We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good and Plentiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ron Jillians

Ron Jillians
853 Lafayette Road, Hampton, NH 03842
603-929-9966
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #34 of 101 Restaurants in Hampton
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Maine
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good and Plentiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2014

We had a very good dinner meal here. My husband enjoyed his bolognese and I especially liked the fettucine alfredo. The meal came with a tomato bisque soup and plenty of tasty bread. We also enjoyed the sausage appetizer. The servings were quite large that I had no room for dessert. The wait staff was very pleasant. There is a large bar which is very popular with the locals. We plan to return to try others things on the menu.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    21
    13
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Hampton, New Hampshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always a great italian meal no matter what you choose!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

We love eating at Ron Jillians. They have a wide variety of traditional Italian food, and everything we've ordered here is fantastic. Their red sauce kills, one of the best we've had and we're Italian :) Portions are huge, be prepared to take some home! At times service has been a bit slow, but overall this is a great spot for a casual, solid Italian meal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Lived in the area for many years. We tried Ron Jillian's when they opened the larger restaurant before that we always went to an Italian restaurant up the street. Well, we never looked back. It is our favorite Italian restaurant and the grandchildren love it because they can order anything and they make it. We love Ron Jillian's.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherman, Connecticut
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Excellent food and drink”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Enjoyed RJ's so much I had dinner here twice in the same week. Great specials like Tuna tartar. Steaks, baked Haddock, excellent salad choices and wonderful Manhattens ( Makers Mark). We were their in a snow storm for one of the visits and they were packed. Fun place, great wait staff.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Always a Great Meal, Good Service, Tasty Drinks-- Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We love Ron Jillians. The food is always hot, fresh. And delicious--- and they can customize any of the pasta dishes to be gluten-free bu substituting broccolini for the pasta. I love that! So i can have shrimp scampi served on broccolini with the lemony garlic sauce without the whest/gluten and without all the calories and fat.
It is not a place for a romantic, quiet dinner. It does get loud, but the food is wonderful.
Get your romance after dinner :)
Love that balsamic vinegar, parmesan, and their house bread-dipping sauce/ dressing is on every table.
The prices are very reasonable. Tou wont have room for dessert, but do yourself a favor and take home some cannoli or the Limoncello cake. TO.DIE.FOR, it can get really busy , especially on weekend nightd for dinner, but it is worth the wait and the servers never snark or snarl at you.
Go. Eat. Enjoy!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ron Jillians also viewed

 

Been to Ron Jillians? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ron Jillians, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.