We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent fried food and ice cream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High-Tide Take-Out Restaurant

High-Tide Take-Out Restaurant
239 Henniker St, Hillsborough, NH 03244
603 464-4202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Hillsborough
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent fried food and ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

I love the fried oysters. Huge portions. Wednesday night is "Cruise Night" with classic cars in the parking lot.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    11
    5
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grafton, Vermont
1 review
“Wonderful sea food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

The food is always great.The sea food is fresh.I go out every Thursday night I can for the car cruise

  • Visited July 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh seafood.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

I only get back to New Hampshire about once a year, but this is one of my favorite stops for great tasting, fresh seafood. I'm a big fan of their steamers and fried clams. You can't get that in the south. There is a play area outside for the kids to play on while they wait for their food. Not that there is a long wait. The service was very quick the day we went. It has a quiet unpretentious screened in dinning area that is great to relax and eat your food it. My only complaint that day was the kitchen has their music a little loud and it killed the atmosphere in the dinning area. They should keep it down or play different music in the dinning area. The food was great so it wasn't really an issue.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsborough, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“sOME OF THE FRESHEST TASTING FRIED SEAFOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2010

I have eaten here several times. The fried seafood alwways tastes very fresh and clean. Never a fishy smell. If I had to guess they change their oil often. They even have ice cream. Anyway, if you happen to be in Hillsborough for some reason, dont hesitate to go here.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weare, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Glad the Tide Is In”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2010

The High Tide Restaurant in Hillsborough, NH has been a summertime favorite for years. The food is excellent for the seafood drive up genre. The screened in dining area is bug free and extremely pleasant on good weather days. On inclement weather days when the urge for fried clams or a platter of onion nuggets is strong the ability to close up and heat an area keeps the comfort level high. Service is fast and friendly and although there are sometimes lines of High Tide fans, food is always served up fast and efficiently.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High-Tide Take-Out Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to High-Tide Take-Out Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High-Tide Take-Out Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.