We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It feels like home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern to your Saves list
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Hampton
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It feels like home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Spending time at Lamies is like coming home. The people are friendly and welcoming, it is centrally located, and it renews the spirit. From here, one can explore the area and know that at the end of the day, the same warm feeling will still be waiting for you. Highly recommended !

Room Tip: Personally I prefer the second floor, but all the rooms are nice. The earlier you book your reserva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    76
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
45
138
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watertown, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

A friend and I stayed her the night before the Smuttynose Rockfest marathon. At first I was disappointed that we weren't closer to the race but after comparing our room to the hotels at the beach I knew we made the right choice.

The room was really cute and the beds comfortable. The staff was really nice and they set up the continental breakfast early so the runners could get some coffee/ food before we left.
We saw a room at the beach at another 'hotel' and it was scary (rent by the hour type of feel) and a friend who was also near the beach said her hotel was so loud they barely slept. I wish we could have had more time to enjoy the Inn but if I go back to Hampton I'll stay here for sure.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We stayed at Lamies Inn for two nights for the Smuttynose half marathon at Hampton Beach. We were greeted with a friendly smile at the front desk. Check in was very pleasant. The Inn itself is dated. The doors to the rooms had this very 1970's colonial look. I can't describe it. The room was small, but completely clean and fine. The bathroom was clean, but teeny tiny. It didn't bother us too much, but if you are a larger person it may be an issue. You could literally sit on the toilet, brush your teeth and shave your legs at the same time (although, I can't imagine why anyone would need to do that, LOL!). It was the same size as the bathroom on our last cruise. It suits its purpose, but two people cannot fit in there at the same time, so plan accordingly. We ate in the Old Salt Tavern Saturday night and it was excellent. Our meals were very well prepared and the service was very good. I might suggest the inn invest in a beeper system for calling people when their tables are ready. Hearing "last call for Smith, party of two" over the intercom got a little annoying. I haven't heard an intercom used at a restaurant in a long time. The morning continental breakfast was good but nothing to rave about. Store bought pastries and bagels, excellent coffee, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit bowl and cereals.
We had a little issue with our climate control, but a quick trip to the front desk and it was taken care of. She even hunted down a fan for our room as they had been put into storage for the season. She was very sweet. We would definitely stay again or recommend it to a friend. The inn is very clean and the staff concerned about our comfort.

Room Tip: Put the toilet seat down, because it you knock something off the vanity it will land in the bowl.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Booked online with an outside service which delivered a terrible room choice
It was small and poorly appointed
No view or view was the side of a building
Cramped lavatory
Clearly In need if updating
No recourse for room change
Staff not helpful
Special,weekend was spoiled

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lamiesinn, Owner at Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Guest.
I am truly sorry that you were not happy with your room. We always make every effort to accommodate the needs of all our guest, regardless of how they make their reservations. I see from your comments that you must have been able to view some of our other rooms which were more appealing to you. I am sorry we were unable to accommodate your request to move you to a different room. I apologize that there seems to have been a misunderstanding regarding moving your room. We were unable to move you to a different room due to the property being sold out, and not because of how the reservation was made. When someone calls a hotel directly and speaks to a live representative, they are better able to reserve you a room that would fit your needs than if you made your reservation through a third party web site.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zephyrhills
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

While visiting New England and New Brunswick this summer we found Lamies and kept going back, even driving out of our way to get back to it. The rooms are wonderful, the continental breakfast are 'out of this world', the dinners are sooooooooooo great and everyone of the staff are polite, helpful and wonderful!!!! One night we had our dinner in the lounge. Food was great and our waitress, Vivian, is terrific as are all of their staff. It is a MUST place to visit if you are in the Hampton area. We definitely have this place targeted for our next New England vacation. I promise you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewiston, Maine
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My girlfriends from high school and I stayed at Lamie's Inn the weekend of the Seafood Festival and had a great visit. The room we stayed in was very clean, Maureen, the receptionist at the front desk, had a smile each time we past her by. Whatever we needed, she arranged for it with professionalism. Each day there were fresh fruit, tea, coffee and snacks laid out for the guests. The Old Salt is a mere walk through the lobby-we had breakfast and dinner there and the food was great. The customer service there was equal to the Inn-professional, friendly and very accomodating. I highly recommend, and being a former housekeeper at a hotel, I am picky!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haywards Heath, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Shamefully I did not take note of the receptionists name who only worked weekends and greeted my party with the warmest sincerest and homely manner, who took the time to allow us to view the room before committing to stay all of us were very impressed.

The room we stayed in was very much in keeping with the style and period of the hotel in addition to being immaculate in its presentation.

The complimentary hospitality including the breakfast which I might add as being totally awesomely presented in such a hard to resist style, my diet became compromised.

The Salt Tavern's menu was amazing with many awesome choices, opting for the swordfish which can only be described as WoW. In my mind I would have chosen to dine there at every opportunity of our stay.

Honored by a conversation with one of the proprietors Joe Higgins who enquired with in depth interest into who we were where; we were from and why we had chosen the hotel. Can only be a reflection into how a dedicated family run business should be.

Would I visit again 100%
Would I recommend 100%

Finally I will dearly miss the the of warmth from the weekend receptionist who in my eyes was the highlight of our stay and that the Higgins family owe recognition.

Room Tip: All rooms have bath and shower facilities any special could be accomodated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hampton
#2 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamies Inn is the only full service hotel on route 1 from Portsmouth NH to Newburyport MA. With two great places under one roof you are sure to be pleased. Visit us direct to see about a special package that may suit your needs. Located in the center of Hampton and only 2 miles from New Hampshire’s seacoast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.