We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“neglected property” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor on Golden Pond

Save Saved
You added The Manor on Golden Pond to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor on Golden Pond
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Santa Barbara, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“neglected property”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

We can't believe the nerve these people have to charge what they did, $400 per night including taxes. The room smelled and looked like grandma's abode, musty and overly heated, even with the heat off. Chipped toilet seat included! The people were very nice and hospitable, the food was good, but give me a break! The property is neglected, the structures need a coat of paint, how about sweeping up the walkways which were covered in leaves. With a price tag such as this we would expect a property which was well maintained, not neglected. This is not a four star property by any stretch of the imagination. They try for it in service in the restaurant with white cloths, and politeness. The property is over priced, and the on line photos are not accurate.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    80
    21
    17
    17
    14
See reviews for
9
96
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asbury, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arrived at The Manor around 5:30 after our boat tour of the lake.
The view of the lake is nice but not great. We then went to check in. A wonderful young man greeted us and instantly addressed us by name as if he knew us. He gave us a very thorough rundown of the Inn and showed us to the Stratford room.
It was a nice cozy room with a deck facing the lake. The fireplace was nice and usable and we did use it. This helped create a nice romantic evening.
We first headed to the Three Cocks Pub. It was very nice and comfortable. From the pub we were called to dinner in the Van Horn Dining room. We found it to be quite elegant. Nicely decorated and a cozy fire. The service was excellent. Timing between courses was perfect. Our waitress “Julie” did an outstanding job in both service and making us feel right at home. Thanks Julie!
We shared the “Mushroom Risotto” appetizer. Excellent! Roberta had the Chicken Breast and I opted for the “Manor Tournedos”. Both were also excellent.
After a wonderful night falling asleep to the fire we got up to make coffee. What a great idea to have a “Keurig” coffee maker. No more floundering with coffee bags, trying to measure water and then waiting for it to brew.
We went back to the Van Horn for breakfast. Breakfast was nothing fancy but good and hearty. Omelets were nice size and tasty.
We would definitely come back and stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

4 of us dined at the restaurant on 2 Oct 2013 at 6:45. We had great hopes and all ordered the "Tasting menu" for $55. The bottle of wine took awhile to get there, but who cared! The first course finally came after 20 minutes and was delicious oysters. Then we waited...and waited...I finally walked around the restaurant to find the restrooms and realized that the same 3 staff were attending to all of the dining rooms. The soup came with a skim on it that showed it had been under the heat lamp for some time. wait wait wait...salad, it was fine but when we asked for another bottle of the same wine we were told they only chilled one at a time. The roast pumpkin was so stringy it could have been used as floss. The "coalfish" was salty on a bed of poorly cooked rissotto, the true travesty was sauteed spinach with something sweet like maple syrup...oh and the fish was topped by garlic paste.......we did not get out of there until 09:50....not worth the work...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Brian and Mary Ellen the perfect hosts....You made our stay a very pleasant memory.
Once we walked through your doors and were greeted by your staff it all went up hill from there. We were able to peak at a few of your rooms and found them all to be lovely. Our stay in the Buckingham room was extremely comfortable. We loved walking out on the porch and looking at the view. Such a peaceful setting you have. I'm just sorry we didn't have more time in the area to enjoy more of your services. We spoke with other guests who had the opportunity to dine with you and were quite happy with their meal. I highly recommend your Inn to others and look forward to our return. (I have my eye on the Norfolk Room).
Wishing you both a fabulous winter season.
The Maher's .

Room Tip: The suites on the first floor are fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We wanted a quiet, tranquil retreat where we could relax and unwind with a little pampering and that's definitely what we got at the Manor on Golden Pond. The hotel is in a beautiful setting; on a hill overlooking Squam Lake and surrounded by mountains and forest. We had the Stratford room which had a little patio outside with wonderful views of the grounds and the lake across the street. I think we were some of the only guests at the hotel that weekend so it was especially peaceful and relaxing. Our room was beautiful with a four poster bed, comfy armchairs and robes. The decor is in the expected country house hotel style so no flatscreen TVs here, which was more than okay with us. We didn't use the heated, outdoor pool or the spa but both are available on the property. There are lots of movies available to watch in your room, books, magazines and games like chess and backgammon. Nice touches. The only disappointing thing was the food. There are two restaurants at the hotel; the M Bistro which is the more casual option and the "fine dining" restaurant also. We ate at the bistro the first night and ordered room service from the other restaurant on the second night. Both menus were very unusual, but not really in a good way! There were some strange items like "Ham and Beans" listed! A lot of unappetizing options. And also some of the same items listed in both menus which is a little lazy! The food itself, when it came out, was very average and was very "home cooking" rather than restaurant quality, in my opinion. Breakfast was the same; just very ordinary and not particularly well cooked even. I was definitely expecting much better. I think they seriously need to consider hiring a real chef to enhance the overall customer experience and that's why I"m rating this property as a 4 overall rather than a 5.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

The facility is tranquil and well appointed. A beautiful location very relaxing with plenty of activities. A resort of this caliber should have a fine table. Far from it. The menu has little imagination in the main restaurant and the food is mediocre at best. The pub food is far from it. Ham steak and beans???? No sandwiches or burgers in a pub. I think not.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford,NH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

On a hill overlooking Squam Lake (On Golden Pond) is a grand manor which waits to meet your every desire. The Manor is from the turn of the century which boast beautiful wood paneling and fine carvings. The food is gourmet and reasonably priced. The service is impeccable. Our room had a fireplace and a deck overlooking the lake. In the evening you could sit on the deck with a glass of wine and listen to the loons. Don't be afraid to ask for special things. We went with friends who were celebrating their 35th anniversary and we wanted to treat them to dinner. I call the manor and asked that the menus have no prices printed on them so our friends would have what they wanted without being concerned about the price. The Manor made up the new menus and presented them at dinner. There is always a morning coffee station set up, an afternoon lemonade or ice station and high tea is served at 4 pm. A complete and delicious breakfast is included in your room rate. If you want to feel special and have a wonderful holiday go to the Manor on Golden Pond. We'll definitely be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room with a fireplace and mini bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor on Golden Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.