovely waitress who was also our waitress for dinner was quick to assist us. Unfortuantely she did not know how to make the drink I wanted. Nothing bizarre, just a Gimlet. They really could use a bartender on staff. I was able to instruct her on how to make it.

Dinner in the dining room was a veritable feast! Pumpkin soup, mussels, and scallop appetizers, smoked duck and filet mingnon entree's, fabulous bottle of wine. We were too stuffed for dessert so didn't order anything. Dinner for two with wine and tip ran us $200. We are from Boston so used to spending that much on dinner and the meal was clearly gourmet. Just surprised it was that high considering the out of the way location. Based on the price and location, I was not surprised that there were only 3 tables of guests that night and all were guests of the inn. Holderness looks like a very run down town and I'm must not sure if they get much business from the local area.

Back to our room and were welcomed with turndown service and cookies. A roaring fire and restful night sleep to follow. We have a fireplace in our LV at home but what a treat to have a fireplace by the bedside on a raw rainy night.

I must comment on how absolutely spotless the room was. Not a speck of dust or soot anywhere. In the winter months with the heat going and a wood fireplace and all those books - kudos to the housekeeping staff! They even cleaned the bath salts out of the jacuzzi tub when then did our turndown.

Breakfast the next day was again in the fireplaced dining room. We had mentioned twice to the staff that we had no plans for the day and were hoping for a late checkout but were not offered one. I checked the reservation site and our room was not booked so was a little disappointed that they did not pick up on this and offer us to stay a bit longer.

We did not see or meet the innkeepers at all during out stay which is unusual for our experience with small properties such as this.

Overall, the price higher than I would have expected for the off-season. The place must be absolutely lovely in the summer. If I were to come again I'd want a room on the front of the building for a view of the lake. We'd love to come back sometime when we have more than one night and can take in the sights.

Room Tip: We had the Wellington Suite. King size bed, wood fireplace, enormous jacuzzi, and private deck. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    81
    21
    17
    17
    14
See reviews for
9
97
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

I was looking for something different, a get-away, A mother and daughter kind of get-away. I think we got the smallest crappiest room they had due to the fact that I got a nice rate from "booking.com". The first room was full of flies and the bathroom fan didn't work. The entrance door practically hit the end of the bed the room was so small. I asked to see another room, I liked it and therefore,was charged an extra 43.00 dollars for it. It was cold, the t.v was right in front of the heater so I had to move it. I started a fire in the fire place and eventually the chill wore off.

I noticed a bit of "snootiness" where it wasn't necessary. Somewhat of a "click" only to the "returning" customers that were treated extra special.

We never ate breakfast there, nor did we eat dinner there. Supposedly, you need a reservation to eat (onsite) and there were not enough seats for all the occupants at the Inn.

I never ever want to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

It's a bit difficult to write a review on Manor on Golden Pond because it is very good in some ways and not so good in others. On balance it is fine. The staff is friendly and helpful, the meals are very good to good, and the reception area is warm and welcoming as is the dining area (fitting a manor). Our sleeping room was comfortable if a bit worn- we looked at a few other rooms and they seemed about the same. However-- in walking the grounds it is obvious the establishment needs work- painting and some exterior repair is badly needed and giving the landscaping a good going over is also needed. We felt that the property was somewhat overpriced but probably would come back if we elect to stay in the area, given that there are few good alternatives in the immediate environs.

Room Tip: Select one of the larger rooms with a good view of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We can't say enough about this gorgeous Inn. We stayed there 4 nights (Oct.16th to Oct.20 2013)


Our stay at the Manor (Oct.16th to Oct. 20, 2013) was delightful in every way.
No detail was overlooked from the warm reception from inn keepers and staff to gorgeous and very comfortable rooms,(the Buckingham and The Avon) to lovely dining rooms,full ,made to order breakfasts, elegant English style pub, inviting common rooms with cherry fires and comfy seating. Our hosts,Brian and Mary Ellen, were relaxed and casual.....very helpful with arranging a Squam lake cruise for us,and giving us info on places to visit while in the area.

Our rooms,beautifully decorated,were spotless,made up every day with fresh luxurious linens,newly laid fire wood, turn downs while we were at dinner and delicious fresh made cookies awaiting our return. We felt totally pampered and the 4 of us would not hesitate to come back again and would highly recommend the manor to friends and family.
.

Room Tip: Our rooms were large and very comfortable. My husband and I stayed in the Buckingham......loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

For the price of the room we had (The Wellington) I don't feel it was worth the money. We paid extra for the Jacuzzi but had no view as this was a back of the property view.
The linens, towels, and l'occitane bath products were a nice touch.
It would be nice if they could upgrade the Tv's, in our room we had an old box with built in VHS!
Dinner was really good. We had the oysters, chicken, duck and chocolate Creme Brûlée, each dish was delicious, our waitress friendly and there was not a long wait for our meal.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Manor but our first for ten years so maybe our expectations would be too high? No worries on that score, there was a comforting familiarity backed up with an easy going but professional style from Brian and Mary Ellen. We stayed in a fireplace room which was luxurious, cosy, roomy and had everything needed - absolutely had to enjoy a sit by the log fire even though the weather was far from cold.
We ate in both the fine dining restaurant and the bistro. On both counts the food was excellent, the fine dining a la carte menu in particular. We found the service friendly and attentive. Only criticism we had is that the bistro could do with a bit of a makeover to lift the décor and atmosphere.
You also need to consider the spirit of this place in the context of it's location, and both complement each other - we would have no hesitation to return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We can't believe the nerve these people have to charge what they did, $400 per night including taxes. The room smelled and looked like grandma's abode, musty and overly heated, even with the heat off. Chipped toilet seat included! The people were very nice and hospitable, the food was good, but give me a break! The property is neglected, the structures need a coat of paint, how about sweeping up the walkways which were covered in leaves. With a price tag such as this we would expect a property which was well maintained, not neglected. This is not a four star property by any stretch of the imagination. They try for it in service in the restaurant with white cloths, and politeness. The property is over priced, and the on line photos are not accurate.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Orbitz, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor on Golden Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.