We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Labor Day Weekend Ever!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Jay Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Blue Jay Motel
Save
You added Blue Jay Motel to your Saves list
186 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 44 Hotels in Hampton
Auburn, Massachusetts, USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Labor Day Weekend Ever!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We had the best time staying at the Blue Jay, our neighbors were Great, the houskeeping was Fantastic. Mary gave us the best ideas for breakfast and dinner, we fell in love with the Lunchenette (our new favorite place to eat). The location was perfect-we walked everywhere!
We will definately be booking more weekend getaways at the Blue Jay Motel. We Highly recommend it to everyone!
The Brusa's Sandy and Mark

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    25
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
33
47
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Canaan, Connecticut, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The rooms are small but clean and comfortable. Mary the owner, is a very nice woman. She was very helpful as well. Would defineatly stay there again without a doubt. The motel is near the boardwalk, restaurants and beach. Great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place was great. Just a few minutes walk to the boardwalk, it's quiet and secluded. The rooms were clean and cosy (though a bit small). Mary & Rose were incredibly nice and very helpful. We intend to stay at this motel again if we come back to Hampton Beach.

Room Tip: Room 11 (where we stayed) is at the end of the building. Very quiet. Nobody walks by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Great motel in a quaint NH beach town. Near everything. Room was super clean, comfortable and exactly what we needed on our one night stay on the way to Maine from NYC. Innkeepers were helpful, friendly, chatty and overall wonderful people. Stay there! You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

The Blue Jay was exactly as we expected from reading the reviews. The rooms were clean, ours was extremely small but functionable. We had a comfortable double bed with nice linens, a small shower and bathroom with a Dixie cup dispenser! There was a frig and microwave and a bar b que grill for all to use. Mary greeted us every morning and was very helpful with directions and suggestions. She even has complimentary fishing coupons so be sure to ask. We walked the couple blocks to the beach without difficulty. We felt safe. We recommend the luncheonette at the docks for breakfast. Free WiFi. Assigned parking. We would return to the Blue Jay without hesitation - Hope this review has helped!

Room Tip: There are rooms upstairs and downstairs so if stairs are an issue request ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateauguay, Quebec, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

great place to stay , close to all shops and , resturants, hosts were fantastic
fist time in Hampton beach and it will not be the last ,when we return we will stay at the Blue jay for sure

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhode Island, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

The motel is one street behind Beach avenue. So, at night it was quiet enough to sleep because it was away from the bars etc.People were respectful when coming and going so people who were getting up early or coming in late did not bother others. As is the case with most of the places in the area it is not the newest and most modern looking set of rooms; it was very homey though. However, it was kept immaculately clean by the cleaning staff (I am compulsive about cleanliness so for me to say that is impressive.) The room we stayed in had a queen bed and was bigger than a lot of the other rooms we looked at. Mary and Rose were very friendly and helpful when we inquired about places to eat and activities to do. They were great when we arrived late (around 10 o'clock) by having the room ready and giving us precise directions on where to park and where our room was. They left us alone that night and told us to check in whenever we wanted the next day. We walked to most of the places we went because we were so close to all the local attractions. I would not look for another place to stay the next time I go to Hampton beach I will be staying at the Blue Jay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Jay Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Jay Motel

Address: 186 Ashworth Ave, Hampton, NH 03842
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hampton
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
#4 Family Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Blue Jay Hotel Hampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Jay Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.