We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful inn!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor on Golden Pond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor on Golden Pond to your Saves list
The Manor on Golden Pond
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful inn!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We can't say enough about this gorgeous Inn. We stayed there 4 nights (Oct.16th to Oct.20 2013)


Our stay at the Manor (Oct.16th to Oct. 20, 2013) was delightful in every way.
No detail was overlooked from the warm reception from inn keepers and staff to gorgeous and very comfortable rooms,(the Buckingham and The Avon) to lovely dining rooms,full ,made to order breakfasts, elegant English style pub, inviting common rooms with cherry fires and comfy seating. Our hosts,Brian and Mary Ellen, were relaxed and casual.....very helpful with arranging a Squam lake cruise for us,and giving us info on places to visit while in the area.

Our rooms,beautifully decorated,were spotless,made up every day with fresh luxurious linens,newly laid fire wood, turn downs while we were at dinner and delicious fresh made cookies awaiting our return. We felt totally pampered and the 4 of us would not hesitate to come back again and would highly recommend the manor to friends and family.
.

Room Tip: Our rooms were large and very comfortable. My husband and I stayed in the Buckingham......loved it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    22
    19
    17
    14
See reviews for
9
106
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

For the price of the room we had (The Wellington) I don't feel it was worth the money. We paid extra for the Jacuzzi but had no view as this was a back of the property view.
The linens, towels, and l'occitane bath products were a nice touch.
It would be nice if they could upgrade the Tv's, in our room we had an old box with built in VHS!
Dinner was really good. We had the oysters, chicken, duck and chocolate Creme Brûlée, each dish was delicious, our waitress friendly and there was not a long wait for our meal.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

This was our 3rd visit to the Manor but our first for ten years so maybe our expectations would be too high? No worries on that score, there was a comforting familiarity backed up with an easy going but professional style from Brian and Mary Ellen. We stayed in a fireplace room which was luxurious, cosy, roomy and had everything needed - absolutely had to enjoy a sit by the log fire even though the weather was far from cold.
We ate in both the fine dining restaurant and the bistro. On both counts the food was excellent, the fine dining a la carte menu in particular. We found the service friendly and attentive. Only criticism we had is that the bistro could do with a bit of a makeover to lift the décor and atmosphere.
You also need to consider the spirit of this place in the context of it's location, and both complement each other - we would have no hesitation to return

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We can't believe the nerve these people have to charge what they did, $400 per night including taxes. The room smelled and looked like grandma's abode, musty and overly heated, even with the heat off. Chipped toilet seat included! The people were very nice and hospitable, the food was good, but give me a break! The property is neglected, the structures need a coat of paint, how about sweeping up the walkways which were covered in leaves. With a price tag such as this we would expect a property which was well maintained, not neglected. This is not a four star property by any stretch of the imagination. They try for it in service in the restaurant with white cloths, and politeness. The property is over priced, and the on line photos are not accurate.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asbury, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived at The Manor around 5:30 after our boat tour of the lake.
The view of the lake is nice but not great. We then went to check in. A wonderful young man greeted us and instantly addressed us by name as if he knew us. He gave us a very thorough rundown of the Inn and showed us to the Stratford room.
It was a nice cozy room with a deck facing the lake. The fireplace was nice and usable and we did use it. This helped create a nice romantic evening.
We first headed to the Three Cocks Pub. It was very nice and comfortable. From the pub we were called to dinner in the Van Horn Dining room. We found it to be quite elegant. Nicely decorated and a cozy fire. The service was excellent. Timing between courses was perfect. Our waitress “Julie” did an outstanding job in both service and making us feel right at home. Thanks Julie!
We shared the “Mushroom Risotto” appetizer. Excellent! Roberta had the Chicken Breast and I opted for the “Manor Tournedos”. Both were also excellent.
After a wonderful night falling asleep to the fire we got up to make coffee. What a great idea to have a “Keurig” coffee maker. No more floundering with coffee bags, trying to measure water and then waiting for it to brew.
We went back to the Van Horn for breakfast. Breakfast was nothing fancy but good and hearty. Omelets were nice size and tasty.
We would definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

4 of us dined at the restaurant on 2 Oct 2013 at 6:45. We had great hopes and all ordered the "Tasting menu" for $55. The bottle of wine took awhile to get there, but who cared! The first course finally came after 20 minutes and was delicious oysters. Then we waited...and waited...I finally walked around the restaurant to find the restrooms and realized that the same 3 staff were attending to all of the dining rooms. The soup came with a skim on it that showed it had been under the heat lamp for some time. wait wait wait...salad, it was fine but when we asked for another bottle of the same wine we were told they only chilled one at a time. The roast pumpkin was so stringy it could have been used as floss. The "coalfish" was salty on a bed of poorly cooked rissotto, the true travesty was sauteed spinach with something sweet like maple syrup...oh and the fish was topped by garlic paste.......we did not get out of there until 09:50....not worth the work...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Brian and Mary Ellen the perfect hosts....You made our stay a very pleasant memory.
Once we walked through your doors and were greeted by your staff it all went up hill from there. We were able to peak at a few of your rooms and found them all to be lovely. Our stay in the Buckingham room was extremely comfortable. We loved walking out on the porch and looking at the view. Such a peaceful setting you have. I'm just sorry we didn't have more time in the area to enjoy more of your services. We spoke with other guests who had the opportunity to dine with you and were quite happy with their meal. I highly recommend your Inn to others and look forward to our return. (I have my eye on the Norfolk Room).
Wishing you both a fabulous winter season.
The Maher's .

Room Tip: The suites on the first floor are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor on Golden Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.