We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bonta! Supremo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bonta

Bonta
287 Exeter Rd, Hampton, NH 03842-1736
603-929-7972
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Bonta is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #22 of 99 restaurants in Hampton
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Pawcatuck, Ct USA
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Bonta! Supremo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011 via mobile

The exterior and interior lighting was very welcoming, and set a very nice mood. we ate in the bar area without reservations at 6pm, but wouldn't much longer on a Saturday night. Service very good, and the menu options were many. You could order off the bar, or dinner menu. The dinner menu gave you the option on many entrees to order half or full portion. The food was excellent, and I looks forward to returning, and sitting in the dinning room. Enjoy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

70% Recommend
    17
    12
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great Meal and Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2011

Food was great and the service was excellent. Went for Restaurant Week and the deals were excellent. Beet Salad and Gnocchi were great and the pheasant sausage and lamb shank were perfectly cooked. Would highly recommend!!!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great food off set with not so great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011

Hadn't been to Bonta in a couple years, and of course remembered why I liked it as soon as the first course was placed on the table. The food here is excellent.. The problem was that the first course arrived about 45 minutes after we ordered and the meal stayed at that stageringly slow pace for the entire meal. My Pan Seared Halibit was prepared perfectly and my dinning partners meals all seemed great. Unfortunately, the sow kitchen service was very hard to over-look. One of the better meals on the seacoast, and I wounder if the service was impacted by the Portsmouth's annual Restaurant Week, which we are right in the middle of.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the top picks on Seacoast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011 via mobile

I've had the pleasure of dining at Bonta many times over the years in every season. The recent change in management has infused the menu with new offerings while keeping some well-loved favorites like, chicken under a brick. Tasteful presentation of food. Value is good for the dollar, a bit high but well worth it. There are so few venues like Bonta in the area. A bit off the Seacoast path but very convenient to interstate highway. Atmosphere is charming. Mostly adult diners. I can't remember seeing many families with small kids. Romantic, Italian country decor with cozy hearth in center of main room. Great range of menu items from traditional Italian dishes to those with more flare. Highly recommend it for a romantic dinner for two or group of friends.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“As Randy on Amer Idol would say, "just allyte"”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

I have been to Bonta 5 times now and each time I left thinking "good but nothing special" and in this economy, will think twice about going again. Can't put a finger on why the food just doesn't sweep me off my feet. Perhaps too strong in flavor? And the service is always just average. No one very friendly. Efficient but not par for the cost.
My desert was stellar however. Chocolate lava with mango compote. That was worth every penny. The salmon had a very strong flavor and over cooked. Small portion for price. Very small portions there but that's what America needs I guess : )
The person who seats you was lovely. Great British accent and very nice. Not much competition in this area but don't think Bonta would thrive in Portsmouth as there's far better at lower cost. Try Mombo if you like Bonta.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bonta? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bonta, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.