We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incomparable excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of DW's Oceanside Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hampton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
DW's Oceanside Inn
Save
You added DW's Oceanside Inn to your Saves list
365 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Hampton B&B and Inns
New England
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Incomparable excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Oceanside for our 20th anniversary. We were treated with such courtesy and made to feel so special, it was an exceptionally pleasurable stay. The home cooked breakfast was amazing, the rooms elegant, and the quiet ambiance exactly what we had hoped for. It was not a complete surprise, as we have had friends stay there and rave about it, but to enjoy it for ourselves was such a treat. I hope many others read this and get to experience this singularly special Inn as well,.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    1
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
Families
0
22
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2009

Heard a lot about the place but very non customer service oriented and almost "snooty" when having to deal with staff. If you have to deal with "Skip" at this establishment you'll walk away wondering why he's working in this field.
We were there a week and half way through our TV service was cut-off with no explanation and "Skip" could've cared less.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dwoceanside, Co-Owner at DW's Oceanside Inn, responded to this review, October 22, 2009
We did not originally plan to respond to this negative review as we feel it would probably just perpetuate the issue. However several phone calls & emails from a few of our caring & loyal guests who have stayed with us over the past 30+ years made it clear that at the very least a short response was necessary.

The important thing for anyone reading this review to know is that this person never stayed at our Inn and has never even been inside the Inn. We know this because it is not possible that the reason he gave for his complaint could ever have actually happened here. If he had stayed here, he would have known this.

Based on his comments we do know that the problem that occurred that was not resolved to his satisfaction happened in a totally unrelated business. Skip & anyone else at our Inn have always tried to respond immediately to solve issues that may come up just as soon as we are made aware of them. We want all of our guests to enjoy their time at our Inn and to know that we are always available to help them do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2009

If there is such a thing as a perfect inn, this would be it. Attention to detail is amazing. This was our third stay at DW's and we'll likely be back. The inn itself is beautifully decorated. Attention given to guests is solicitous, but not smothering. If you need something, Skip or Debbie will make it their business to get it to you immediately. Each of the rooms is decorated differently. Comfortable beds, lovely (and plenty of) linens and extremely comfortable.

Wonderful amenities. Breakfast (prepared by Skip) is always delicious. We recommend Skip's poached eggs. Everything we needed for the beach was right there (umbrellas, towels, chairs, coolers, hats, etc.). Safes in the rooms. Plenty of places on the property to relax. Easy access to bottled water, etc. Lovely gift shop. Friendly and helpful staff.

The only downfall would be the beach. However, we are picky about our beach. The hotel is separated from the beach by a busy street. So there is street noise. The beach is also a bit crowded on the weekends. We found it easier to just pack up the above mentioned beach gear and head out to a quieter more private beach.

If you're thinking of heading to New Hampshire, you should make it you business to check out DW's.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syracuse, ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2008

We had a very relaxing and enjoyable 4 night stay at the Oceanside Inn. The location is perfect, directly across the street from the ocean and a few blocks up from the busy part of the "strip," making it a bit quieter and a little less busy feeling. Skip and Debbie were great hosts.

There are 9 rooms at the inn. We stayed in the Gilman Marston room, a "deluxe room" with a comfortable queen size bed (see photos). All rooms have private baths. Water pressure and temperature were great. We had a hairdryer, safe, robes, toiletries, etc., everything you need. Our room and common areas were spotless. Fresh towels were supplied once or twice a day.

Simple amenities that we appreciated were the availability of beach chairs, umbrellas and towels if needed. The basement level of the inn included a shower to wash off sand before going upstairs, and also a large refrigerator/freezer (shared by all guests) where you could keep your beverages etc. cold. There are 2 shared patios, one in the front overlooking ocean, and one in back with lounge chairs and self-serve mini bar). Also a small cute gift shop on the first floor. Parking is available in a nearby private lot. Their attention to detail even included embossing the end of the toilet paper roll with an "O" for Oceanside each day when the room got made up.

