We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Inn, lovely rooms, wonderful restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern to your Saves list
Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 44 Hotels in Hampton
New London, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Inn, lovely rooms, wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have had the opportunity and pleasure to stay (and dine) here on numerous occasions. The staff are always friendly and accommodating. The rooms always clean and comfortable. The restaurant and bar have very good food at a reasonable price. It's located in the heart of downtown but parking is ample and convenient.

Room Tip: VERY dog friendly too!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    76
    12
    10
    4
See reviews for
45
138
8
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Findlay, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

He would of stayed at Lamies if he knew it existed. I probably stay in hotels 200 nights a year and this is my absolute favorite hotel of all time. It is a quaint New England establishment and it refreshes me. This hotel is my reward for traveling between New Hampshire and Mass. Everything is great - the bed, the restaurant, the room, the service, the atmosphere. Ask for a canopy bed if you can.

It is just as beautiful as the pictures. The food is great. I ordered Fish and Chips at the restaurant and there was so much fish - that I could have shared with another table. It was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a canopy bed. First floor - no elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Snuggled in a quaint town, close to Hampton Beach, this hotel with attached restaurant/bar offers some of the BEST seafood New England has to offer. The staff at the Inn are amazingly friendly, helpful and accommodating. The Inn is tastefully decorated, and the room I stayed in was comfortable and homey. I will definitely visit again real soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Connecticut
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

My fiance and I took a trip up there for her birthday weekend and made sure to take advantage of their specials offered. When we got there, we were greeted warmly and treated like royalty. Maureen and her staff made sure everything was in order and delievered the Cheese Platter and Chocolate Covered Strawberries at just the perfect time. The hotel is old-fashioned and couldn't be lovelier. There are so many good things that could be said about the place but Its not the Ritz Carlton, but its probably the closest thing to home in the comfort, care and attention to details given by its staff. Detailed to the point, where the manager called upon us checking out to ensure every detail was set and exactly the way I wanted it. I couldn't have been happier with our experience at Lamie's Inn and will definitely be back for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

We found this place by mistake on the way home from my aunts funeral- what a find!
It was a Sunday and they had a fabulous brunch, great service, complete with fun piano player who took requests! Super!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Went to lamies over the summer and i am amazed in what amazing condition it is in. The beds were super comfy and the rooms are spacious and very clean. I love the old decor. The contential breakfast wasnt the best. I loved the family atmosphere though and the location couldnt have been better. Its only 15mins away from water country and only 5mins away from the heart of Hampton Beach. If the owner is reading this my one suggestion is maybe a shuttle going to Hampton beach even if you charged $5 per person it would just make raise the bar for your hotel. I would def recomend it to anyone the one thing i wasnt able to do was try there resturaunt...maybe next time.

Room Tip: amazing hotel for the price they accept AAA and go to kayak for cheaper rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013


My husband and I have been here twice and we just enjoy it very much. Quaint older inn has nicely appointed rooms, nothing fancy yet cozy! The staff is so warm and friendly. The restaurant is also very nice, good food and great prices. They have affordable weekend packages which are great!! Highly recommend a stay there.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern

Address: 490 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Hampton
#3 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamies Inn is the only full service hotel on route 1 from Portsmouth NH to Newburyport MA. With two great places under one roof you are sure to be pleased. Visit us direct to see about a special package that may suit your needs. Located in the center of Hampton and only 2 miles from New Hampshire’s seacoast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamies Inn And The Old Salt Tavern Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel Hampton
Lamies Hotel And Tavern

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lamies Inn and The Old Salt Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.