We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Ashworth by the Sea

Save Saved
You added Ashworth by the Sea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ashworth by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Hampton
Worcester, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The location of the hotel is great, but we had a side room because the deal we received from Groupon.com (and I was aware of that so it was not a surprise or issue). But if I had paid peak rates I would not be pleased. The girls at the front desk were very pleasant. And the young man working as the valet was friendly and helpful. The meals we had at the restaurant were great as well as the coffee shop. The couple issues I had were that the decks are in need of TLC, I didn't sleep well even though the bed was very comfortable, I could hear everything through walls and floor above (we were on the first floor with at least one young child that was VERY active directly above us and other noises from a young in love couple nearby). I thought the room was very clean until we moved the sheets to go to sleep and noticed something overlooked on the bed skirt.

Room Tip: Ocean view from the front of the bldg is a must.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    151
    81
    40
    29
See reviews for
157
243
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I along with another couple stayed April 13-14 at Ashworth by the Sea, our first time staying there. It was also our first time staying at Hampton Beach, and after researching on Trip Advisor (and once again the reviews were spot on), we chose this nice hotel. We wanted a place within walking distance to the attractions especially the Casino Ballroom since we had tickets to see the band America who were playing there that night (they were excellent!). The location is awesome, right across the street from the ocean, the staff is so friendly and efficient, and it's very clean. For lunch we had some appetizers in their Breakers restaurant and also ate dinner there that evening, and we had breakfast the next morning in the Wharfside Cafe, all very good. The wait staff were so friendly, and service was great.

Our room was clean, fairly small, and we got a good off-season rate, but the walls were thin where we could hear a lot of noise from others in surrounding rooms.

All in all, Ashworth was a great find, and we would not hesitate to stay there again the next time we are in the Hampton Beach area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buxton, Maine, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed with a group of friends there last weekend and we had an absolute blast! From the guy who came out and drove my car to the parking place to the random employees I dealt with while there, they were all awesome!!! It was the off season, but you'd never know it. The place was sold out-packed and I couldn't possibly come up with a bad thing to say about the place! We stayed in the summer cottage. It was beautiful, well stocked, and super comfortable. I'd recommend anyone stay there. Whether you stay in the hotel or the cottage, you will have fun for sure. Super helpful employees all over to help you with whatever your needs may be!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first time to Hampton Beach and we were there to enjoy a concert for the weekend. It was important that the room be right because there were 4 of us sharing and it was. We all loved it and the beach in the morning was beautiful and sunny and warm. Couldn't have asked for more. Everyone from the Valet boys to the front desk were very welcoming and eager to please.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book the beach side with balcony. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Clean, bright, friendly. Its a bit pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for in this case. Right on the beach and a short walk to the Casino Ballroom. There are not many "nice" places to stay in Hampton Beach. The Ashworth is on that short list of nice places.

Room Tip: The corner rooms upstairs in the old section of the hotel are superb. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I got married right on the beach across the street from the Ashworth, and were lucky enough to stay at the Ashworth as well. The rooms themselves are clean and quite large. They are not fancy, but still a very nice environment. The reason that I gave this hotel five stars is that the staff was absolutely fabulous. Karen, who works at the front desk, worked with us prior to the wedding to give us tips on the best places to eat, the local justices of the peace, etc. She really went out of her way to help us. When we checked into the hotel, everything was ready for us. Even the weather cooperated and we were able to get married right on the beach, which was something that we really wanted, with our family and friends. Any question or concern that we had was completely taken care of.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-front room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ashworth by the Sea is located on the Hampton Beach strip across the street from the beach. The hotel is divided into North and South towers with a sort of outside deck connecting the two on the outside and ramp connection into restaurant on the inside. Had a good time. Bar was nice, restaurant was good. Great view of the ocean. We had a room mix up, but they cleared it up and got us into a great room. Really great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashworth_By_The_Sea, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear StaceyKay 76,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Ashworth By The Sea.

We truly hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashworth by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.