We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pine

Pine
2 E. Wheelock St., Hanover, NH 03755 (Formerly Pines)
603/646-8000
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Pine is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 37 Restaurants in Hanover
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
2 reviews
“Great meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I had chicken with risotto while at a wedding reception here. It was out of this world delicious! We also had steak filet that was perfectly cooked and just as good.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    40
    14
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Etna. NH
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Vulgar and Pretentious”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

In "renovating" the Hanover Inn to the tune of $43 million (a mere $30 million overrun), Dartmouth College and its advisors have managed to leach out any hint of New England. Not only did they manage to do it, they sought to do it. Now more a conference center than a hotel, it gives corporate types more of the same they love -- a sleek, expensive bubble, furnished and decorated by someone with the unerring touch of a bad dentist. It's nowhere and everywhere at the same time.

As for Pine, the restaurant which bills its menu as "celebrity chef inspired," the choices are pedestrian and the preparation bland. Better go to Lou's for breakfast, the Canoe Club for lunch, Market Table for dinner, Murphy's for a nightcap -- all within a two-minute walk.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nancy J, General Manager at Pine, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Rovingtheworld,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We appreciate your honest candor in how you personally feel about the renovation of the Hanover Inn. I understand that everyone’s tastes differs in what appeals to them for both design and cuisine and it appears that we have fallen short in your experience. We have received many positive comments about the new design of the Hanover Inn and rave reviews of our new restaurant PINE. While the building is an integral part of guest experience what truly makes a property special is the Service. Our employees are the heart and soul; of the Hanover Inn and strives to provide a warm, attentive and gracious level of service to each and every guest.

I would be delighted to meet with you personally and address any concerns that you may have.

Thank you for your consideration.

Joe Mellia
General Manager
Hanover Inn Dartmouth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New London, Connecticut, United States
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

I ate lunch and breakfast at the Pine this past weekend (May 18/19, 2013). In each case, I was very satisfied with my meals. My food was good tasting and cooked to my satisfaction. The portions were not too big and not too small. The service was good, and the prices were average.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Asti Spumanti”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

OMG -- I ordered a glass of Muscato with my desert on Mother's Day and I got a glass of sickly sweet Asti Spumanti -- and the waiter had the "finesse" to come to our table to offer me an other glass "on the house" with the label in full display. Funny. Even funnier was that they charged us $12 a glass.... I informed the bar tender on our way out and he was even embarassed....

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornish, New Hampshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“fun, friendly, fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

I've been for drinks once, dinner twice: the atmosphere is great, the food even better- best value anywhere around.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.