We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVED Lamies & Old Salt” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern to your Saves list
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
NY
1 review
“LOVED Lamies & Old Salt”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2008

Perfect - everything was perfect!!!!
The staff was amazing. From the front desk clerk, to the waitstaff, to the cleaning crew to the bartenders!

The food was to die for, in fact we had every intention of trying other restaurants & we did try one (Lenas, which was very good also), but for 4 days, we just couldn't leave The Olde Salty.
I would love to recommend one thing over another considering we tried something new everytime, but to be honest it was all good. I did have the clam chowder every day also :)

I most definatly will stay at Lamies again and hopefully your stay will be just as fabulous as ours.

  • Liked — very homey - wonderful staff
  • Disliked — hard to find a parking spot on Friday night since the rest. is amazing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    80
    13
    11
    4
See reviews for
45
149
9
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo CA
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2007

I have been staying at Lamie's for the past five years, always for a week or two. Combined with the Old Salt, this is a great place to use as a base of operations. The staff is always helpful and have shown great attitude to get things right.

Like everyone else has stated, the small bathrooms are a challenge. My only complaint is that after the busy beach season, the drains in the sink and bath tub seem to drain very, very slow. But the staff, once alerted, usually can snake the drains and get things flowing again. I now just bring a jug of Drano and dump it at bedtime and there are no further problems.

If you stay for a week, ask the staff to put a small refrigerator and microwave in your room. It doesn't cost extra. Also for fun, ask for the Eisenhower suite. It is a lot of fun to stay in the room used by Ike.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2006

Lamie's Inn is one of the nicest places in the Hampton beach area to stay. This hotel is not on the strip but has central access to Hampton center, North Hampton and Hampton Beach. The room we had was quaint, and was nicer then other rooms we had experienced on prior visits to Hampton. The restaurant has a big menu but unfortunately room service ended at 9:00 pm and then the only option was vending machines. Overall I would definitely return to this hotel on future stays. The atmosphere was very intimate and quiet and the perfect place to have an enjoyable stay without the craziness of the strip.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2006

This is a very friendly Inn with a fantastic restaraunt and tavern.

Check in was very efficient and we were in our room within 5 minutes of walking in. We stayed in a king size room which was good sized and clean although it did have a stale smell. I opened the windows before we left for a few hours and it was fine when we came back. The Inn has a nice traditional new england feel with antiques, a fireplace, and a nice sitting area on the 2nd floor. All and allthe Inn portion is average and I'd recommend it to anyone and would stay here again myself.

What really set this place apart from other places I've stayed at though was the great staff. From front desk staff, to the restaraunt hostess to the bartenders and waitresses, everyone was unbeleivably friendly and good natured. Everyone knew our names within a 1/2 hour of checking in, gave us great insider information on their famous brunch, told us what to order for appertizers in the bar etc. etc.

Our waitress in the bar even told us to make sure we ate brunch in the bar so she could be our server. She told us it was a lot less hectic and more fun in the bar and it certainly was.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2005

We just returned from another great weekend at Lamies Inn! From the moment that you step into the lobby and are greeted by their welcoming staff (in our case, Colleen!), you know that you are in for a wonderful experience. The fire in the hearth and the fall decorations make the inn feel like home. The rooms, as always, were immaculate and the beds very comfy! The Old Salt Restaurant was decorated for Halloween and some tables even had "guests" (in the form of life sized mannequins dressed in their Halloween best) joining the diners! And by the way, the food is excellent! The complimentary continental breakfast is much better than the average and coffee and tea are available at all times in the lobby.

All this,and more, make Lamies your best bet when staying in Hampton!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2005

Don't get me wrong, I am thrilled that they allow pets at all - one of only a few places in the area that does, but because it is a highly developed/trafficked area finding a spot for the dog to do her "business" was a challenge. Eventually walked up to Hannaford's and used their grassy area away from the traffic (and yes, we do pooper scoop).

I mention this only for the benefit of those traveling with dogs. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again with or without a pet.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2005

Recently stayed one night at Lamies Inn. The staff at the front desk was friendly and helpful. Our room was very clean and nicely decorated. The only complaint would be the size of the bathroom. It was tiny and hard to move around in. Otherwise, this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#3 Family Hotel in Hampton
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamies Inn is the only full service hotel on route 1 from Portsmouth NH to Newburyport MA. With two great places under one roof you are sure to be pleased. Visit us direct to see about a special package that may suit your needs. Located in the center of Hampton and only 2 miles from New Hampshire’s seacoast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.