We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a great motel! The best on our trip through New England” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Top Notch Inn to your Saves list
Top Notch Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   265 Main Street, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Story Land Ticket
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Zelienople, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is a great motel! The best on our trip through New England”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Top Notch Inn while on a motorcycle trip with some friends through NE. The personnel are friendly and helpful. The room was lovely and large and had just recently been redone. The location is convient being right in town. Also very close to MT Washington. The grounds were well taken care of and landscaped nicely with flowers. The benches available in front of each room and in the common green area make it convenient to sit around with friends and enjoy the outside and wonderful view of the mountains. There is a great restaurant right next door not owned by the motel. This is simply a great New England style motel at a very reasonable price!!! Will definitely stay here again when in the area.
Bob & Joan Corfield

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    109
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
104
132
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Willimantic, Connecticut
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

This is the second year we stayed here. The room we stayed in had recently been done over. Very clean with new furniture, high definition TV. Everything one would need to be comfortable. All at a reasonable price. Members of the staff were friendly and had good knowledge of the Mt Washington area. Hope to return again when in this area.
Don (dwmorse@snet.net)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Berwick, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2010

The owners were very friendly and accomadating. The room was exactly like it was shown on their web page.Extremely clean and comfortable. If you're going ATV riding in Berlin they will give you all the information you need, including where to see moose...and we did!!! Looking forward to going back there again. Mary, Jon, Gerri and Joe

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Juliet, TN
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2010

Found this place on the internet by reading reviews from other Trip Advisor guest. Great place to stay. We loved the area and the service when we arrived was great. Good restaurant next door I would highly recommend as well.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We've been to Disney World, California, and all over..... but when asked where they want to go again - the kids say "Top Notch Inn!" Our 7 and 10-year-olds love our annual trip to NH, and LOVE the bunk bed room and pool at Top Notch. As parents, we couldn't ask for a cleaner, more friendly motel to stay in near all the fun family spots of NH. See you in 2011!

Tina and Brian Perry

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Nicely located for Mt. Washington-White Mountains exploring. Hotel is VERY well-maintained. We've never seen so much daily tidying at similar non-chain lodgings (thoroughly sweeping room exterior walkways/lounging areas, gardening, etc.)! Rooms are completely cleaned each day. Requests for additional towels, blow-dryer were honored immediately. Walls appeared freshly painted, light fixtures in room & bathroom were modern. Small fridge & microwave were unexpected bonus. Owners seem to be very accommodating: pets are allowed with reasonable restrictions; no smoking in rooms, but sturdy iron & wooden benches outside each room provide a retreat for smokers who are respectful of fellow guests. Excellent window treatments for anyone who needs to sleep later in morning. The only drawback was not enough space to put away clothes for 4 people in one room (small 3-drawer bureau and 3 double-coat hooks, no hanging clothes area), but, as hikers, temporary out-of-suitcase living was fine, given all the pluses of The Top Notch Inn. Finally, the $5 off coupon for the auto-road at check-in was appreciated. Overall, you definitely get your money's worth at this friendly inn!

NEARBY DINING: Unlike many small towns in area, Gorham has typical fast-food places (McDonald's, Burger King, Pizza Hut, Dunkin Donuts), all within 1-3 miles of Top Notch Inn. However, for great local food, atmosphere, and prices for a family on a budget, The Red Parka Steakhouse & Pub in Glen, New Hampshire (30 min. drive away) can't be beat. (J's Restaurant next door to hotel has decent food, but was over-priced in addition to having broken or no air-conditioning on a toasty day.)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Washington, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The photos shown on the Top Notch Inn website don't represent the entire Inn. After viewing the website I expected to be placed in a room with nice wallpaper, new carpet, and a nice bed spread. When I opened the door to our room I was surprised by the fake and dark wood paneling on the walls. Something I certainly didn't see on the website. The carpet was dark green, and stained.

I can accept these aspects of the room as rustic, but unfortunately there were other aspects of the Inn which were total disappointments. For one the room smelt of cheap cleaner. Imagine trying to sleep with the smell of Lysol all night. I had the worst headache when I woke up.

If you do stay here, be sure to check that your sheets are clean. The sheets in our room were not only stained, but we also found out from another guest that the sheets in the room next to us were stained as well. I'm guessing to cut time the cleaning staff overloaded the washing machine, thus the sheets didn't get washed properly. The front desk attendant was friendly and gave us new sheets, but the whole incident was disturbing.

One last complaint, before I mentioned the one positive aspect of our stay. The bathroom had mold, and the faucet in the bathroom was broken. You would have to turn the knobs twice to get them to turn on.

The Inn is located near the shops in Gorham, and it's easy to get onto Hwy 16, which will take you to the Presidential Range.

I believe the Top Notch Inn might have some nice rooms, but be sure you don't get duped like I did by their nice website, and the photos they show. You might get a room like the ones shown in the photos, but if you don't, your spending to much money. It's to bad they put some guests in run down rooms, while other guests get put in nicer rooms, without much price difference. That's deception, and it just isn't right.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travelinman6969, Manager at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, August 9, 2010
Thank you for sharing your opinion, it will make us better. We are sorry that we could
not meet your expectations.
We have many types of rooms to choose from here at the Top Notch Inn.
Our Country Rooms are wallpapered, as are some of the deluxe kings. Many rooms have painted walls, and some of the rooms with two doubles or a standard king will have natural wood walls.
We have a dedicated professional cleaning staff that takes pride in their exceptionally
clean and well maintained rooms. We apologize if you did not find the room to your standard.
We will work hard to rectify this situation, so it doesn’t happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main Street, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved,in-town location,walk to cafe, dining and wood fired pizza! 5 Restaurants with discounts for our guests. All rooms have free WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge and microwave, family rooms with kings and bunks or doubles and twin, deluxe king rooms, groups and families love the Moriah Cottage with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Pinkham House with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout. Mt Washington Auto Road and Great Glen Trails are 10 minutes away, discount available. Story Land, Santa's Village, hiking, rafting. Moose tours close by. Specials for Story Land, Santa's Village,Moose Tours and much more. Newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms for 2013. We are proud of our Sustainability Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, T4B, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Notch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.