We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Con Panna” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dirt Cowboy Cafe

Dirt Cowboy Cafe
7 S Main St, Hanover, NH 03755-2048
603-643-1323
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 37 Restaurants in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $3 - $10
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dessert
Description: Individually brewed coffees. Full espresso menu. Coffees roasted daily. Home-made pastries and desserts. Light-fare lunch menu. Home-made ice creams and gelato. Home-made confections. Large smoothie menu made with our own frozen yogurt and fresh fruit. Juice Bar.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Perfect Con Panna”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

I had a fabulous take away coffee from here last week on a freezing afternoon. I ordered a small Con Panna and it was so good I wished I had got a large one. It was one of the best coffees during my 2 week stay in USA. I did not eat but all the baked goods looked yummy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    26
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montpelier, Vermont
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“Good Spot for Coffee and a Sweet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It's an attractive place for coffee and pastry, cookies, or cake. The room is attractive, with exposed brick walls. The coffee is excellent and the baked goods are fresh and tasty. Some of the staff have a bit of an attitude (as if they're doing you a favor by taking your order-- go figure?). Prices are on the high side and quickly add up, but, as I said, the quality is good for what you get.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canaan, NH
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best Place for Coffee and Snacks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This place is adorable and reminds me of when I lived in Wellington , NZ. This is a huge cafe culture there. I loved the menu and the pastries! The cappuccino I got was hand delivered to my table. There was even a yummy quiche that my date got- he hadn't eaten lunch so it was perfect. I loved everything.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best hot chocolate in town (that I've tried, anyway)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I like the ambiance and the view of the Dartmouth Green from the front of the Dirt Cowboy Cafe. I haven't really tried every hot chocolate in town, but theirs is really good, and has been consistently good over the years. Though, yes, this is probably mostly a student hangout, I've noticed an older crowd (my crowd these days) there as well, and the mix seems quite comfortable, as far as I can tell. Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lebanon, New Hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great coffees and atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

First, it is a local business. That matters to me. That said, I would not keep going if the coffees were not fantastic. Huge variety; yummy pastries and local owner equals no brainer.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Dirt Cowboy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dirt Cowboy Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.