We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ashworth Rocks!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ashworth by the Sea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Ashworth by the Sea to your Saves list
Ashworth by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   295 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 43 Hotels in Hampton
Buxton, Maine, United States
1 review
“Ashworth Rocks!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed with a group of friends there last weekend and we had an absolute blast! From the guy who came out and drove my car to the parking place to the random employees I dealt with while there, they were all awesome!!! It was the off season, but you'd never know it. The place was sold out-packed and I couldn't possibly come up with a bad thing to say about the place! We stayed in the summer cottage. It was beautiful, well stocked, and super comfortable. I'd recommend anyone stay there. Whether you stay in the hotel or the cottage, you will have fun for sure. Super helpful employees all over to help you with whatever your needs may be!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    246
    152
    81
    42
    30
See reviews for
160
250
12
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Fredericton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our first time to Hampton Beach and we were there to enjoy a concert for the weekend. It was important that the room be right because there were 4 of us sharing and it was. We all loved it and the beach in the morning was beautiful and sunny and warm. Couldn't have asked for more. Everyone from the Valet boys to the front desk were very welcoming and eager to please.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and book the beach side with balcony. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cavendish, Vermont
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Clean, bright, friendly. Its a bit pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for in this case. Right on the beach and a short walk to the Casino Ballroom. There are not many "nice" places to stay in Hampton Beach. The Ashworth is on that short list of nice places.

Room Tip: The corner rooms upstairs in the old section of the hotel are superb. Great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My wife and I got married right on the beach across the street from the Ashworth, and were lucky enough to stay at the Ashworth as well. The rooms themselves are clean and quite large. They are not fancy, but still a very nice environment. The reason that I gave this hotel five stars is that the staff was absolutely fabulous. Karen, who works at the front desk, worked with us prior to the wedding to give us tips on the best places to eat, the local justices of the peace, etc. She really went out of her way to help us. When we checked into the hotel, everything was ready for us. Even the weather cooperated and we were able to get married right on the beach, which was something that we really wanted, with our family and friends. Any question or concern that we had was completely taken care of.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean-front room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulton, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Ashworth by the Sea is located on the Hampton Beach strip across the street from the beach. The hotel is divided into North and South towers with a sort of outside deck connecting the two on the outside and ramp connection into restaurant on the inside. Had a good time. Bar was nice, restaurant was good. Great view of the ocean. We had a room mix up, but they cleared it up and got us into a great room. Really great location.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashworth_By_The_Sea, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear StaceyKay 76,

Thank you for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Ashworth By The Sea.

We truly hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Ashworth by the Sea is located on the Hampton Beach strip across the street from the beach. The hotel is divided into North and South towers with a sort of outside deck connecting the two on the outside and ramp connection into restaurant on the inside. We stayed in the North tower for two nights during the off-season.

Hotel had free valet parking. Hotel lobby is oddly shaped but well appointed. The front desk staff (make that most of the staff) appear to be quite young but did their jobs cheerfully. There is a pool somewhere in the hotel but we were not informed of it at check in. There is a full service restaurant with bar and a small coffee shop with access from inside and outside the hotel that serves breakfast and lunch. Both have limited menus-not a complaint just an observation. In the off season there isn't much else open on the HB strip.

The room had an ocean view. It was very clean with no signs of overuse, has a bathroom with a full tub/shower combination, flat screen TV with cable service, a slightly worn love seat and chair, and a tiny balcony unto which two people can squeeze themselves to sit and catch an ocean breeze. Our room had a king size bed which was comfortable. They provide 5 pillows which are slightly thin. You may need one or two more.

The walls are thin. You can hear the muffled (and sometimes not so muffled) conversations of the next door occupants. You can hear street noise however during full season I assume the air conditioner noises will block out both internal and external noise.

When there is a function you can hear the music / crowd noise in your room if you stay in the North Tower.

My biggest complaint is the sound from the toilets flushing. You CAN hear them sounding like mini jet engines taking off with every flush from every room in proximity to yours. On a slow night it is a minor irritant. On a busy night it is sometimes painful - woosh-woosh-woosh.

Rates at this hotel range up to $400. per night during the peak summer season.

Room Tip: As you face the hotel, rooms on the left are connected to the balcony between the north and south to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashworth_By_The_Sea, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear 2 HAVTrav4,

Thank you for your review. It is honest feedback such as yours that assists us in understanding our guests experiences to better improve our service and facility.
We are looking forward to a great 2013 Summer Season with expanded restaurant menus created by our experienced Culinary team. We will be sure to mention the location of our beautiful indoor heated pool to our guests consistently, and will gladly share your positive comments on how clean your room was with our housekeeping staff.

We truly hope to see you again soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This is going to be a painful review and one that some readers might criticize, but here goes. My wife and I love the Ashworth. We've stayed there several times for long weekends generally during the off-season for the past few years because we are retired and can't afford the summer rates. We love the ocean front views from our sliding door, the indoor pool, the attached restaurant and, probably most, the entertainment.
Now, for all the times we have been there the entertainment has been provided by "DJ Dan", who plays some hip-hop, pop, oldies and standards. By the way, I do not know DJ Dan and have never spoken to him except to make a song request. The last time we were there, the beginning of February, we were surprised after an early dinner on Saturday to be told by one of the employees that DJ Dan was not appearing, but he was replaced by what she termed as "an Irish folk band". Now, people, this is the last type of music we would want to listen to or dance to on a Saturday night, even at our "advanced" age.
Being a carmudgeon I complained to "Mike", the new entertainment manager, who essentially told me "Tough!". With that attitude my wife and I made the decision to check out immediately, there was no reason for us to stay overnight if we were going to have the choice of listening to Irish folk music or watching TV in our room. At this time of year there is nothing else open at Hampton Beach.
It seems "Mike" made the point of contacting the resident manager to make sure we got charged for the night we did not stay because we did not give 48 hours notice. Understanding that this is the policy, I also understand we would not have reserved that night if we had had sufficient notice of the entertainment change. That night's charge did not show up on the bill I signed when checking out, so we had the outside hope that the Ashworth management had somehow relented. When we got our credit card bill later that same month we found out they did not relent. When I confronted management with this I got the typical corporate speak which only confirmed the attitude "Tough". So, as much as we love the Ashworth and appreciate many of the staff who work there, especially Dave in maintenance and Mr. John York, we will not be staying there any time soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashworth_By_The_Sea, Manager at Ashworth by the Sea, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Mr. Langlois,

Again, We truly apologize that you decided to check out early as you did not anticipate enjoying our live entertainment. As a long term repeat guest, we value your loyalty to the Ashworth and to our long time DJ in residence.

We do hope to see you again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ashworth by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashworth by the Sea

Address: 295 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ashworth by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ashworth by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashworth By The Sea Hotel Hampton
Ashworth By The Sea Hampton
Ashworth Sea
Ashworth Hotel Hampton Nh

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ashworth by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.