We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a B&B!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hancock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hancock Inn
Save
You added Hancock Inn to your Saves list
33 Main Street, Hancock, NH 03449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A gem of a B&B!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

I had the pleasure of spendin nine days at the Hancock Inn and they will be some of my most memorable. The owners, Marcia and Jarvis Coffin are delightful. You could not ask for more attentive and charming innkeepers. They want you to be comfortable and happy and will go the extra mile to make that happen. The breakfasts are generous and delicious. I could go on and on about the dinners as well, I tried nearly everything on the menu and was in heaven on each occasion. You could hear the very same amongst the other diners. Trust me, after nine evenings, you pick up on these things. If you happen to dinner one evening, be sure to say hello to Andrea..she will make you feel right at home as do the rest of the staff. As for the rooms, mine was comfortable and had eveything that I could possibly need. I chose one of the smaller rooms, if not the smallest and was very comfortable. As a woman travelling on my own, I felt right at home. I prefer B&B's when I travel and I have stayed in quite a few. The Hancock Inn is at the top of my list and I imagine will be there for quite some time. I look forward to my next visit, I hope you do too!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarvis and Marc... C, Owner at Hancock Inn, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you, thank you! We are looking forward to seeing you again - SOON, we hope.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
59
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Vermont
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We enjoyed a fabulous evening at the Hancock Inn restaurant for a family birthday celebration. The private dining room was perfect for our group of 10, the service was superior, the food was wonderful and the atmosphere could not have been better. Out-of-town cousins stayed overnight - one with a dog - and raved about the beds and delicious breakfast. Jarvis and Marcia Coffin went out of their way to make sure the evening was a success for all - including the dog. Lovely inn, grounds and town. Highly recommended.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

I can't add much to the praise already heaped on this fine inn. We stayed in the Rufus Porter room, which is decorated with folk-art landscape murals by the itinerant artist. It was a cozy corner room with its own bath, a very comfortable bed, and a charmingly uneven floor. Breakfast (included in the room rate) was served in the Tavern, a sunny room overlooking the back yard. Both days included homemade granola and a complimentary baked good along with the dishes we ordered; it all was quite tasty. The dinner we had was also lovely, with the menu perfectly suited to an upscale country inn. The staff was universally welcoming, cheerful, and helpful-- including Potter, a golden retriever who seemed to show up at just the right moments.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoddard, New Hampshire, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We have visited the Inn on several occasions for dinner but this was our first stay. The staff was friendly' accommodating and helpful. They made us both feel right at home' even part of the family! The dining was AMAZING!! I expected the diner to be great but was really surprised and "wowed" by the delicious homemade breakfast and the attentiveness of our hosts. We can't wait to stay again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

I was a guest at this lovely, well renovated historic inn in the lovely village of Hancock. My room was tastefully decorated, comfortable and quiet. I did take advantage of the TV and cable. I enjoyed my private, recently renovated bathroom with tub. The innkeepers were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was home-made and served in a lovely room with views to the yard. I dined each night in the restaurant which retained it's homey, historic atmosphere. The menu had a wide range of offerings and I enjoyed a very good selection of wines. I will mostly certainly return when I am travelling in the area again. I can highly recommend Hancock Inn.

Room Tip: There is a wide offering of room types, sizes and amenities so select what suits you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013 via mobile

I went to a wedding shower luncheon at the old inn. It was beautiful, tasteful and tasty.
Don't miss the crab cake or sticky toffee pudding.

The rooms looked lovely and the innkeepers and staff were very friendly and helpful.
As I was a guest, I can't attest to the value but I can say if in the area, I would return.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francestown, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

my husband and myself go here for our anniversary every year it's our special place the staff is wonderful wine list expansive and the food a culinary delight if you have not tried it you should its wonderful The Kazanovicz

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Inn

Address: 33 Main Street, Hancock, NH 03449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hancock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.