We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Healthy Cuisine” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Yama Restaurant II - CLOSED

Yama Restaurant II
72 S Main St, Hanover, NH 03755
(603) 643-4000
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Korean
Restaurant details
Derby, Vermont
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent Healthy Cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We've stopped here several times, the first from a recommendation from our primary care physician at Dartmouth Medical Center. Our favorite continues to be the sweet potato noodles with vegetables with an order of avocado rolls. Good food, nice location at the southern end of Main Street, lots of light and an excellent staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    27
    4
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Pomfret, VT
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Super fast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Went here for dinner on a friday night. Got there around 6 and it was starting to get busy but we only had to wait 5 minutes or so. Food was pretty good and there were lots of small dishes (appetizers?) which came with the meal. They also had a good selection of vegetarian options (but not much in the nori roll department). We only had to wait 10 minutes or less for the food to arrive!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, Vermont
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“A Mixed Meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Ate at Yama with a friend before going to a movie at the Nugget on a Saturday night and got here early at 5:00 PM. We had no difficulty finding a table, as the place was practically empty. However, by the time we had finished our meal, there was not a table to be had and long lines of hungry people waiting impatiently. An extraordinary sight to see for a restaurant in Hanover, NH.

Now for the food. Originally, I had planned to have the deluxe sashimi, but, as it was a freezing cold evening, I felt the need for something hot. So I chose an appetizer of shumai (steamed shrimp dumplings), and they were delicious with an excellent dipping sauce! In fact, I could have eaten another half dozen! But, I was disappointed with the shrimp tempura (only two shrimp but lots of root vegetables). Also according to the menu, this entree should have been served with miso soup, but the waiter failed to bring the latter. Further, I ordered the oshitashi (cooked spinach with Yama's own sesame dressing) to offset the greasiness of the tempura, But that too was disappointing. It had an odd taste, and the spinach was overcooked. In retrospect, I would have preferred just plain rice vinegar with sesame seeds sprinkled over the top of the steamed spinach.

So, sadly, all in all, this was not the great meal that I had anticipated!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

this is one of our favorite places to eat in Hanover. the sushi is excellant and i recommend the Lebanon and Hanover Rolls as our favorite. everything is fresh and the service is very quick. they don't take reservations and although often crowded they seem to have a good flow. we have never had to wait more than 15-20 minutes for a table even when packed on a weekend night.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Yama has excellent sushi and food, and very reasonably priced. The service is great too, I would definitely go back!!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yama Restaurant II also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Yama Restaurant II, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.