We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tooky Mills Restaurant & Pub

Tooky Mills Restaurant & Pub
9 Depot St., Hillsborough, NH 03244
603-464-6700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 22 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
Tolland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My husband and I stopped for lunch and I was not impressed. Maybe it was my fault in making a poor selection. He had the Tooky Bomb sandwich and really liked it. I had the clam chowder and it was the worst I have ever had. There was some spice in it that absolutely overwhelmed the clams; I couldn't even identify it but thought it must be rosemary. Whatever it was, it spoiled the chowder and it is my opinion that they need to revise the recipe. The fries are great and my ham sandwich was fine. The decor is a bit shabby with peeling wallpaper. The service was lacking but it was a Saturday and very busy. When I pay my bill, I expect to get my change back right away, not wait for the waitress to take orders from a party of six first. Maybe it was an off day for me; I will say I would try again and hope for a better experience.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    17
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montauk, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

True gourmet food at very reasonable prices. Wonderful atmosphere and friendly service. Children welcome. Local seasonal veggies! Killer desserts!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Simply fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

Food is great some entrees are expensive but you get what u pay for! My recommendation would be a rack of ribs with potatoes, the sauce on the ribs is amazing and will leave u wanting more and the homemade I potatoes an homage gravy is delicious!
Almost everything at tookys is made there from the bread to the salad dressings...

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Tasty steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

Love their peppercorn steak, garlic mashed potatoes, crisp salads and fresh baked bread. My wife and I often share an entree, and I'll add a bowl of French onion soup.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun little pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We headed into this restaurant with the kids one night while on vacation. The smells from the restaurant before we even got in were pretty tantalizing. I had balsamic glazed steak tips which I paired with a local beer. The steak was tender, juicy, and lightly seasoned and the beer was great. Unfortunately, my youngest was fidgety, and I didn't get a chance to sample dessert. Despite cranky baby, our server was friendly and attentive. I would definitely go back when in the area.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tooky Mills Restaurant & Pub also viewed

 

Been to Tooky Mills Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tooky Mills Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.