We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Daniel's Restaurant

Daniel's Restaurant
48 Main Street, Henniker, NH 03242
(603)428-7621
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 12 Restaurants in Henniker
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Hampton, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I have been to Daniel's four times now. It's a good place to go for a burger and a beer (preferably on the back deck overlooking the river). However, there is hardly anyone else in there anytime I go, so I'm weary about ordering anything more. I did have the calamari though, and it was just Ok.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    13
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dorset
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“good food, helpful staff, lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This is not fine dining but the menu is varied, prices reasonable and the food very acceptable. The staff were helpful and the views of the river added to an overall enjoyable visit. we did not have to wait for our drinks order to be taken but if we had it would have been a pleasure to just sit and look out of the window!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrible service but good food”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Let me preface this by saying the only reason I am giving this place two stars is because the food is really good once you actually get it. Our dining experience started off on the wrong foot right away as we had to wait about 5 minutes after being seated before our server came over to get our drink order. I ordered the Wild Bill BBQ Burger and upon it's arrival I asked for some clarification on what the burger was supposed to contain. I asked if it was supposed to contain bacon and/or onions. Rather than saying no and informing me that my burger was delivered as specified on the menu, She grabbed the burger out from in front of me and said "Then this isn't the burger you wanted." What I thought I had order was a burger with BBQ sauce, bacon, and onions. If she had told me that what I received was truly what I had ordered, then the discussion would have been done. I would have eaten my mistake and moved on with life.

Rather, I had to sit and wait for another 20 minutes while my wife ate her lunch. Then she brought me what I found out to be later learned to be a Normandy Burger. When I asked for further clarification on what exactly she brought me, she copped an attitude, muttered something that I couldn't understand, and stormed off. The other server that was working that afternoon overheard what was going on and asked what she could do to make it all better. My answer to her was all that I wanted was a little side of BBQ sauce. Two minutes later she returned with a side of BBQ sauce and I ate my burger which turned out to be really good. Instead of seeking out the manager, we just paid our bill and left because I was so irritated and frustrated with how meal turned out. I am still asking myself why I paid the bill without just walking out because I should have received more compensation than the 10% off coupon that we received from Henniker Brewing Company. The only reason I paid my bill without walking out was because I was raised better than that.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Awful food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

The setting is lovely, but the food was not. Both of our meals (eggs benedict and blue cheese burger) arrived barely heated. The blue cheese never even melted on the burger.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birchington, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at Henniker House just a few doors away from Daniel's restaurant, and had two meals there and visited at lunchtime for drinks. All the staff were helpful and friendly (especially the waitress who said our accent reminded her of her mum who is British!) We had two very nice meals here, one of which was for my husband's birthday on 4 July! The portions, as is the same everywhere in the states were too large for me, were nevertheless very tasty and nicely cooked (apart from my husband's steak which was a bit chewy). We ate on the deck overlooking the Contoocook river on the second night and this was a lovely setting, and service on both nights was excellent. If ever get the chance, will visit again!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daniel's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Daniel's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Daniel's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.