We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern to your Saves list
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Hampton
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

We had a Blue Tie Dinner event at The Old Salt and stayed the night at Lamie's Inn. The food was amazing (especially the chocolate mousse) and the staff at Lamie's was genuinely friendly. The brunch on Sunday is quite the spread too! Thanks so much!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    76
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
45
138
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dunedin, New Zealand
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

My husband and I recently attended a course at the nearby Windsor Chair institute and were recommended this accommodation by the head of the institute. We found it a good location, with comfortable rooms and a choice of dining or bar food. Apples and coffee always available for guests and plenty of parking outside.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, MS
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We could not have asked for a better place for our week's stay
In Hampton. Everyone was helpful, considerate and so welcoming. We arrived a day early and Mau found a room for us at the last minute. Thanks to each and every person at Lamie's and The Old Salt. We appreciated every courtesy extended to us.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turner, Maine
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Met family there for brunch today and we were pleased. I urge people to make reservations, we were glad we did. There is a extensive selection at the brunch. Traditional breakfast foods such as pastries, bagels, cinnamon buns. It was nice, they were a more reasonable size, not too large. There were the typical breakfast meats, eggs, hash and homefries. There was lots of fruit, and there was a large chocolate fountain with fresh pineapples, huge strawberries and more. There was a crepe station, waffle station and omelet station where you could get cooked to your specifications. There were a number of entrées also. Chicken flourintine, chicken cacciatore, baked stuffed haddock, vegetables snd much more. Round that out with a carving station and dessert station. It is not a fancy place, but very homey and comfortable. We were pleased with the food, we did not sample everything. Most was very good, the fish was a llittle dry on the edge. The meat at the carving station was very tender and flavorful. l thought the fruit was fresh and firm, my grandson loved the chocolate fountain. There was an older gentleman playing the piano which my grandson also loved. He was friendly and welcoming. I would not hesitate to return, and hope to in the near future.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

Lovely rooms, very clean and elegant, with a staff that is super friendly and accommodating. We stayed in a room with a queen bed canopy. For this special area by the sea, I suggest that it is a premier place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Upon entering the reception area, the old school character of the inn jumped out, it also had a self serve coffee station and a laptop for guest use. The room was cozy and very clean as well as the bathroom. and included a microwave, mini fridge and 2 complimentary bottles of water.

After we got to our room we received a call from reception, they had a promotion and invited us to pull a shamrock from a basket, it was labeled with a gift from Lamie's, and we won complimentary nachos at the restaurant. There is a full restaurant on site and a separate nautical themed sports bar. The inn has all the comforts with no need to leave, but is located within walking distance to a few other eatery options.

All in all this is a very good choice if you need a comfortable place to stay. The historic value of the inn is what makes this a special place to stay at a reasonable price. reservations made on line was simple.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowley, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Lamies Inn and the Old Salt Tavern were the perfect place for a relaxing break. My mother and I enjoyed the Make Yourself at Home Package. We were warmly greeted upon arrival. The package included cocktails, dinner, dessert and coffee, as well as continental breakfast in the morning. The accommodations are so cozy and relaxing. The meal was delicious, as was the bread pudding for dessert. The most impressive part of our stay was the friendly and helpful staff. Everyone we encountered was welcoming, patient, and very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hampton
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamies Inn is the only full service hotel on route 1 from Portsmouth NH to Newburyport MA. With two great places under one roof you are sure to be pleased. Visit us direct to see about a special package that may suit your needs. Located in the center of Hampton and only 2 miles from New Hampshire’s seacoast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.