We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Six South St Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Six South St Hotel to your Saves list
Six South St Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 South Street, Hanover, NH 03755   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
“Upscale and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Was looking for a comfortable clean place to stay when in the area for business. Six South St Hotel Hanover, New Hampshire was recommended to me by a business associate. Although the hotel is upscale and comfortable we found it expensive for the quiet off season time we were there - end of July 2013.
I don't recommend the dining room for breakfast - unless it's just the quiet area you need. It was expansive for what it was and you can do better outside the hotel.

Room Tip: Lighting in room is not very bright. Bring a makeup mirror if you need such things. Convenient valet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Hello JJHill-NYC,
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about our hotel. More and more business travelers are discovering us and they agree that we are very convenient for walking around downtown to shop or try local cuisine. I'm sorry that our breakfast was not to your liking. If you'd care to send me an email with specific details we welcome constructive criticism and find that future guests will surely benefit from it. We hope to see you again soon.
Regards,
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    51
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
55
35
10
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently stayed here for our wedding weekend that took place in Quechee. We reserved a block of rooms for our guests at SSS and from our very first interaction with the folks at SSS right down to the last, we experienced nothing but positive, helpful, flexible exchanges.

Upon arrival we felt welcome. The staff has a way of making you feel right at home. They are sociable and accommodating and it is clear that they enjoy their job. We heard similar comments from our guests as well.

The rooms at SSS are comfortable and reasonably priced in comparison to its neighbor down the street. I would certainly recommend a stay at SSS whether it be for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Hello and Congratulations Erin on your recent marriage!!! We feel so lucky to have hosted your special guests for such a wonderful occasion. I'm sure Quechee was just beautiful for your ceremony and reception. One of my favorite places to visit there is Simon Pearce for lunch on the river, and only about 15 minutes from downtown Hanover.

I will be sure to share your positive feedback with our staff. They do love their jobs (or, so they tell me :) ) and it is always fun for us to welcome a large group of guests to the area for the weekend. We hope to see you back again soon, and we wish you many years of happy and healthy marriage.

Best Regards,
Jennifer Brockett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Sorry about the previous reviewers experience at Six South Street I love this hotel, this stay is my 8th and each time it gets better and better, I couldn't be happier with the rooms and the staff is top knotch keep up the great work, your hotel is an asset to Hanover.

Room Tip: I love the king bed rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Good morning Traveltheworldfun from NY. Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay with us. I'm so glad you had the opportunity to interact with our staff. I will be sure to share your thoughts with them. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards,
Jennifer Brockett
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sturbridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We were guests for one night over the hot 4th of July weekend. Great location, in town within walking distance to everything. New decor and the room was quite nice--big enough, confortable bed, fairly quiet. The first room we were assigned had minimal A/C and we mentioned it when we left for dinner. When we returned they moved us to a different room, no problem as the hotel wasn't full. A/C worked fine. We got a great rate- but be aware there is an $18 parking fee. There is also a charge for the continental breakfast--$10 pp. We had no problem with this, but we sat down close to 10:00, and they removed the breakfast items before we were done. OK if it's free, not if you're paying. We mentioned it and they apologized.
All in all a good option for Hanover.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Hello again Ellen and Mike,
It was a pleasure to meet you this weekend, though, I do wish that it were under better circumstances. As we discussed, I'm so sorry that we disassembled the continental breakfast at 10:45am. We have reviewed our new policies with all of our staff. In the future we will either not allow guests to join us after we close at 10am, or we will notify guests before putting the food away. We appreciate your feedback as it allows us to learn and to improve our service for future guests. I'm happy to hear that everything else went well and we hope to see you in the future.
Regards, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel has everything but a pool. We absolutely recommend this wonderful hotel. We drove from Portland, Maine to visit our son's college friend who is a camp counselor just over the border in VT. What a great surprise to walk into the spotless, uncluttered, tastefully decorated lobby. The staff is competent and casual. When we attempted to get our own luggage cart, the car attendant politely informed us that the hotel is a full service hotel--so he loaded our luggage on the cart and followed us to our room. Parking the car is $18.00 per day-- come and go as you want. It was a sweltering July day, and though the lobby was well cooled, the elevators were not cool enough. The room, however, was wonderfully cool. I have a body temperature issue and need the option of very cool environments- so this worked well! The room was impeccable in every way. The two windows that faced the street below, had panes and screens--giving the feeling of a real home. Despite the heat, it was nice to have the option of opening the windows if we needed fresh air. The bathroom was thoughtfully designed with plenty of hooks for towels and clothes, lots of storage and counter space in the large cabinet. Shiny chrome faucets, American Standard oversized sink, Toto toilet, great water pressure. Plenty of super absorbent white towels, a shower cap, quality toiletries, and a very needed facial wipe for these muggy days. We have Termpurpedic beds at home, and find most hotel beds uncomfortable, but these beds are super comfortable. Linens were crisp and clean, desk had plenty of room, thoughtful lighting throughout(
if you need tons of lighting and overhead lights, this might not work). We did not eat in the hotel, but saw they have Starbucks coffee and Tazo tea in lobby. Walking distance of 1 block to center of town.

Room Tip: We were three adults ( husband wife 21 year old) a bigger room would have been better but this is no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Hello there Mainer! You are so kind to share such great tips for fellow travelers. I agree, some of our common areas like the hallways and elevator can be warm during the summer. The hope was to conserve on energy in those spaces so they are not air conditioned in our efforts to be a "Green" hotel. Our free Starbucks & Tazo for guests has been a huge hit, I'm so glad you noticed it. Again, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Regards, Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Hotel nicely situated and newly renovated. Walking distance to Dartmouth, town, stores and restaurants. Rooms modern, simple and clean. Only there for one night. Very convenient. Parking available. Hope to be regulars! We agree it's a nice alternative to Hanover Inn!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thanks for your review Ginny19! I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay. What was your favorite activity in the Hanover area that you would recommend to other travelers? We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I read some previous reviews saying that Six South didn't seem like a boutique property, but it certainly did to us.

We stayed here for one night when we were picking up a puppy (the second floor is for guests with dogs), who stayed with us our first night in the hotel. We found the hotel to be spotless, quiet (could here nothing going on next door), and the beds/pillows were really comfortable. We were also able to use a pull-out bed at no extra cost. The front-desk staff were very friendly and pleasant. It's also centrally located; no need to drive anywhere.

I will say our experience at the bar was a little strange; we thought our glasses of prosecco were flat (not a bubble in sight...), and the bartender got a little snippy when we asked to exchange them. But this was a minor detail in the overall experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hello Littlelotte617,
It's nice to see that such a frequent traveler like yourself still is able to take the time to give feedback about your hotel stays. I'm sorry to hear about your experience at the bar. I will certainly check in to that to ensure it does not happen to future guests. Otherwise, we will share the positive feedback with our staff. Most importantly, how is the new puppy? And, where are the photos? We look forward to hosting you and your new family member in the future.
Jennifer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Address: 6 South Street, Hanover, NH 03755
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Livey,upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six South St Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.