We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic and amazing B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor on Golden Pond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Manor on Golden Pond to your Saves list
The Manor on Golden Pond
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Fall Foliage
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Romantic and amazing B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to book a last minute weekend getaway for some relaxation and romance in January. The Manor was perfect. Our room had a fireplace (we made 4 fires that weekend!) and a huge bathtub. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The wine list was very good for New Hampshire and the food was great. The morning breakfast (included in the rate) has a menu, which is a great touch, and you can order numerous things off the menu. My husband had turkey hash AND oat raspberry pancakes AND their delicious homemade pastries. It was truly an awesome breakfast...especially right by the fire. We ended up skiing a half day at Loon, but it was also very close to Waterville and Gunstock. We had an expensive dinner at the inn and had some of the best steak tartare I've ever had. We found it very convenient (less than 2 hours from Boston), loved the views, the food and the rooms.

Room Tip: Pick a room overlooking the pond and with a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    22
    18
    17
    14
See reviews for
9
100
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Swampscott
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Brian was full of helpful information. Loved the ride around the pond. Our room was really beautiful. Stall, terrific........and OMG..........great breakfast. terrific place to relax a short ride from Boston. I went with friend but would go again with my husband.

Roz Levy

Room Tip: Stayed in main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

The owners and staff of the Manor make this already wonderful place even more amazing. They were helpful, friendly, caring (when our car broke down), and accommodating (vegan tasting menu in the dining room, special dessert for my husband's birthday, help in planning nearby activities).

If you want a cozy, charming place with great food and a terrific staff (just the right amount of care - not overbearing in any way), stay here. We had a great time.

Room Tip: we had a luxury suite, pricey but nicey (fireplace, jacuzzi tub, steam shower, etc.)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed in the Avon room. We had really been looking forward to our stay. We were really disappointed! The room looked great in pictures but not as nice in reality. Looks a bit tired and grubby. It was raining very heavily and as Avon is a the top of the house it was very noisey. The fireplace was leaking rain.
Dinner was really expensive. The dining room really needs a refurb. The ceiling had rain water pouring through it. All the waitress did was put containers under it. We were right next to the leak and there were loads of empty tables but no offer to move us. The chef ruined the lobster dish, it was completely dried out and rubbery.
Breakfast was a joke, I asked the waitress for maple syrup with my pancakes when I placed my order. When they arrived no syrup. I asked again. 5 mins later still no syrup. Despite the fact I looked really cross and wasn't eating my breakfast all 3 members of staff including a manager continued serving everyone else but our table. In the end I got up and stood in the kitchen entrance until someone paid attention to me. By this point I had stone cold pancakes and no one offered to heat them. Both meals had poor service and poor food.
We won't be returning or recommending!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA ROSA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

For the expense of this manor we expected more. We had a very nice and comfortable room with a wonderful fireplace. Tea time was very nice with little finger sandwiches and lemon bars. Breakfast was fine. We especially liked the idea of being able to order off a menu. Now, what we didn't like was being greeted (evening & morning) by the personel in shorts and running shoes. In a place such as this, dress should be smart. The exterior of the building seemed to need some serious maintenance. Would we go back again? Probably not.

L & D
California

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, England
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A lovely, lovely spot in a beautiful part of the world. We visited as part of a two week tour of New England, a special holiday for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We were given a fine welcome from Brian, the owner who immediately recommended a boat tour on Squam Lake from the village. Thank you, it was a wonderful suggestion. We had a comfortable cottage room (Ascot) with a log fire, peace perfect peace. The second day was cold and misty and we were feeling tired and in need of a "duvet day". The cottage was perfect, we stoked up the fire and settled downwitn good books wonderful battery re-charging. This was topped off with a lovely dinner where the chef tailored the whole menu to suit my husband's onion allergy, that's what I call service! Thank you to Brian and Mary Ann, you are running a lovely Inn there and we would love to return one day.

Room Tip: The cottages are lovely andcosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I wanted to have an intimate and romantic autumn destination wedding. After searching the internet for locations in New England, and reading about what various locations had to offer, The Manor on Golden Pond in Holderness, NH, piqued our interest. From the very beginning, when the innkeepers responded promptly and helpfully to all of our inquiries, we felt comfortable in our choice and decided on one of The Manor's three packages which included up to 17 people, including the bride and groom. The Manor provided 2 nights' lodging in a beautiful suite, bridal bouquet and boutonniere, champagne and hors d'oeuvres, custom wedding cake, and a delicious gourmet dinner with 3 choices of entrees. We had a couple of guests who had very specific dietary restrictions, and the chef met their needs while still serving them an excellent meal. In addition, the Manor coordinated a boat tour (not included in the package price) of Squam Lake between the ceremony and the dinner reception. The innkeepers, due to their exceptional organizational skills, kept us on-task making decisions prior to the wedding. We liked that they went out of their way to dissipate the stress that naturally goes with a wedding. They did this by keeping things calm, rather than creating any stress, which kept our stress level to a minimum. Plus, the staff were all unfailingly kind, attentive, and helpful. We were married outside under two huge and beautiful cypress trees in what felt to us like a sacred space. We (and our guests) were treated royally! It was a beautiful day that we'll remember always.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake were nice, and even though there's a main road between The Manor and the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Venere, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor on Golden Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.