We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great home base” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Six South St Hotel

Save Saved
You added Six South St Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Six South St Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   6 South Street, Hanover, NH 03755   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hanover
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Great home base”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

On a recent trip to Dartmouth, I stayed at the Sixth South. Just what I needed, great comfy room, peace and quiet and excellent dining at the ready. I have never stayed at the "alternative" up the street but for my two cents - why bother. The locale is just off the main drag with much better access without the foot and other traffic. The staff is attentive and helpful without being obtrusive. The amenities were excellent - great bathroom layout, hi-res TV with cable essentials, and the wi-fi was responsive and easy. Loved the breakfasts with excellent healthy fare plus the usual eggs galore if tempted. In short, this is a near perfect property that offered me the base of operation that I needed with very little fuss. Only one question: What's not to like. Also kudos to the dinner staff for likewise service and excellent food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
Thanks so much for the high praise ! Your positive feedback made many people smile here at Six South. Hope to see you here in Hanover again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    40
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
31
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Until the reopening of the Hanover Inn, this place was literally the only place in town - which is how we ended up there. I haven't been in the renovated Hanover Inn yet, so this may not be the fairest comparison...I liked Six South St. more than the "old" Hanover Inn. No, you can't look straight across to the Dartmouth green. And if you're like me and get a room facing the street you'll likely hear people talking down below and smell Ramunto's pizza all night long. But, I felt that my room was more comfortable and, as I write this, everything was still pretty new. One strike against was during check-in, I waited for a while before the guy at the front desk returned from a smoke break. He didn't notice me pull into the driveway. Otherwise, no problems.
One more thing: they are dog friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street can be noisy - haven't stayed on the other side of the building so I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thanks very much for your review. We're glad that you found Six South to be a "good alternative" for your stay here in downtown Hanover. Thanks for mentioning our "pet friendly" policy too!
We hope you'll stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, MA
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

Sometimes you just want to be a bit more anonymous. This hotel had a real modern flair set against this quaint college town. The rooms were spotless, the queen bed was very comfortable, and the location was ideal. We didn't need the staff but they were friendly and confident. Hanover is a low key town, well situated for enjoying the Upper Valley.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Booked the hotel because of the location, and website. However...did not live up to expectations...the decor was "cheap" although they tried to be "hip". Staff was nice, but really more like a 3 star....seemed to lack management, but staff did what they could.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, September 24, 2012
I'm very sorry that our hotel did not meet with your expectations. We certainly appreciate your feedback.... especially your positive remarks about our staff. We hope that you'll give us another chance to make a more positive impression should your travels bring you back to Hanover in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We were driving in a rainstorm and had to pull off to find a place to stay. Saturday night, 10:30 PM we pulled into Hanover, NH. Stopped at the first gaz station to ask about hotels. A young student eard my questions and offered her opinion. She suggested the Six South St. Hotel, just around the corner. We did just that. THANK YOU FOR THE YOUR OPINION!!
From the moment i was greeted at the front desk by two of the friendliest staff, ever., to the moment we checked out....... 2 days later........ Our stay was nothing but FIRST CLASS!!
It's lacking room service, but, its surrounded by wonderful restaurants and cafes.
Six South St. Hotel is a great hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Room/bath was comfortable and everything worked. Just don't get a room on the streetside as the windows are thin and morning street noise was bothersome. Breakfast was nice but if you don't want carbs, order from the kitchen menu. Convenient to the main street and a short walk to campus.

Room Tip: Steetside rooms can be noisy. Don't know about backside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We certainly appreciate your comments and are glad that you enjoyed our downtown location and the convenience of our proximity to Dartmouth College.
We hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

I was given the name of this hotel on a list of hotels in area for visiting camps. When I clicked on the link expecting a quaint B&B, it was completely surprised that an updated, modern hotel like SSS could exist in the area. We stayed there and were very impressed with the friendliness of the staff as well as the design/decor of the rooms. The bed was one of the most comfortable beds ever and I have stayed at many top notch hotels. We didn't have time to eat there so i have no review of the food. The Starbucks in lobby was a good touch (need real milk, not creamer though)...how does a college town NOT have a starbucks? The lobby set up w/tvs and easy access to internet/printer etc was a convenient feature. Great location in town, close to everything including dinner choices and the famous gelato stop by the movie theater. We paid to overnight park but i think you could find street parking if you have patience. Made for a refreshing break and change from the chain hotels in strip malls.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ssshanover, General Manager at Six South St Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
We love to "surprise" and "impress" here at Six South ! Thanks so much for taking the time to review our hotel. We've only been open a little more than a year,but, more and more "camper's parents'" are discovering us. Thanks for helping to spread the word !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Six South St Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Six South St Hotel

Address: 6 South Street, Hanover, NH 03755
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hanover
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Hanover
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Six South St Hotel 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hanover's new downtown boutique hotel, just steps from Dartmouth College. Bistro at Six restaurant serves breakfast daily. Dinner served Monday-Saturday. Livey,upscale lounge for cocktails. Valet parking. An "uptown" hotel in downtown Hanover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Six South St Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
6 South St Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Six South St Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.