We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT PIZZA, BUSY ATMOSPHERE!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Community Oven Wood Fired Pizza

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Community Oven Wood Fired Pizza
845 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH
603-601-6311
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 103 Restaurants in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
203 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“GREAT PIZZA, BUSY ATMOSPHERE!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Came here looking for some great tasting pizza. We weren't disappointed. Our pizza was very good! Atmosphere is very upbeat and a bit on the loud side. The loudness is due to the way the room is set up, it is one huge room! We couldn't believe how large the interior of the building was until we got in there. Our waitress was very nice and helped us with whatever questions we had. We customized a pizza and got their house salad with house dressing. The salad was big enough for two of us to share and not feel "skimpy". Pizza came hot and fast and was delicious. Would love to return to try out some more food items and drinks!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    22
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Could step it up a bit.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014 via mobile

While the atmosphere is inviting and cozy and very kid friendly, we just weren't super impressed with this place. The staff became friendly toward the end of our meal but just seemed to be more into their own conversations with each other than customer service.
They did have a fine selection of beer on tap and the pizza selection was unconventional pretty good. The salad was overpriced and not impressive. Flatbread pizza is down the street and just a tier up from this place. They seem to be trying to achieve the same business model and I think flatbread pulls it off much better.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new hampshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great pie!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Always get a greaqt pizza here. Have a great craft beer selection also. Large dining area, but we always sit it the large bar, which has a lot of seats and good TV viewing. You can always go next door and tasste a few Blue Lobster Brewery bbers before grabbing a bite here.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratham, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza & drinks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

The Community Oven has a large wood fired oven in full view of the restaurant so that when you visit for lunch or dinner, you can watch them cook! The staff has always been friendly when I have dined here. Also, although they are well known for the pizza, I highly recommend trying their chicken wings with the cajun rub. The wings are HUGE and also cooked up in the woodfired oven! There also is a bar that is on separated from the main restaurant seating with large TVs and great special drinks the bartenders come up with for a seasonal menu.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“....solid experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

1. Great service. Went on a snowy night and we just wanted to get a beer and an appetizer and take a pizza to go which we informed the server of up front and she was totally fine with that and very accomodating. She was knowledgable about the menu and was extremely polite.

2. Atmosphere...it's in a small strip mall/plaza and it screams that fact inside. Really dark and not in a sexy way. Odd mix of smells when we walked in - we expected it to smell woodsy like a brick oven place usually does but that's def not what it smelled like. Couldn't quite pin point it.

3. Beer - great selection of 20+ on tap. I glanced at the wine list and it seemed to have quite a few options as well including some modestly priced bottles.

4. Food - we got the kabob app (one turkey and one steak) and some cheesy bread sticks for our 3 YO. The good - the turkey kabob knocked it out of the park. If I were to go back I would def get that again. The turkey tips were incredibly tender and delicious. The steak tips were good - also tender but they couldn't touch the turkey. They each came with yummy dipping sauces too (bourbon and horseradish respectively. The cheesy bread was yummy too. Simple dish with a good mix of cheeses. We got a 1/2 pepperoni and 1/2 chicken pesto to go. A small would have been fine - the large was huge. Like it didn't even fit in the box huge. It was very good pizza. Really garlicky which I like. I happen to LOVE the Bella Rose down the street on Rt 1 which makes wood fired pizza as well and I can't help but compare and....Bella Rose will get my money for pizza any time. I would recommend that you stick with the simple pies though - the pepp was 5 stars and the chicken more like a 3. Too much stuff going on on the pizza.

Overall - above average food and drink as well as service. But, the atmosphere really kills the place. I'm not sure I would go back. At least not for pizza!

OH! I almost forgot - they are next door to this really weird "brewing company" called the blue lobster which apparently is just a blank blue bar in a strip mall. Talk about lack of atmosphere. It was a little creepy and sad actually. So weird!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Community Oven Wood Fired Pizza also viewed

 

Been to The Community Oven Wood Fired Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Community Oven Wood Fired Pizza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.