We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great activity for anyone that loves rocks and minerals!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ruggles Mine

Ruggles Mine
Route 4, Grafton, NH
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 Attractions in Grafton
Type: Mines, Cultural
Attraction details
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
75 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Great activity for anyone that loves rocks and minerals!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I have 2 boys ages 9 and 10, and when they heard about this place, they were so excited! Many caves and such we have been at in the past, have those little gem "mining" areas where you get a bag of rocks and its kind of lame. I never let them waste their money on it. Here, at Ruggles Mine, you can really mine for rocks and minerals! It is in the backwoods of Grafton, NH (and I have seen other people review this and say it is so far off route and hard to find. But there are many signs and it was not hard to find at all.)

Upon arriving, you pay an admission fee - it is on the more expensive side, but you can take home as many rocks and minerals that you mine as you want! We filled an entire shopping bag full. The hammers they rent are only $3 a piece, so that really isn't too bad, considering if you purchased a mining hammer like that, they would be upwards of $40 or more.

The experience itself was awesome! They have a little museum and display on the different minerals you can find specifically there in their caves. Then, after you have looked all of that over, you walk down the path and through a tunnel, and voila! You feel like you are on the set of an Indiana Jones movie, and have just walked into another world. There are cool caves, and rocks and you totally feel like you are out on a treasure hunt.

We spent about 2 hours doing actual mining, although I am sure you could spend all day if you were hard core. The great thing was that one of the employees was down helping everyone identify the different minerals they were looking for, and how to find them. This was a huge help. It was great to know exactly what to look for.

We were very pleased with our experience - it's not something you do every day!

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    20
    8
    5
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Durham, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“History and today's experience in one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just fun to step back in time and see "how they did it" with a chance to find just the right souvenir.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, NH
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Junior Geoligists at Play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

We went for the first time yesterday and had a fun and amazing time. It is a huge place filled with lots of incredible tunnels to explore and rocks and samples to collect. What a truly wonderful place to take your budding geologists of all ages. I was somewhat skeptical based on some others peoples reviews, but decided that if you are not into gathering rocks, then this is NOT the place for you. Skip it because those people's reviews are unfair and misleading to others who truly want a fun place that kids and adults alike will enjoy. Bring your backpacks empty so you can fill them with samples, as we did, and as questions of the staff. They are here to help! And all the staff was most friendly and not unkind as some people posted. Go, have fun, and just be a kid again!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place to visit; but one time is all it takes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

I visited here this past weekend with my two kids aged 8 & 5
Pros:
>Fun stop for family

>Staff was super nice and very helpful, while in the mine they explained about all types of rocks/ minerals and how to use a hammer properly to collect rocks etc.. They even hammered out a piece of uranium for everybody!!

> rent hammer for 3 bucks but had to put down a deposit of 20 (they do allow you to bring in your own buckets/shovels)

> When you walk down, it feels like you are transported, doesn't feel like your still in NH


Cons
> 25 bucks for adult I think 13 for kids
It's a bit pricey for walking and collecting rocks

> I thought it was tricky to find off of 4 and when you do find it the drive up is steep and rocky

Final thought definitely worth a visit once in a life!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Meh”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

Was tooling around New London, Andover etc., and saw this advertized off route 4, so I thought "what the hell, give it a shot". Boy was I naive. As has been mentioned elsewhere, THIS PLACE IS A TOTAL WASTE OF TIME AND MONEY IF YOU DONT COME PREPARED.

$25 gets you in the door, no options, no hammer, no bags, just a walk thru an arch into a pit. A couple hours bashing rocks together and picking up scraps off the floor, and I have some interesting souvenirs of my trip to NH, but would definitely not bring a family here.

The trip there is not easy too... Very steep road. Signs along route 4 give distances, but that's just to the turn-off. After that it's another 3-4 miles along pot-holed shoddy gravel tracks, car covered in filth, suspension shot to pieces. Lady at the front desk was a cantakerous old cow, very uncooperative. For $25 you'd think they could throw in a hammer and a plastic bag. Mean mean people.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruggles Mine also viewed

 

Been to Ruggles Mine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruggles Mine, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.