We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mid-week Business Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast
40 Etna Road, Hanover, NH 03755   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Midweek Business Rate!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hanover B&B and Inns
Gray, Maine
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Mid-week Business Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2011

I stayed at the Trumbull House mid-week, last minute while traveling for business. The owner was extremely accommodating and pleasant from the get go. The inn is beautiful and well appointed. My room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was incredible, views were amazing and Doodle, the smiling Golden Doodle was a highlight!!! I would definitely recommend staying here over a hotel any day of the week!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    7
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
38
16
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
norwich, vt
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed at the Tumbull House on a whim as we are not usually B&B people, but what a great experience it turned out to be. The Inn's atmosphere was relaxing and all the rooms were very clean.
Breakfast was the best we've ever had at a hotel. I would highly recommend the Trumbull House for someone who wants to experience the best of New England.

Room Tip: You can go online and look at each room and request the one you want.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson NH
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I have been staying at the Trumbull House regularly for two years and have always enjoyed the stay. The rooms are nicely furnished, spacious, and the beds are comfortable. My favorite room is the "White Room" which received an inexplicably poor review recently, which I disagree with. The room is very appealing and has always been clean during my visits, not shabby or dirty as mentioned in the other review. Really can't say enough about the place - the hosts are friendly and accommodating, the grounds are beautiful, and the rooms are comfortable. I would recommend this as the best place to stay in the Hanover area.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2011

We had been traveling all day and as we usually do, it was by the "seat of the pants". We arrived in Lebanon, NH and started chaecking around. Called Trumbull house first. . We were quoted a reduced price for the only available room, a suite. It was $206 which was a good bit more than their cheapest room, of $139 so we called around. Days Inn was only about $50 less, smoking only, and no breakfast so we opted for Trumbell house. Good choice. Finding it was a bit tough because street signs aren't a high priority in the north east, but I digress. We arrived and it was picture perfect. The rooms are comfortable and well decorated. If you are expecting cutting edge chic elegance this isn't it, but if you want the genuine New England experience, stay here. Our hostess recommened several restaurants in Hanover but we wound up eating at Molly's. The carrot cake there is amazing. We ate on it for three days. Pizza was good too! When we left Texas it was 106 degrees, dry and dusty. When we arrived at Trumbull house, it was 60 degrees. cloudy and misting. How wonderful! We slept with the windows open. The babbling "brook" across the street had more water in it than the Pecos river. Open windows, down comforter: we slept like rocks, but not without romance! Did not get a chance to use the Jacuzzi tub, though. The next morning broke clear and blue. Breakfast was stellar! A menu that included among other items, scambled eggs and smoked salmon. The grounds were immaculate and I would have enjoyed staying longer. Feel free to negotiate price in the off season, but it's worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I don't know what the negative reviewers are thinking...I stayed in the Terra Cotta room, on the third floor. Very spacious, lots of windows, squeaky clean, comfortable bed and a great breakfast with lots of choices...what more could you want?! Situated on a back road near Hanover Center 15-minutes from Dartmouth. Lovely grounds, rushing brook across the street. Only negative is very poor cell service...your text will go, but probably not your phone call. Excellent wireless, and a shared computer (on the second floor landing). Highly recommend for anyone visiting the area who wants a nice alternative to a boring hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

I just returned from a two-night stay at the Trumbull House B&B. The room I had was great, clean and spacious. Breakfast was delicious. Great stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Lovely setting and above average breakfast, but the rest was very disappointing. Shabby and dirty room (White Room) and bathroom, with bugs on the floor. I find this B and B quite overpriced and definitely in need of refurbishing. The photos are deceiving.

Room Tip: Avoid the White room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 40 Etna Road, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Trumbull House B&B offers luxury country lodging just four miles from Dartmouth College and three miles from the Dartmouth-Hitchcock Medical Center. The first and finest B&B in Hanover has six spacious rooms with private baths, sumptuous breakfasts served when you wish, complimentary 24-hour access to our Business Center and high-speed wireless Internet access throughout house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trumbull House Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.