We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royalty Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royalty Inn to your Saves list
Royalty Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   130 Main Street, Gorham, NH 03581   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50 Royalty Rewards bonus points bonus points with your stay
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
1 review
“Terrible!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

I am certainly not impressed- my fiance and i booked a room for his birthday, i was a housekeeper and currently am a Licensed Nursing Assistant meaning one of my jobs for the elderly is to make sure beds are clean!! Well.. When i walked in first thing to check is the bathrooms; my housekeeping habit! Well, hair was in the tub! Discusting, didnt mention it to manager when we spoke with them though! Other than that there was blood stains on the bed and purple stains! I had my two year old child with us! And it ruined sleep because we could NOT sleep in a nasty bed so we slept in a pull out couch all together!! I am NOT impressed!! We have called numerous times to do something about it- no answer it is october 8th 2012!!! Also, the head housekeeper seen the mess and blamed the blood and stains on US! Very unconsiderate considering we wouldnt sleep in that nasty bed! I recommend checking your beds n bathrooms before wasting your money!

Pros- great location, pool, and front desk was great with giving us extra towels.. Other than that, i wouldnt recommend wasting money to stay there unless you want to deal with blood which is very unsanitary!!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
As owner I take every review and complaint serious. The problem that I had with this situation was that you did not bring these issues to our attention until the next day, almost 18 hours after you checked in. Had we known about these issues the evening that you stayed and not the next day, we would have either fixed the problem, found you another room or refunded your money. I am very sorry for your stay but I was never given the opportunity to make it right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    77
    32
    15
    9
See reviews for
86
46
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Linz, Austria
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

The room I had was obviously worn and would need refurbishment but it was clean with a fridge, microwave and wifi, staff was friendly and price was ok. Therefore a good place to stay for a short time and good location for travel inside the White Mountains.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that you were not completely satisfied. We are constantly upgrading the property and would expect that any worn or outdated items will be replaced. Please try us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

A little pricy for the room we had: no sheers on windows , no coffeesker in room and sink had a film or scum around the edge where it was set into the counter.
Also no breakfast where most other hotels at this price provided free breakfast. Lots of other choices in the town

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I am very sorry that you were not completely happy with your stay. I wish you would have called the front desk to report any problems that you experienced. We are always available to take care of any problems that arise. Cleanliness is very important to me.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, MA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

My friends and I just recently took a vacation up North to go hiking and white water rafting. We found a good rate at the Royalty Inn, and never staying at this hotel before we were pleasantly surprised by how nice it actually was. The absolute best feature of this hotel is their fitness center where their indoor pool is. The quality and cleanliness of this part of the hotel was phenomenal, and will be the reason why we stay here again. We also had a really fun night at their restaurant, Ledgend's Pub. They have a very sweet girl bartender there that learned all our names instantly and made us feel like we had been regulars there for years. We are definitely coming back to stay at this hotel for a weekend ski trip, and are very much looking forward to it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you very much. Very happy you enjoyed your stay. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night and loved it. The first room we were given was pretty bad. It had a musty/smoky odor and there was a dehumidifier running. We were quickly given another room that was spotless. The pool is in another building and has a sauna & hot tub. Very relaxing after a day of traveling.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for your review. Sorry you were given a room that was still in the cleaning process. Our housekeepers noticed the odor and were correcting the problem. I am happy that we were able to give you a room to your satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Right in the centre of town with easy access to local restaurants. Ok but basic room and very clean. Was very quiet at night but this might be because we were in the outbuilding further back, not sure what it's like in the main building which is on the main road. Free wifi as well which is great to see in a motel. Beautifull surroundings and a good place to stay for a few nights to explore the nearby attractions like the drive up Mt. Washington.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review the property. Very happy you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

This place is clean, this was my second time staying here. My only complaint was when we walked in our room it smelled like someone smoked, not there fault, but still smelly. I went to the front desk and the attendant did try to help, I asked for a can of spray to keep for the night and that helped. I will still comeback again, but if you have a non smoking room people please don't smoke in it... Thanks for making our stay great :) ohh and the indoor pool is super nice, warm and not to deep.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoyaltyGorham_NH, Owner at Royalty Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
Very sorry that your room had a smoke odor. It is very rude when people smoke in non smoking rooms. We do our best to provide the cleanest and freshest room possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royalty Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royalty Inn

Address: 130 Main Street, Gorham, NH 03581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royalty Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"White Mountains Best Value" Full service property featuring restaurant, lounge, indoor and outdoor pools, Jacuzzi, sauna, racquetball, basketball, extensive weight room, Cardio room, game room and guest laundry. All guest rooms feature refrigerator, microwave, and free WIFI. The Royalty Inn is close to all the attractions that make the White Mountains the ultimate vacation destination. Mt. Washington, Wildcat, Tuckerman's Ravine, Great Glen Trails are only 10 min away. Storyland, Santa's Village, and Six Gun City only 20 min and Attitash and Sunday River 30 min. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, TravelClick and Booking.com so you can book your Royalty Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royalty Hotel Gorham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royalty Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.