We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Indian Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jewel of India

Jewel of India
27 Lebanon St, Frnt, Hanover, NH 03755
+1 603-643-2217
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 36 Restaurants in Hanover
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Indian Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We lived in England for a year and a half and fell in love with Indian food while living there. It was a bit disappointing coming back to the states where the selection of Indian restaurants is limited. We have found the food at Jewel of India to be very good (not quite what we had in England but definitely a close one). We eat there at least once a month. We especially enjoy their samosa's and their Kadi Pakora Sindi!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    21
    12
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
na
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fawlty Towers Comes to Hannover”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

The only redeeming part of the service on the day we ate here was the comedic guessing game of wondering what would go wrong next. Missed order? Yup. Bickering staff? Yes. Missing silverware? Got that.

The food was fine, and the prices reasonable. Perhaps on another day things would be better, but we kept waiting to see John Cleese pop out from the back room.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice Indian, so so atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Seemed like it was mostly a take out place but the food was very nice and we sat on the glassed in porch which had air conditioning

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Consistently good, not "memorably bad"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I often go to lunch at Jewel of India. It is a solid value on par in terms of price, quality, and service, with two other eastern restaurants in town -- The Orient (Chinese/+Sushi) and Yama (Korean/+Sushi). Its not the best Indian restaurant I have ever been to, but for Hanover, it is an excellent choice. I was compelled to write this review because after reading "Memorably Bad" I was convinced that the reviewer had not eaten at Jewel, but instead had eaten at the other Indian restaurant (gladly now out of business) called India Queen. That place was truly disgusting, and the description of the food in "MB" fits the Queen to a tee.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We eat or takeout from Jewel of India often. With family and friends both vegetarian and meat eaters who enjoy Indian food mild to spicy, we can make everyone happy here! We really like the variety of curries, naan, and rice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jewel of India also viewed

 

Been to Jewel of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jewel of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.