We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor on Golden Pond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor on Golden Pond to your Saves list
The Manor on Golden Pond
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wokingham, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

A lovely, lovely spot in a beautiful part of the world. We visited as part of a two week tour of New England, a special holiday for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We were given a fine welcome from Brian, the owner who immediately recommended a boat tour on Squam Lake from the village. Thank you, it was a wonderful suggestion. We had a comfortable cottage room (Ascot) with a log fire, peace perfect peace. The second day was cold and misty and we were feeling tired and in need of a "duvet day". The cottage was perfect, we stoked up the fire and settled downwitn good books wonderful battery re-charging. This was topped off with a lovely dinner where the chef tailored the whole menu to suit my husband's onion allergy, that's what I call service! Thank you to Brian and Mary Ann, you are running a lovely Inn there and we would love to return one day.

Room Tip: The cottages are lovely andcosy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    25
    20
    17
    14
See reviews for
9
116
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

My husband and I wanted to have an intimate and romantic autumn destination wedding. After searching the internet for locations in New England, and reading about what various locations had to offer, The Manor on Golden Pond in Holderness, NH, piqued our interest. From the very beginning, when the innkeepers responded promptly and helpfully to all of our inquiries, we felt comfortable in our choice and decided on one of The Manor's three packages which included up to 17 people, including the bride and groom. The Manor provided 2 nights' lodging in a beautiful suite, bridal bouquet and boutonniere, champagne and hors d'oeuvres, custom wedding cake, and a delicious gourmet dinner with 3 choices of entrees. We had a couple of guests who had very specific dietary restrictions, and the chef met their needs while still serving them an excellent meal. In addition, the Manor coordinated a boat tour (not included in the package price) of Squam Lake between the ceremony and the dinner reception. The innkeepers, due to their exceptional organizational skills, kept us on-task making decisions prior to the wedding. We liked that they went out of their way to dissipate the stress that naturally goes with a wedding. They did this by keeping things calm, rather than creating any stress, which kept our stress level to a minimum. Plus, the staff were all unfailingly kind, attentive, and helpful. We were married outside under two huge and beautiful cypress trees in what felt to us like a sacred space. We (and our guests) were treated royally! It was a beautiful day that we'll remember always.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the lake were nice, and even though there's a main road between The Manor and the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hugo, Minnesota
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

The place was nice, but plenty to keep up. I thought the service was wonderful and I loved the young people who worked there. It was fun to see youthful people serving and interacting with the guests. The afternoon tea and the breakfast were very nice. The room was comfortable and we watched "On Golden Pond" before we went to bed. My biggest disappointment was the fact that there was a road in between the lake and the property. I really would have loved to have lake access. I saw this place in "1000 places to see before you die" and immediately booked it without seeing any reviews. I looked at reviews when I got home and I could have stayed on the waterfront for 1/3 of the price. I would not have received the afternoon tea or the lovely breakfast, however, it is what is most important to a person- location or food?

Room Tip: Chose the Victoria room which had a queen bed and a bit of a view of Squam Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My husband and I stayed here September 21-23, and had a great time. Our room was lovely, the bed was very comfortable and the fireplace and large jacuzzi were just what we needed for our "de-stressing" weekend. The staff was incredibly friendly, helpful and attentive. Great breakfast is included in the price (which is, a bit expensive). They also have a basket providing things that you may have forgotten - in our case it was toothpaste! A nice touch. Afternoon tea is offered everyday. Dinner was excellent. All in all a great place to stay - the surrounding area is very beautiful. We will most definitely return - customer service is key and they have nailed it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Manor on Golden Pond looks lovely from the road. Closer inspection, however, reveals that this Inn desperately requires some additional upkeep! While the following may seem overly negative, with the prices they charge, somewhere closer to perfection would be appropriate! The owners and the staff were all very friendly and accommodating. We stopped in with no reservation at the end of August, and negotiated for a 'Standard' queen room, receiving a slightly discounted price. Our room was small, but clean, and the bed comfortable. The red wallpaper in our room was scratched (showing white underneath) in several small places above the bed's headboard. The rattan bench at the foot of the bed was broken in a few places. The 'heated' pool was large, and we had it all to ourselves, but the skimmer/filter wasn't on and there were many bugs/leaves floating along the top. Weeds are growing all around the property - pool area and Manor - where they could be tended to easily. One of the four adirondack chairs placed on the hillside was broken, and another had bird droppings all over it. Motorcycles driving on the main road below were quite loud during the day. The Manor itself is in desperate need of a power washing and numerous paint touchups. Breakfast was nothing special. The self-serve fruit bowl was watermelon and cantaloupe. There were also some pastries - which were a bit dry. The entrees were disappointing and served with no embellishment or garnish. The afternoon 'Tea' offering was a tray of about a dozen cookies and very tiny white bread sandwiches with a piece of bacon and some lettuce. We found this more weird than 'classy'! Dinner options at the Manor were exceedingly expensive 'fine-dining' and/or overly-expensive pub food in their 'Three Cocks Tavern'. This B&B needs improvement. There were just too many things which could have been better tended-to, or fixed without much cost to the owners. We were disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

The Manor on Golden Pond is an amazing place located in Holderness, right in the middle of the state of NH. It is part of the Small Luxury Hotels of the Word and rightly so. The rooms are huge, tastefully decorated and each has a working fireplace! There is a gourmet restaurant where we celebrated our anniversary. The chef made a 7 course tasting menu just for me! Breakfast is included in the stay and you are given a menu - no buffet here! There is a huge pool that is well-placed to catch the sun, a clay tennis court, a spa and it is situated on Squam Lake. We had a fantastic time!

Room Tip: Each room has a name. We stayed in Churchill - large room with working fireplace, balcony with chai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

I expected so much more for the price we paid than we got. The hotel charges 5* prices but has a very neglected feel to it. The exterior of the building, the landscaping, the signage and even the smell in the parlor all spell neglect. A missing rail on the main entrance steps, planters upside down instead of planted with the beautiful flowers we saw all over town, weeds everywhere, cracked paint and mildew on the outside of the buildings did not make me feel like I was staying in a distinctive inn. The owners are lovely and friendly, but breakfast was just Ok and the afternoon tea appeared to be a dozen cookies and two sandwiches cut up into 8 pieces each and were never replenished. There are much nicer hotels for half the price with better access to the lake and cleaner, better cared for grounds in town with less pretentious/expensive dining. The Manor on Golden Pond needs a full refurbishment of the grounds and exterior buildings to remove the has been feel. I would not recommend it...certainly not at these prices.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotel.de, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor on Golden Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.