We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great find” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Town & Country Inn and Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Town & Country Inn and Resort to your Saves list
Town & Country Inn and Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 US Route 2, Gorham, NH 03581   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A great find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I have just returned from a weeks skiing in New Hampshire with our school, St Annes Catholic High schoo for Girls in London. We were very impressed with the level of service offered to all guests. It was a very friendly place and all staff were very helpful indeed.
The accomodation was very comfortable and the quality of food in the restaurant was very good indeed.
We would certainly consider the Town and Country inn for any further trips to the New Hampshire area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
We are so happy to hear everyone had an enjoyable time here at the T&C. The group was well behaved, polite and easy to please. Hopefully the rest of the trip, from the skiing, shopping and flights were as pleasant as your stay at the Town & Country. We look forward to your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    86
    30
    26
    12
See reviews for
59
76
7
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Like stepping back in time. Nice recently renovated rooms, good food, very friendly staff, dog friendly, wonderful scenery and reasonably priced. We stop every year on our way from Bangor to Burlington on rt 2. Several years ago we were not impressed during a stay but they have made some much needed improvements. For the price it is an excellent choice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are very happy you were pleased with your accommodations, your visits to our dining room and the value you received. We are continuing to renovate our property and appreciate you staying with us. We work hard to earn our guests trust and we will continue to do so.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

From the front it looks like a good motel, but in back there's a large, ugly parking lot. The motel mainly serves large fleets of tour buses--they have several rooms. The rooms are old and worn--worn carpeting, musty rooms, old bathroom fixtures.

Service is poor. I helped an elderly woman lug her luggage upstairs (no elevator). We had breakfast, but had to wait several minutes to be served (waiters ignored us and we demanded service from someone who said it's not her table. Nobody's table apparently). Still, if you only want sleep and don't mind the smell, you could do worse.

Room Tip: Best rooms are on north, facing the grounds, not on the south facing the parking. Get first floor i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
While I appreciate all comments about my families owned and operated hotel, I can't understand why it took you a year to post a review, as it states you stayed here in December of 2011. Since then, we have remodeled guest rooms and public areas and are continuing to refurbish in 2013.
We receive many positive comments on our grounds and as for parking, we have large areas because we have a need for them, from motorcoaches, snowmobiliers, ATV riders and the groups we are able to accommodate.
As for our service, I have, along with many of our staff, performed many duties including carrying luggage and delivering cots and towels. If the guest had asked for help, she would have recieved it from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

A 2-3 storey motel located at the entrance to Gorham, New Hampshire. Rooms are very clean, quiet and comfortable. There is ample parking space all around the motel. The motel is pet friendly. It offers excellent value for your money. There is a dining room offering good choice and excellent meals. This is a very popular motel, so book early if you are travelling during summer months.

Room Tip: book well in advance during summer months as motel is often fully booked
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for submitting a review. We are happy you were pleased with our hotel, dining room and the amenities offered. We appreciate your comments and continue to improve on our 50 plus years of providing value for your dollar. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, AL
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Given its location, this resort is very reasonably priced. The service and accommodations, however, left much to be desired. Uncomfortable bed and linens, too few towels, a layer of dust on various surfaces in the room, dirty in-room coffeemaker, toiletries not replaced as needed, breakfast not included, very slow dining room service, very tiny in-room bathrooms, noisy heater and running commode. On the plus side, the apples in the lobby are a nice touch, and the meeting rooms are spacious.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the comments. I would assume you attended a seminar over a few days here recently. If you found faults in your accommodations and our dining room, it would have been helpful to notify us and we would have rectified it immediately. Our dining room's breakfast menu is priced between $5.00 and $8.00, so we feel the price and value is more than reasonable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASSARIA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

The hotel restaurant is a nice surprise - family friendly but classic in atmosphere. We had seafood that was well prepared and presented in a 4 star style. The room is comfortable with inside and outside access. Parking access and hallway access to the pool, arcade and exercise room is nice. The rate was very reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for the kind words about your stay and our property. We are thrilled you enjoyed our dining room and the value we offer. We are family friendly because we are family owned and operated. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairsville, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed at the Town and Country Resort for nine nights in September. I am certain vacationing at this resort would be enjoyable year round. The setting is beautiful. We were very impressed by the services the resort offered. The staff was very friendly and met all of our requests. My husband hiked the AppalachianTrail for several days during our stay. I felt very comfortable staying there while he was away. Their talented chefs prepared incredible meals for us. We will definitely return next year. I already know what I want for dinner.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott L, Owner at Town & Country Inn and Resort, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you for visiting us and we are so happy your family enjoyed your vacation here with us. We put a great amount of effort into our dining room and it is nice to hear positive comments.
We are also happy that you were comfortable here while your husband was hiking. We look forward to you visiting us next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Town & Country Inn and Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Town & Country Inn and Resort

Address: 20 US Route 2, Gorham, NH 03581
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Town & Country Inn and Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Town & Country Inn and Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town And Country Motor Inn Resort
Town & Country Motor Hotel Gorham
Town And Country Motor Inn Gorham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Town & Country Inn and Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.