We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HANDS DOWN BEST FOOD IN HAMPTON” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Savory Square Bistro

Savory Square Bistro
32 Depot Square, Hampton, NH 03842
6039262202
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Savory Square Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 99 restaurants in Hampton
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: RT. 1
Description: Bonjour! Located on NH's beautiful seacoast, The Bistro provides guests with a cozy and quaint dining experience. We have a small candlelit dining room and a separate room for the lounge which offers the full menu, has high tables, two TV's, a fireplace and a 14 seat bar. Relax and enjoy a fine multi-course meal in the dining room or pop into the bar for a beer and an appetizer...The Bistro's casual yet elegant atmosphere welcomes all who enjoy good food, good wine, and good times! Bon Appetit! Open Tuesday-Saturday. Dinner only. Reservations recommended.
Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
“HANDS DOWN BEST FOOD IN HAMPTON”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

This place has THE BEST food in Hampton. I cannot say enough good things about their incredible chefs or the mouthwatering food they put on their plates. LOVE. Get there now. Great atmosphere, great people and service, incredible food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    18
    14
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
new hampshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“savory square, worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

nice atmosphere, friendly people, great menu. pub nice and comfortable. definitely worth the visit. good wine list. well rounded menu, from sandwiches to great entrees. waitress staff was great. tv in the pub for watching sports and having a drink

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
“Loved the dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Went to the Savory Square Bistro on a recent Saturday evening. We had a reservation for 5 and arrived 10 minutes early and our table was ready. This was a first visit for my husband and I, two others in our party had dined here before. First off, the waitress we had was awesome. She was enthusiastic about the menu items and made great recommendations. All our apps were delicious. The crispy chili chicken was a hit. We all ordered different entrees and they all received rave reviews. Looking forward to a return visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Delicious food made up for the wait”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We have eaten here twice now, and we are so glad we discovered this place! You can eat in either the dining room or the bistro; we prefer the dining room as the noise level in the bistro is a bit high for our liking. That's personal preference not a complaint. Both meals we've had here were delicious with a nice presentation, and the chef was willing to substitute a vegetable and leave out an ingredient without any problem. Ingredients were fresh, sauces were not too heavy, and proteins were perfectly cooked (had the duck one evening and fish another). Seafood chowder is full of seafood and firm potatoes; not too creamy with just right amount of butter. Wines by the glass are an average of $9 (we were told Riff was their house pinot grigio, but it's not at a "house" price); martinis were $10. Our only complaint was the long wait we experienced on both visits for our food to arrive (about a half hour) which had nothing to do with the taste, it's quality, the preparation, or the ambiance (all of which we enjoyed very much). We also had to ask for table settings when our meal was served (we had no napkins or silverware), and our server referred to us as "you guys" which is a pet peeve of mine (especially since only one of us was a 'guy'). Had she not been so pleasant, we might have suggested she not use this expression during her service, but we didn't want to put a damper on the otherwise enjoyable experience. We will continue to dine here when we have time for a leisurely meal as the food is worth the wait!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“great food,nice comfy bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We have dined here twice and were very pleased both times. We found the staff warm ,attentive & welcoming. We were very pleased with the menu and the quality of the food. We will definitely return .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Savory Square Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Savory Square Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savory Square Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.