We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Top Notch Inn to your Saves list
Top Notch Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   265 Main Street, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Attraction Ticket
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Woodstock, N. B. Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable rooms, friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

On our way from Maine through the White Mountains we found ourselves in Gorham, N.H. when it was time to stop for the night. We drove through the village and decided on The Top Notch Inn. The young lady on the desk was very friendly and after a short chat with her we went to our room which was very comfortable, with two beds, a couple of nice easy chairs and a desk to take care of our computer needs. We recieved a 10% off coupon for the restaurant next door for dinner and for breakfast we just had to show our motel reciept for a discount at another restaurant. Both of which were very good. The lady at check-out was also very friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review and share your experience with us. We are glad you enjoyed the time you spent at the Top Notch Inn. We look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    109
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
104
132
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

My wife and I were driving through Gorham on a rainy afternoon in mid Oct and saw this attractive motel. Our stay there was wonderful. Our room (with King Size bed) was beautifully decorated and immaculate. I read one review where a person said that they were rudely treated, but my experience was totally the opposite. The staff were extremely cordial and helpful in all respects. I observed another guest at check-in who also remarked about the friendliness of the staff who answered all my questions and provided helpful suggestions. I would definitely stay there again and recommend Top Notch Inn to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We thank you for staying with us, and appreciate your kind words about our motel and staff. Thank you for recommending the Top Notch Inn to others, and we hope you can stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec City, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We were a group of freinds going to climb mount Washigton. Good service, clean. Ask for a renovated room. 2nd visit there and both times we wre very plased. This time we had a 'deluxe' that included a microwave and fridge. For some reason had a difficult time using the WIFI but overall a very good and convenient stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Repeat customers are much appreciated! We're happy you enjoyed your deluxe king room. We do guarantee wifi and offer support to see that it works for our guests. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherryfield, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is not the first time we have stayed at the Top Notch Inn and once again found it to be clean, comfortable and good service. This is a very good time of the year to travel, great weather, beautiful colors, crisp mornings and warm afternoons. The best.

Room Tip: Ask for the Madison Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Our customers are the best! Thank you for all the compliments, and for taking time to write a review. We hope to see you again when you travel our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the Top Notch Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. A very clean motel in a downtown location with several restaurant locations nearby. Service was excellent and the staff very helpful. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Our customer satisfaction is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to write a great review and hope you can stay with us again, we'll look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were not sure what to expect when arriving at the Inn (motel). We found it to be very clean and efficiently run. If they changed out the darker curtains and bedspreads, it would make the rooms much more bright and inviting. Overall, we were pleased with our stay and the front desk staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are pleased that you found our motel very clean and efficiently run. We are in the process of remodeling many rooms and look forward to having you back to see what you think! Thank you so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We "checked in" and "checked out" the same night. We arrived about 8 pm. We left by 9:30 p.m. We were greeted quite professionally by the clerk, Elaine, who handled our check in efficiently. However, when we got to our rooms--we had two reserved-- the interior smell of a musty substance was overwhelming. The bathroom smelled of sewer gas. Having respitory problems we realized we could not remain in this place overnight. The next issue was that the heat was not working. Elaine did fix this on a timely basis. Then the toilet would not handle a normal flush of waste. The motel is dated, and not very inviting. Later we found out, that the motel had given us 'pet friendly' rooms. UGH! The smell of the prior 'pets' and what must have been their leavings was totally unacceptable. We told Elaine we were not happy, and she did offer us another room, but, by this time we just felt with the respitory concerns we could not spend the night. Elaine was very gracious, gave us no difficulty in crediting our account for the original check in charge. We would not recommend this facility, unless substantial upgrades were made, e.g. new carpet, bedding, appointments, etc. Identifying the pet rooms to guests upon check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for letting us know of these problems you had. We investigated these issues thoroughly, and we were unable to detect any of the "smells" you found. For precautionary measures we have completely stripped this room, and gave it deep through cleansing. We do take pride in our meticulously clean facility, and invite you to give us another try next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main Street, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved,in-town location,walk to cafe, dining and wood fired pizza! 5 Restaurants with discounts for our guests. All rooms have free WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge and microwave, family rooms with kings and bunks or doubles and twin, deluxe king rooms, groups and families love the Moriah Cottage with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Pinkham House with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout. Mt Washington Auto Road and Great Glen Trails are 10 minutes away, discount available. Story Land, Santa's Village, hiking, rafting. Moose tours close by. Specials for Story Land, Santa's Village,Moose Tours and much more. Newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms for 2013. We are proud of our Sustainability Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Priceline, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Notch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.