We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Canoe Club

Canoe Club
27 South Main Street, Hanover, NH 03755-2048
603-643-9660
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 36 Restaurants in Hanover
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New Jersey
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good food and friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

My family spent one night in Hanover dropping children off for summer sports camps/academic programs at Dartmouth. I picked the Canoe Club based on the restaurant's website and Trip Advisor reviews.
I called the restaurant a few days in advance to make a reservation, and when we arrived our table was ready and we were seated immediately (even on a busy Saturday night!)
Our server was friendly and efficient. The menu gave lots of options without being overwhelming. Fairly standard soups, salads, appetizers to start and plenty of beef, chicken, pasta and fish choices as entrees. Everything was delicious.
My son (who is 22, and yes they checked his ID even with Mom and Dad there!) ordered their "trio of beer on a tray". You can select 3 different beers from their extensive beer list and they are served in 7 oz. glasses on a wooden tray. I must admit it was pretty cool!
The atmosphere is "upscale casual" and the restaurant has a lively buzz without being over crowded or noisy. It's definitely a fun spot with good food! and service!

  • Visited July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    54
    19
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Grove, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere, Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011 via mobile

Very enjoyable dinner. Very attentive service. Dessert was amazing.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Lucked out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

I came here after work. It was crowded, and I had to sit at the bar. Despite that, the service was prompt. Admittedly, I was hungry, but the seafood plate was absolutely superb. I've been here once before, 6 years ago, and the experience then was also excellent. I figure they've got their act together. I'd be surprised if you were disappointed. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food & people watching, okay service.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

We went for our anniversary dinner and have been there many times before. I wanted something with local produce and ordered a dish with fiddleheads that was wonderful. Our service was just okay, the waitress was kurt, seemed to have more important things to do than to provide us with a smile or friendly service. But, again, the food is excellent. The window seats are the best, great light, and fun people watching in busy downtown Hanover.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

While visiting Dartmouth the coach recommended this charming restaurant one block from campus. I was dining alone and had a fabulous late lunch of a grilled sandwich, great salad with goat cheese and well priced wine. Cute welcoming environment, friendly waiter and the owner wandered by and shared iPhone app tips with me. I felt welcome and not so far from home. Great family atmosphere. Next door to a great little bookstore too.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canoe Club also viewed

 

Been to Canoe Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Canoe Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.