We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center to your Saves list
Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   8 Range Rd, Hebron, NH 03241-7230   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hebron B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Rochester, New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“What a great weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We had a wonderful time at Coppertoppe this past weekend, 10/12-10/14. The location is incredible. You get the best views of the lake and the mountains surrounding it. Sitting on the balcony drinking my coffee overlooking the lake on a sunny Saturday morning may have been one of the most relaxing experiences I've ever had. We stayed in the Garnet Suite so we had a private balcony which was really nice. It also has an enormous bathroom with a 3 headed shower as well as a big jacuzzi tub. We also made use of the outdoor hot tub which allows you to enjoy a nature and a nice view of the lake.

Bill and Sheila were incredibly nice and welcoming. The breakfasts that they prepared were awesome. We also had dinner Saturday night and that was great. They use fresh and local ingredients which I think makes a huge difference.

What made the trip so special for us was being able to bring our dog Hank. Coppertoppe truly is pet friendly unlike some other places that say they are but don't really mean it. Hank was just as well taken care of as us.

We had a great trip and can not recommend Coppertoppe highly enough.

Room Tip: The Garnet Suite has a GIANT bathroom with a jacuzzi tub. It also has a private balcony. Every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    3
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
43
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

My husband and I, with our 3 mo old son, had the pleasure of staying at the Coppertoppe Inn. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Sheila and Bill and instantly smelled some of Shelia's fantastic treats - freshly baked muffins (including a gluten-free version). Their home is delightful and very comfortable. The kitchen is stocked with water, juices, soda, tea, and coffee as well as snacks for any hour. Sheila and Bill take care of everything from the moment you walk in the door and indeed take hospitality seriously. We had a great farm egg breakfast while Bill held our baby so my husband and I could enjoy our meal together. That was a real treat! The rooms are very comfortable and clean, and the bathroom is stocked with artisan hand soaps, shampoo/conditioner and plush towels. We really enjoyed ourselves here and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

We traveled six hours to Newfound Lake in Hebron New Hampshire to attend a wedding. We were lucky to book in advance the Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center for our weekend stay. Bill & Sheila made our visit feel like we were with family and were extremely hospitable and friendly. They were genuinely concerned with what they could do to make our trip pleasant. If someone enjoys a healthy first class breakfast Sheila & Bill are the ones you want preparing the meal. We were able to personally see their interaction with other guests who were repeat visitors and looking to book a stay again the following year, and also see their personal attention to some of the local youth that they employed to keep the gardens in top notch shape. We would highly recommend anyone planning a visit to the lake area to check and see if the Coppertoppe Inn is available.

Room Tip: All the rooms overlook the lake so you really can not go wrong but book early because of limited roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We returned to Coppertop last week on a family trip. It is better than ever! The location is perfect for us, visiting local camps. The breakfasts were spectacular. A dinner was splendid. A muddy pair of slacks was cleaned promptly and efficiently. Bill and Sheila remain perfect hosts.

Room Tip: The 'garnet' suite has the largest and craziest bathroom I have ever seen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, MA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Coppertoppe is a beautiful home with breathtaking views of the lake and mountains. The landscape is manicured and the home itself is gorgeous, clean and spacious. I felt very comfortable at Coppertoppe; Sheila and Bill went above and beyond to make our weekend getaway relaxing and memorable.

Room Tip: if traveling with kids or another couple, the Jade suite was very spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

I normally don't choose B&B's because previous experiences there were shared bathrooms and small spaces. This B&B had private bathrooms. It was exceptionally clean and comfortable. The rooms all overlook the lake with private balconies or you could enjoy the balcony off the dining area. Bill and Sheila love company and treat everyone like family. We were only there a short time when we felt like we were welcome to share in their space or spend time in our room if that is what we wanted to do. We were there for three nights. On the last night we enjoyed the outdoor hot tub. It was great under the stars and would recommend using this for a peaceful experience. The breakfasts were wonderful with fresh fruit, egg dishes. One morning we had french toast, another was pancakes and on the third morning there was baked oatmeal. I don't really like oatmeal cereal but this was amazing. It was such a great meal that we didn't need lunch, just a snack of ice cream. Sheila had recommended the Mill Fudge factory in Bristol as a place to eat. We had their homemade icecream and it was to die for. There is definitely lots to do in the area but does take some driving. The scenery is beautiful in the lakes region of N.H. We especially enjoyed our day that Sheila booked for us- a boat tour of Squam lake where on Golden Pond was filmed followed by the play On Golden Pond with the author directing and acting in the play- a real treat. Coppertoppe would be a wonderful place for a retreat with friends. Wish it were closer so that I could do a scrapbooking retreat. Lots of room for these kinds of activities.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

First of all this place is the best! I would definitely stay here again and again. The place is great and the owners are friendly. It's a customized experience like I never imagined. That said, here's a comparison of what it is versus what it isn't so you can make your own call:

What it is: Spacious, well-decorate rooms, clean and well kept. Use of hot tub whenever you wanted - fantastic! Delicious home-cooked meals with locally grown produce and free-range meats. Close to the lake so you can be on the water in 5 minutes. Kayaking, hiking, state parks, etc all in a close range. Amazing views of the mountains, forests and lakes! About anything you want, you can ask for and they'll provide it!

What it isn't: A large resort with a hotel-like feel. it's not right on the water, but pretty darn close. You definitely get to know the owners and it has a very friendly atmosphere as opposed to impersonal hotel-feel.

Personally, I HIGHLY recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center

Address: 8 Range Rd, Hebron, NH 03241-7230
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hebron
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Hebron
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern amenities, free WiFi, in a comfortable, warm place that feels like a small resort. Free hot tub under the stars, locally roasted coffee, tea service, fridge, towel warmer, full breakfast what you want- when you want, down pillows, robes, slippers and more. Vegan, vegetarian, gluten-free, allergen-free or kosher meals available. Super pet friendly, welcoming dogs of all sizes and breeds. Views of Newfound Lake and the White Mountains from every room. Family friendly welcoming children of all ages. We have toys, games, movies, puzzles, crib, high chair and snuggles. There are many free activities nearby in Nature's playground and concerts, festivals all around. We host weddings, group getaways, reunions, seminars, workshops and parties. We are a GREEN member of the Sustainable Lodging Association, shop local, grow food and garden organically. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coppertoppe Inn & Retreat Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.