Breakfast each morning consisted of a choice of pastry/bagels etc (with excellent jams!), fruits, and fresh squeezed OJ, as well as an egg and/or other entree selection (french toast, awesome).

Upon check in we received a $10 off coupon to eat at the neighboring restaurant, Ron's Landing. We had our final night's meal there and it was excellent.

Beach - Water was freezing but very clean and relatively large. This area of the beach seemed less crowded than further down where it is directly across from the majority of the motels.

One minor drawback... The side street directly next to the inn is evidently one of the main roads that leads you back to interstate 95, so it caused for some added traffic at certain times (i.e., Saturday night we went to sit on the balcony to relax to the sounds of the ocean but instead we got to watch/listen to a steady stream of cars leaving a Casino ballroom concert).

A few small details/recommendations....the inn has central air conditioning which I am sure is an added bonus during the hot summer months, but there are no thermostats in the room. We found it to be a bit cold for our liking (as it was cool and rainy the weekend we were there), so we shut the vent in our room. Later we tried to open our windows for some fresh air, but the storm windows were in, so we couldn't do so. This was our last full day so we didn't bother to ask if they could swap the screens in for us.

Also, our first night our room was stocked with some bluish-gray towels that were clearly worn and had seen better days. For the rest of our stay, however, we had newer, plush white towels and we did not see any more of the ragged ones (maybe it was laundry day). I would ditch those old blue towels! This is a minor detail, but they stuck out enough to make me mention it in this review! Also, at breakfast the "napkins" were small forest green terry cloth towels that also looked like they belonged to an old bath towel set, not on a dinner table. With breakfast being served with fine china and silver, I couldn't figure out why some simple linen napkins weren't used.

I have to say that my husband and I were not crazy about Hampton Beach in general. The beach itself was great but the resort area seems rather "tired" (generic arcades, shops, eateries and motor lodges) and just "ok". We did not notice many other people in our age group (couple in late 20's, no kids). The area was mostly older folks or families with children. By contrast, it seems like it would be a great family beach vacation area, and I know many families go back year after year. But it lacked a certain uniqueness, and the quaintness that we enjoyed at Cape May. The experience was probably a little bit soured by the fact that we didn't get as much beach time as we hoped for due to the rain.

Overall we loved the Oceanside Inn for it's proximity to the beach, amenities, and service, at what we could consider a reasonable price for what we got. If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing stay, I don't think you'll find a better place in Hampton Beach.

  • Liked — clean, comfy, quiet, wifi
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Lawrence, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2006

We just got back from spending three great nights at the oceanside and can't say enough good things about this INN. If you are looking for a fantastic place to stay this is it. Great location and just a beautiful facility.

Stayed August 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2006

If there's such a thing as a six star property, D.W.'s Oceanside Inn is it. Centrally located directly across from the beach, this adult, smoke free, quiet property is a diamond in the rough along the strip of Hotels and Motels of Hampton Beach. The Inn itself, and the rooms are incredibly decorated. You won't be able to take your eyes off the fabulous antiques. Breakfast included, was excellent. The Inn is immaculate from top to bottom and Innkeepers Skip and Debbie couldn't be nicer or more accommodating. Everything you need is here.

  • Liked — Uniqueness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DW's Oceanside Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DW's Oceanside Inn

Address: 365 Ocean Blvd., Hampton, NH 03842
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, elegant Inn on the NH seacoast. Set up as a quiet get-away for mature adults, mainly couples. Located directly across the street from a wide sandy beach & within easy walk of all tourist shops, restaurants & activities in center area including the beautiful new SeaShell Stage with free nightly entertainment in summer. All rooms have been completely renovated. The Inn has many common areas, i.e. front porch with beautiful ocean views, back deck self-serve bar area, living room, breakfast cafe & enclosed front porch. Rates include full breakfast. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DW's Oceanside Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.