We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical Seasonal Beach Motel - I would go back - very clean” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jonathan's on the Oceanfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Jonathan's on the Oceanfront to your Saves list
Jonathan's on the Oceanfront
415 Ocean Blvd., Hampton Beach, Hampton, NH   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Hampton
Watertown, NY
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Typical Seasonal Beach Motel - I would go back - very clean”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2010

This is your typical seasonal locally owned and operated beachfront motel. I did not find there were any type of "luxury" type hotels in this area and most of them seem to be pretty much mom and pop ones like this one. We stayed in an oceanfront with a balcony. We liked our room. It was very pleasantly decorated with an ocean theme. The furnishings were older but fine. The one thing I liked is that it has a small kitchen sink and countertop area. Everything was very clean and the staff was very nice. The woman that runs the place is awesome. It is not an upscale place but as far as I am concerned Hampton Beach is a honky tonk type area and there really is nothing upscale about it. If I were to visit Hampton Beach again I would definately go to this motel again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    10
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
10
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Derry, New Hampshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2010

Two buildings, we stayed in the back building on the top floor. Cleanliness was OK, bathroom could have been much better. Nice refrigerator, ancient microwave, beds OK. Walk up to level 3 was 47 stairs plus landings, so be prepared for some exercise. Ice machine was in the front building, which was difficult, since it meant leaving the building and then coming back up all those stairs! NO HBO as advertised, which really was a downer since it rained while we were there and we could have enjoyed a commercial-free movie. Office was not open after 2PM on Saturday and was closed on Sunday, so we weren't sure how to report anything broken, problems,etc. Price was reasonable for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2010

We reserved 3 rooms at this location. All the rooms were clean, and had been recently renovated. This is a place that we have stayd before, becuse of how safe it is. The staff was helpful and waited for us to arive. Eventhou the places was booked we heard very little noise at night. The rate are reasonable and we were able to even save money since the rooms had refreidgeartors and a microwaves. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, TN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Perhaps I'm a bit partial because this place is sentimental to me. My family and I have stayed at Jonathan's Motel for years and continue to go back. We will be there again this August. I suppose for someone who is accustomed to nice things you might not enjoy staying here. This motel is for those who are a bit more laid back. If you want to pay extra and be pampered on your vacation, don't stay here. I would compare this to most motel 8's. It's that kind of place. It could stand a good cleaning, but I've never felt unsafe at Jonathan's. Most of the workers there are teenagers. Most teenagers don't clean that well so keep that in mind. I would not say that it was disgusting and unlivable. I've stayed in a place that made my skin crawl and Jonathan's does not compare to it. The location is great. Especially if you enjoy the quiet (family) side of the beach. Rather than the loud young teenage side. It's all in your perception and what you are wanting. This place is not by any means high end. But, if that is not important to you, then I would absolutely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2009

The room was really dirty. Bedding, carpeting made your skin crawl. The only good thing was lots of towels. Never Never stay there. Did not feel safe there.

  • Liked — The beach
  • Disliked — All of it
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

We disliked everything about this place. The only good thing was its location. It was not clean in any way shape or form. We arrived while the "maids" were cleaning our room. After they were finished we went in to discover a mess. We found crumbs under the bed, hair all over the sheets and towels. There were stains as well. The largest stain was on the mattress cover, it was at least 12 inches wide and brown and disgusting. We also found a childs swim shorts in the bathroom that were definetly not ours. The toilet and shower were also unlivable. The phone had brown burn marks and gunk on it, and the television was on what looked like a flimsy music stand. There were also stains on the walls and cobwebs. The carpet was in need of a good shampoo.
After we discovered the messes in our room, we asked the concierge, who was a teenager, to switch but it was impossible since there were no vacancies. So we asked for her to come look att he mess. She did so with an attitude, and said "this room is from the 70's and this is as celan as it can get." then she offered us new sheets which we never received.
We would not reccomend Jonathans to anyone but our enemies. It is not clean, the staff was of little help and it was gross. If you are goign to stay here i would ask to see your room before you agree to it, some rooms are better than others.

  • Liked — nothing.
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Jonathan's on the Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jonathan's on the Oceanfront

Address: 415 Ocean Blvd., Hampton Beach, Hampton, NH
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > Hampton
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hampton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Jonathan's on the Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jonathan`s On The Oceanfront Hotel Hampton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jonathan's on the Oceanfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.