We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an awesome hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hanover Inn Dartmouth

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hanover Inn Dartmouth to your Saves list
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Two East Wheelock Street, Hanover, NH 03755   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Has Arrived
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Kolkata
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“What an awesome hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

An awesome hotel 5 mins walk from the center of Dartmouth College. Spacious well appointed rooms, ultra modern furniture and extremely friendly staff are some of the highlights of this hotel. The breakfast we had was sumptuous . If my son goes to Dartmouth, would love to stay at this Hotel again and again.

Room Tip: I am sure all rooms are very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Thank you for your kind review of your stay at the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth. Situated on Main Street in Hanover, directly across from the Dartmouth Green, our recently renovated Inn is the perfect place to stay when visiting campus. We’re thrilled you had an enjoyable experience and certainly hope our Inn will become your home away from home for your future trips to Hanover, should your son decide to attend Dartmouth.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    40
    11
    12
    0
See reviews for
94
40
6
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milton, Vermont
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stopped in here while visiting the area on business and boy were we sorry we didn’t book a room here. The lobby was gorgeous!!! The picture of the granite table doesn’t do it justice. The staff was extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. We were more than presently surprised by the restaurant. We were served by an attentive, but not overbearing waiter, who started by asking if I had any allergies or diet restriction. Luckily I don’t, but it was then I knew this was going to be a meal to remember. I ordered the Steak Frits which was absolutely amazing. Cooked just the way I ordered it, the steak was juicy and extremely high quality. It was served with a wonderful pesto sauce on the side and these amazing pickled onions. Pesto sauce and pickled onions sound like strong flavors, however these were soft, flavorful and clean tasting. It was served with beautifully grilled zucchini and dressed field greens that tasted extremely fresh. The French Fries were crispy and not overly greasy. My college ordered the same thing and did not stop talking about it the rest of the day. Everything here is in the details, Unsweetened Ice Tea is not only served with the traditional sugars in the box alongside, but also simple sugar, which if you drink Ice Tea means there is no fighting to get your sugar to dissolve in your tea. If you stay at the Hannover Inn make sure you don’t miss the restaurant. If you happen to be in the area and are looking for a place to eat, I would strongly recommend stopping in.

As a side note, if you are a business person you will appreciate the black napkins. They are high quality napkins which don’t leave a spot on your suit.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
It brings us great joy to know that you had such a memorable dining experience at the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth. We’re so pleased you enjoyed your meal and found the service prompt. Your beautifully descriptive review mentions our fresh, high-quality ingredients, which we procure from within a 50-mile radius of our inn ensuring that we not only create scrumptious dishes but support and buy local whenever possible. Thank you for your glowing review and touching recommendation, they mean a great deal to us. It is our hope to welcome you back for another delicious meal or stay next time your travels bring you to Hanover.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I visited Dartmouth on business and was booked into the Hanover Inn. This is a newly refurbished hotel, overlooking the campus. Really sleek inside, room was a good size with very comfortable bed, large TV, new bathroom. The breakfast delivered to my room was delicious! Would recommend the Hanover Inn.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Whether you're in town on a business trip to the college or for a leisurely getaway to the Upper Valley, we strive to deliver all of the creature comforts to make the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth your home away from home. We're grateful for your compliments regarding our guest accommodations and in-room dining. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back in the near future, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The staff is so friendly and polite. It feels like it is brand new from their recent remodel. I don't know why anyone would put this place on blast, unless my standards are not as high as theirs. But when a friendly bell hop guy valets my car and opens the hotel door for me with a smile, and the front desk people are so courteous and helpful with a smile, and the room is immaculate and the bed very, very comfortable, I'm not sure there's much to complain about.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are so pleased that you experienced a warm and inviting atmosphere from the moment you pulled up to the Hanover Inn at Dartmouth. Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our recently renovated guest accommodations, we're glad you found them comfortable. Your kind review means a great deal to us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We were touring New England and got desparate for somewhere to stay on a saturday night . So we landed at the Hanover Inn . Recently refurbished in a modern minimalist style . Which was fine . But the room was small , overlooking the back roof with noisey air con units . Just not what you expect for a $400 room . In all honesty you would be safer at a Hilton or Hampton suites and award yourself a dinner upgrade and a good bottle of wine with the money you would save .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
While we strive to deliver world-class service and accommodations, it is extremely important that our guests consider our inn to be a value. We deeply regret that your experience fell short of your expectations and wish we had the chance to change your impression. Our guests are encouraged to reach out if there is anything we can do to improve their stay. Whether it be a request for additional towels or different accommodations, it is our top priority to ensure you enjoy your visit. We greatly appreciate that you took the time to share your thoughts and hope you'll consider returning in the future so we may impress you in every way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

This Inn is undergoing a remodel.. Ask for a room not overlooking construction. The hotel is clean and has great maid service and great waitpersons in the restaurant.
The desk people are helpful and the doormen are not concierge, but bellmen. SO, research activities before you arrive., e.g. bus tours etc. The binder in the room has some information re activites which might be booked. The two wooden (only) chairs in the room, could use cushions
I can easily recommend breakfast in the small dining room but NO other meal. The Inn seems to need a new chef. The gnocchi I had was almost warm and the mushrooms we were tasteless and most resembled what I can only imagine what a microwaved sponge would be like. The gnocchi's Italian ham was tough, stringy and also somewhat spongy.

Room Tip: Room away from contruction
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
We are in the third and final phase of extensive renovations which will bring additional guest rooms, a fitness center and our signature restaurant to our inn. We greatly appreciate your patience during the remodel as well as your constructive feedback regarding your guest experience. It is truly disheartening to learn that your dining experience with us left you dissatisfied. We deeply apologize for any inconvenience and invite you to dine in our restaurant during your next stay, so that you can experience the quality cuisine our inn is known for delivering. Thank you for your review and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsham, Maine
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We live in Maine, and the Hanover Inn is a perfect overnight or weekend getaway! We were very pleased with the newly-renovated rooms with top-notch amenities, and the staff went out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Not an inexpensive stay, but we felt it was well worth it! The valet parking was quick and efficient.

Room Tip: Ask for a campus view room (small extra charge) - better views are from rooms above the 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HanoverInn, General Manager at Hanover Inn Dartmouth, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
How wonderful that you enjoyed a getaway at the nearby Hanover Inn at Dartmouth! We're thrilled you found our newly renovated guest accommodations pleasing and that our staff provided warm, attentive service. We invite you to visit our website before booking your next stay for a list of packages that often include complimentary amenities and other special values. Thank you for your review, we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hanover Inn Dartmouth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hanover Inn Dartmouth

Address: Two East Wheelock Street, Hanover, NH 03755
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hanover Inn Dartmouth 4*
Number of rooms: 108
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Founded in 1780, the Hanover Inn Dartmouth offers 108 distinctive guest rooms with all the modern conveniences of a world-class hotel. Located in the “Heart of Hanover” and the only hotel on the Dartmouth College campus, the Hanover Inn enjoys a unique opportunity to serve our guests. Whether you’re traveling for business or pleasure, you’ll find the accommodations at the Hanover Inn are ideal for comfort and convenience, with luxurious furnishings and contemporary amenities. Enjoy a variety of dining options along with state of the art technology in our conference and meeting center, exquisite wedding and event locations, complimentary wireless internet and Ethernet accessibility along with an extensive health club facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hanover Inn Dartmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hanover Inn At Dartmouth College Hotel Hanover
At Darmouth College Hanover
Hanover Hotel At Darmouth College

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanover Inn Dartmouth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.