We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable, Friendly, and Welcoming” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hancock Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hancock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hancock Inn
Save
You added Hancock Inn to your Saves list
33 Main Street, Hancock, NH 03449   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hancock B&B and Inns
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hospitable, Friendly, and Welcoming”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

Words such as ‘hospitable’, ‘friendly’, and ‘welcoming’ were invented for the Hancock Inn. From the outstanding food to the comfortable accommodations, our visit was a very pleasant Thanksgiving get-away. And the Rufus Porter wall mural was a bonus.

Marita, Bridget, and Frank Byrne Littleton, MA and Natick, MA

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    12
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
59
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed three nights in December and were sad to go. The inn has so much character and the owners are very warm and hospitable. Breakfast was so amazing that we always ate too much and skipped lunch. We definitely felt at home in this quaint little town.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are unique.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We stayed for 2 nights in October 2011. Our room, the Washington, was fairly small, as advertised, but had the benefit of ample storage space. With the luggage out of the way, you can actually roam around comfortably. Their site says the view goes out over the backyard, which is factually correct but doesn't quite do it justice: it is a very peaceful setting within grasslands and woods you'll notice.
The only slight qualification I'd have was a faint dingy/damp smell, whose origin neither of us could locate. It wasn't too bothersome but all the more surprising given that we could not fault the Inn for cleanliness in any way.
Breakfast was very good: you'll come across a buffett with fruit, granola, pastries etc which gives you a more than solid base for the hot entree of choice. There are reviews complaining about the Golden Retriever being present in the breakfast room. I cannot share those misgivings; while we visited, all new guests were asked in advance if that would pose a problem and the owners swiftly locked the dog away when it actually did for one guest. It probably helps that this dog is one of the best-behaved I've seen.
And if you do have the time, try their restaurant - it's worth it (and there aren't any alternatives in Hancock itself).
To sum it up: the Hancock Inn is a very comfortable base whenever you want to explore the Monadnock Region.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheaton, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

We stayed here for two nights at the end of October and loved it all. The food was great and the service was excellent. I had no problem with their dog being in the dining rooms. A local church rings their bell every hour and i did hear them at 2am and 3am the first night I was there, but slept through it the second night.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, Massachusetts
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The new Inn owners, Marcia and Jarvis Coffin are sure to make the Hancock Inn a memorable destination for all who visit. We were there for a social gathering recently and we felt like we were guests in someone's home. Everything was beautifully appointed and Marcia and Jarvis seemed to anticipate every need. I unwittingly left my purse behind and they were incredibly thoughtful and got it to me quickly.

Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

The Hancock Inn is a picture perfect historic New England Inn. It has great food, service and ambiance. The current owners have been there for two months and they seem to be trying to get it right. HOWEVER, a large golden retriever makes one's dining experience far less pleasurable than it should be. The dog has the run of the two dining areas and feels free to visit guests and sit by their tables. I like dogs, have owned dogs, but do not appreciate having a dog sniff the breakfast buffet before I get to it nor do I enjoy a dog eying my meals. In case the owners do not understand a worst case scenario, here is an example: at another B & B a large dog sat by me at the breakfast table and sneezed on my food. Since this is an old inn, sleep quality depends on the consideration of other guest.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

My wife and I were looking for the perfect New England getaway and found it. The inn had the perfect mix of charm and amenities.We were able to enjoy the foliage and come back to our room and not worry about driving to find dinner. The Hancock in restaurant is fantastic!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hancock Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hancock Inn

Address: 33 Main Street, Hancock, NH 03449
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hancock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hancock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Also Known As:
Hancock Hotel Hancock

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hancock Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.