We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous get a way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Manor on Golden Pond

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Manor on Golden Pond to your Saves list
The Manor on Golden Pond
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Holderness B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous get a way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

A group of 18 women spent 3 memorable days in May at this beautiful Inn. Each room was beautifully appointed. Brian and his staff were extremely attentive. Gourmet meals, a cooking class, picnic lunch just to mention a few of the services provided. Everything was perfect, highly recommended

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    22
    19
    17
    14
See reviews for
9
106
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

This was a lovely place to stay in Holderness. The grounds were beautiful with a pool and beautiful places to stroll around. We found all the staff very friendly and checking in and out was quick and easy. We were taken on a tour after checking in which was a nice touch. The furnishings are old English style that certainly fit the character of the Manor.

We were in the Buckingham Room which was an upgrade from our original selection. There was a view of the lake from the balcony though the lake was not bordering the property as I had thought it would. Our room was very big and included a fireplace. The bed was very comfortable and we felt like royalty in this lovely room.

Breakfast was excellent with great choices from the menu as well as fruit, rolls and cereal available.The maple french toast with bacon was great.

Definitely a place I would recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012 via mobile

I had the extreme pleasure of spending 3 days at the Manor on Golden Pond. Not only was the scenery spectacular, but the Manor is beautiful and meticulously clean, and well attended to. The proprietors, Brian and his staff, went beyond the ordinary to see that everything we asked for was done and more. the food was delicious and plentiful. there are so many things to do in the area a return visit is definitely in order.I highly recommend the Manor. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swampscott MA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

19 women of a certain age had the good fortune to select The Manor on Golden Pond as an inclusive birthday celebration. yes, 19! Our accomodations were splendid - the rooms were beautiful. The staff graciously did everything to make our stay comfortable. And the food was terrific!
Two women made the arrangements with the owner who also worked with them to find activities and off site dining - everything went well - including the weather.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I am always reluctant to write about a disappointing experience. The Manor on Golden Pond was just that. The grounds and the interior of the lobby were lovely. However, the overall feeling of the Manor is that of a hotel, not a B&B. Checking in was not the most efficient and not particularly warm (as it generally is in a B&B). Innkeepers hire exchange students to help out and learn the trade which has both pluses and minuses from the viewpoint of the guest, depending on the level of expertise that has been acquired by the student. We ate in the highly rated Van Horn dining room with 4 star diamond plaques hanging on the walls. I ordered a filet minon which was surprisingly tough. I spoke to the waitress who indicated that it was impossible for it to be tough since the chef had prepared it. My response was to show her that even the knife could not cut through the meat effectively and that chewing a piece actually hurt my teeth (something that has not happen before or since). Her response was that the knives were dull and that she kept telling them that they needed sharpening. No attempt to provide a sharp knife was made by the waitress, nor any attempt to address my concern, and I was left with a $40 filet to tough it out. The service was not prompt nor efficient. One of the slogans on the home page is "memorable experiences". Our food and dining were definitely that but certainly not what we expected nor 4 star diamond level! Our accomodations were in the Churchill room. Although the views were lovely, the carpet and some furnishings were shabby and not worthy of the high rate charged for the room. In particular, the carpet had many burn holes in it, apparently from the fireplace. Overall, a very disappointing experience for us and we have no plans to ever return.

Room Tip: avoid the Churchill unless the carpet and furnishings have been upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

I wanted to take my wife to the Lakes region for our 10th anniversary and intended to "spare no expense" in treating her (we have two very small children; I wanted her to celebrate in rest and luxury). In my research, it seemed as though the Manor was the top of the heap so, in a rather unusual display of largesse, I booked the $420/night Yorkshire suite. The online photos showed fresh flowers, the website promised exceptional service, etc... Capitalism says the highest priced place will be the best! Spare no expense! Book it!

When we first turned into the property, we thought we'd come to the wrong place (no sign at the turnoff!); the winding road was littered with debris, and there were several branches that scraped the car ("surely a Four Diamond hotel would maintain its entrance..."). Then we saw the buildings: molding yellow paint, peeling all over the place, even some spots with no siding on them! Again we made excuses for them; "well, this is the off-season. I'm sure they polish the place from stem to stern in May..."

Our room, touted as the finest on the property, featured a fireplace with a dozen or more burn marks on the carpet in front of it, and smoke-stained tile around it. No fresh flowers. No down pillows. A burned out light bulb over the bath, which I changed out myself! We found several dead bugs on the floor when we entered, and the tvs are circa 1990 (with VHS players and remotes held together with black tape). "Welcome to your dream getaway, dear. I've, um... Spared no expense."

The staff are good-hearted but comprised mostly of university students on a program from England (cheap/free student labor? Not a great sign), so their solution to the fact that we had no heat for the first night (literally building a fire to keep warm!) was to roll in an old oil heater with two broken wheels on it. We also received no (promised, advertised) turn-down service on our second (and last) night, so we arrived back from dinner to towels on the floor and unemptied trash cans. This was compounded by our dinner experience: Church Landing at Mill Falls in Meredith. Built in 2004, everything was first rate, and we nearly cried when we toured their $310/night suite, which was huge, beautiful, and professional. As fans of On Golden Pond, we'd wanted to stay on Squam Lake. Stupid, stupid us. We ended up feeling like suckers. If you're reading this review, please don't make the same mistake we did!

I'm

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

This was our 3rd year in a row going to the Manor. From the moment you walk through the doors it is pure perfection. The attention to detail at this inn is outstanding. The staff is wonderful and the meals are a culinary delight. The most recent standout was the mushroom risotto(in a class by itself). We highly recommend staying at the Manor!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Manor on Golden Pond? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor on Golden Pond

Address: Rte 3, Holderness, NH 03245
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Holderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Holderness
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Manor on Golden Pond 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Manor on Golden Pond reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor On Golden Pond Hotel Holderness

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Manor on Golden Pond, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.