We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“reviews lie” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sands Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sands Resort
Save
You added Sands Resort to your Saves list
32 Ashworth Avenue, Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Hampton
Methuen, Massachusetts
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“reviews lie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

read the reviews and went anyway.reviews lie!!! great little condo type units with private bedroom so we got a little privacy while the kids slept on the pullout sofa bed in the living room with their own tv. units were clean with a full size fridge and freezer so we could by food and save from going out every night. very clean with great housekeeping services. management staff was exceptional. we were well treated and cared for by everyone. easy walk to beach and all the activities. we will return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    25
    11
    10
    46
See reviews for
52
32
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Screen door wouldn t lock, sofa pull out bed disgusting, dirty and inside matress all teared apart. Dishes not clean. Phone not working. Hard to close and lock door when leaving, hard to close bathroom door. No dish soap, no shampoo. Unreal. Will never stay there again, not even if they d charge me $5.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburyport, Massachusetts
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This place has bed bugs! Seriously. Do yourself a favor and stay away. And, the mold smell? Bed bug infestations could cause a smell similar to it. If you don't believe me, then check it out for yourself. Ask the front desk if you could check out the room before you stay there. I guarantee that you will smell the moldy smell as you walk down the hallways and into the room. Don't learn the hard way- just pick another hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeniseP57
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Just got back from a fabulous weekend. If you can afford the Ashworth, more power to you, go stay there. If you want something reasonable, in a good location, with everything you really need, I would recommend the Sands. Yes, luxury is a little exageration, but how much time do you really spend in the room? (unless it's the Ashworth. For those prices, I'd never leave.) I've never found the staff to be anything but accomodating even late at night. My only comment to mgt would be that you might want to consider replacing some of those pull-out couches; they've seen better days. Not enough, however, to keep me away.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

My family tried staying here in May 2012. It was one horrible! First, the key card did not work, so we had to go get it reset. We opened the door to the room and it smelled very strongly of cigarette smoke. The room itself was dirty, there was hair in the bed, the TV was broken and there was an inch of dirt on the sprinkler head on the ceiling. I went back down to the lobby and asked for a different room because of the smell. The manager brought me to another room, and the master key didn't work. We went to a third room and all you could smell was mold. We checked out, got a refund and stayed at the Ashworth, which was amazing. Save yourself the aggravation and stay awat from this place!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
connecticut
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We were worried about staying here due to reviews. The room was clean which was the most important thing to us. The screen door fell off, not that important as we were only staying one night. Staff was not very friendly. A very good value for the price,

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Orchard Beach, Maine
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

My wife and I thought we were getting a deal that was too good to be true. It was. We were drawn to The Sands by it's great location and great price, but we quickly found out that location was really the only good thing this place has going for it. It's not right on the beach but it's less than a block away and the boardwalk is right there as well.
However, after arriving in our room we learned that in addition to the terrible smell in the room- our door didn't close properly and you could get in without the room key. When we asked someone to come look at it, the guy who came just slammed it closed and said he wouldn't have to fix it, but we changed rooms anyway. Later we tried that door again just to see if it had been fixed, and it never was.
When we checked out the bed it had someone elses hair all over it and smelled like someone had slept there the night before.
The couch in the living area was so raggedy we were afraid to sit on it.
Our second room was slightly better than that, but we were already too grossed out to even deal with the shower (no shower head).
We only stayed there one night and checked out the next morning. They were cool about letting us park there past our check out time so we wouldn't have to pay for beach parking.
Overall, please do yourself a favor and find any one of the dozens of other hotels in Hampton Beach to stay at. It'll be worth it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sands Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Resort

Address: 32 Ashworth Avenue, Hampton, NH 03842
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Hampton
Number of rooms: 84
Also Known As:
Sands Hotel Hampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sands Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.