We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comforting” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jesse's Steak and Seafood

Jesse's Steak and Seafood
224 Lebanon St, Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 643-4111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 36 Restaurants in Hanover
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Orford, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Comforting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Always good value, decent service and friendly atmosphere. some seasonal themes like May being Crab month with a large variety of crab dishes. sunday Brunch is not up to standard of fine dining but also very credible and very fairly priced. Jesse's is a solid pick when you just want to get a good meal and be comfortable and casual.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    57
    21
    5
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

A casual American restaurant which serves great food at a moderate price. The meal began with delicious warm whole grain bread which was soft with a crunchy crust (and I usually like only a light bread). They offer a fresh salad bar which includes shrimp, kale, and other tasty choices. My filet was done perfectly and very tasty. My wife had a succulent salmon with a maple, cider, and walnut glaze which was cooked just right. The service was attentive, but not rushed. Even though it was a Monday, there was a good sized crowd. I spoke with two other patrons and they were locals who told me they come here often and always enjoy it. We stopped there because we saw an ad on a "map" we picked up at the Vermont Welcome Center on I-91 and it turned out to be a winner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weathersfield, VT
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great night!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stopped in prior to an event at the Lebanon Opera House friday night. The bar area was bustling w/ Happy Hour fun, and great live music! Grabbed a table for 4 by the fireplace & had a spectacular experience!

Our server was attentive & had a great welcoming smile. We started w/ some bottles of wine off their reasonably-priced list & appetizers. Jesse's menu truly has something for everyone- inventive twists on items, and some unexpected that were great delights.

Being Gluten Free I feel it can sometimes be challenging to adapt a menu for the dietary restrictions, however Jesse's takes the guess-work out of it! Noting GF on all their appropriate menu items making choosing a breeze- and the menu seemed to have an exceptional amount of choices for us!! (they also note Vegetarian for those interested)

We started with the Chili Rubbed Tuna, which was extraordinary. Great presentation & delicious! Also had oysters & the Thai BBQ wings which were really outstanding! All our choices were thoroughly enjoyed by the 4 of us!

For our entrees we had an array at the table. The Japanese Steak Salad, new to the menu, was absolutely delicious. Fresh, exceptional composition & the steak was cooked to perfection. (Medium Rare isn't often as you ask for it... perfectly done!!!) Another diner had the Bourbon Lime Salmon which was perfect! Others enjoyed the Shepard's Pie, which I believe may have been on the specials menu. A thick hearty beef-stew styled meal topped w/ mashed potatoes... he asked for more bread to practically allow for "licking the bowl clean". A winning choice! Additionally enjoyed was the Eggplant Napolean, also new to the menu. A fresh twist on a traditional italian option, the diner loved every bit of it & was raving all night.

The bar mixes some really inventive special drinks- all were enticed by the infused options! Service from start to finish was fantastic & the atmosphere was perfect- lively & fun!

A nice large patio will most definitely be enjoyed when the weather warms up... we'll absolutely be back. Great to have this option locally!!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bardstown, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

As with many of the places I have had the pleasure of going to in the Hanover, New Hampshire/White River Junction, Vermont area, I thouroughly enjoyed Jesse's. Our waitress was top notch and was friendly and attentive. The food was really good from the appetizer's to the desserts. I highly recommend a stop here if your in the area, great atmosphere as well.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Always a great place for steak & seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Basic steak house with great salad bar. Different sections offer different decor all with nice ambiance.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jesse's Steak and Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Jesse's Steak and Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jesse's Steak and Seafood, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.