We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must go Just to stay at Ashworth by the Sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashworth by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Ashworth by the Sea to your Saves list
Ashworth by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 44 Hotels in Hampton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Concord, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A must go Just to stay at Ashworth by the Sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2010

Have stayed many times, alone and with family. Tragically Hampton Beach, NH was devastated by a storm so terrible, area businesses endured fire, roofs torn off and windows blown to shambles by storm. Ashworth by the Sea's staff went above and beyond to keep quest safe and encouraged. The hotel was great before but now even more lovely with the remolding. 2 restaurants, one with fireplace. Rooms with side ocean are understated as the view is terrific. Open year round, winter is fun and the pool is truly kept warm. I will be a lifetime visitor! Cherie W. Concord, N.H.

Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    162
    88
    44
    31
See reviews for
166
278
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Upton, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

There are a few times when a place makes such a memory as when I asked my fiancee for her hand in marriage. We had room 155, we were on the balcony overlooking the sea, and we also had fireworks. In order to get to that moment, there had to be good people, and the people at the Ashworth were outstanding. The rooms were clean, the valets were friendly and helpful, along with the staff at the desk (Colleen in particular)...it truly was a night to remember.

Thank you again Ashworth!
-Peter F.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

VERY POOR HOUSEKEEPING SERVICES!!!!!!! It took 5+ calls to the front desk before everything was done in our room. We finally had to speak to the Mgr before we were satisfied and could enjoy our stay. For a 4-Star hotel, we were appalled to find an "OLD"-looking room, hallway ceilings in need of repair, stained carpets on the staircase, and a dirty pool area that was dank and dreary looking. The Only positive thing was the view from our room. Please visit hotel before booking!!!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colwen_Management, General Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, September 30, 2010
Thank you for your comments regarding your most recent stay at the Ashworth by the Sea. While we are terribly disappointed that you were not satisfied with your stay, we do appreciate the feedback as we continually use reviews such as yours to help improve the overall guest experience.

As you experienced, the Ashworth is a shade under 100 years old and this has required us to make continuous improvements to the hotel over the last 5 years. We believe your experience was the exception and not the standard and hope that the next time you are in the Hampton area, you will give us another chance.

I sincerely apologize for your negative experience and we hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Peter Coutis, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amherst, NH
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

I was horrified to find out this room was supposed to be ready when I was given the key to go to the room at 3:00pm. I asked for a refrigerator and there was none in the room. Also no toilet paper, no tissues, no bath mats, no coffee & cups. The outside door screen was not attached, the chairs on the deck were very old and the mesh was broken and all covered with mold and mildew. I was in an ocean front room in the "newer" building but the place was very outdated, carpet was matted down, cigarette holes all over the two blankets. There were no extra blankets pillows or enough towels for three guests. There were only enough for two guests. The coffee maker was in the bathroom next to the toilet. Yum Yum! I am sure the board of health will approve of that! The pool was filthy on the bottom and on the stairs inside the pool. Do not be fooled or mislead by the website. This is a dumpy "motel" with very poor service and accomodations. I will not recommend this to anyone and I will never go there again. It was my first time and it will be my last.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

I traveled to Hampton Beach with some girlfriends to enjoy the annual Seafood Festival. I've stayed at the Ashworth by the Sea before, but some of it's charm had gone. I wasn't wowed as I had been in the past. The location is a key element to this property. The place was average for the money you pay for a room. There were no extra amenities given for that price; microwaves, fridges and dvd's were $10 per night! I wanted a beach experience but it seemed that the staff had already closed down for the season. At least when you go to a brand hotel you know the quality you will get for the overall stay. I'm just very disappointed but not surprised. One pleasant surprise was a nice girl at the Pizza shop, that let me relax with a hot cup of coffee, especially when it turned cold outside.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Connecticut
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2010

We stayed at the Ashworth on Sept. 14, 2010, and even though it was off season we found the Ashworth to be very nice. The rooms were very clean and the staff was excellent to us. We had a ocean side view room and it was great to sit out on the private balcony and relax and listen to the ocean. We ate at their fine restaurant and found the food to be excellent, they also have the best strawberry margueritas. The room service was good too, all in all I have no complaints about the Ashworth and would recommend it to everyone. We did not have to do valet parking, we had free parking across the street and it was very convenient. The best part is it is right across from the beach for those romantic evening walks on the beach.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2010

The bad news; the hotel needs a lot of work and is quite dated and the room really was not clean. I would never stay a holiday weekend again as the weekend rate is almost 400.00 and should be around 120.00. Also have to have car taken by valey which charges 7.00 a night and a refridg is 10.00 a night. The good news is the hotel is away from the arcade restaurants etc which is nice. Big spralling beach in front of you. The restaurant was not a 4 star but very pretty and comfortable food adequete and reasonably priced. The beds are very comfortable. Overall had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashworth by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.