We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Top Notch Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Top Notch Inn to your Saves list
Top Notch Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   265 Main Street, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Story Land Ticket
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Cherryfield, Maine
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

This is not the first time we have stayed at the Top Notch Inn and once again found it to be clean, comfortable and good service. This is a very good time of the year to travel, great weather, beautiful colors, crisp mornings and warm afternoons. The best.

Room Tip: Ask for the Madison Room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Our customers are the best! Thank you for all the compliments, and for taking time to write a review. We hope to see you again when you travel our way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    109
    22
    9
    7
See reviews for
104
132
13
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Stonington, Connecticut
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

We stopped at the Top Notch Inn based on Trip Advisor reviews and were not disappointed. A very clean motel in a downtown location with several restaurant locations nearby. Service was excellent and the staff very helpful. Excellent value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Our customer satisfaction is very important to us. Thank you for taking the time to write a great review and hope you can stay with us again, we'll look forward to your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were not sure what to expect when arriving at the Inn (motel). We found it to be very clean and efficiently run. If they changed out the darker curtains and bedspreads, it would make the rooms much more bright and inviting. Overall, we were pleased with our stay and the front desk staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
We are pleased that you found our motel very clean and efficiently run. We are in the process of remodeling many rooms and look forward to having you back to see what you think! Thank you so much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We "checked in" and "checked out" the same night. We arrived about 8 pm. We left by 9:30 p.m. We were greeted quite professionally by the clerk, Elaine, who handled our check in efficiently. However, when we got to our rooms--we had two reserved-- the interior smell of a musty substance was overwhelming. The bathroom smelled of sewer gas. Having respitory problems we realized we could not remain in this place overnight. The next issue was that the heat was not working. Elaine did fix this on a timely basis. Then the toilet would not handle a normal flush of waste. The motel is dated, and not very inviting. Later we found out, that the motel had given us 'pet friendly' rooms. UGH! The smell of the prior 'pets' and what must have been their leavings was totally unacceptable. We told Elaine we were not happy, and she did offer us another room, but, by this time we just felt with the respitory concerns we could not spend the night. Elaine was very gracious, gave us no difficulty in crediting our account for the original check in charge. We would not recommend this facility, unless substantial upgrades were made, e.g. new carpet, bedding, appointments, etc. Identifying the pet rooms to guests upon check in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Thank you for letting us know of these problems you had. We investigated these issues thoroughly, and we were unable to detect any of the "smells" you found. For precautionary measures we have completely stripped this room, and gave it deep through cleansing. We do take pride in our meticulously clean facility, and invite you to give us another try next time you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I have come to the White Mountains for a number of years now to enjoy the beautiful fall foliage and hiking the Presidential Range. We always stay at the Top Notch Inn. Usually we stay in the Mountain rooms, but this year we brought our pup, so we stayed in one of the dog-friendly standard rooms (rm 115). What sets this place apart is the service. Everyone we have ever encountered has been so friendly, courteous and helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable, a very good value. The location is perfect for access to some of the best hiking in the Northeast as well as the Kankamagus highway. After a day on the trails, we love grabbing a beer and dinner at J's next door. We also enjoy the White Mtn cafe for coffee and baked goods. Looking forward to trying out the Saalt Pub and Libby's Bistro the next time we are up. Thanks Top Notch Inn and see you next fall! Kim Y

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TopNotchInnMgmt, Owner at Top Notch Inn, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Great to have you stay with us again! We're glad to see you discovered some of the great restaurants Gorham has to offer, and that you and your "pup" enjoyed your stay here at the Top Notch. We'll see you next fall if not sooner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have stayed at the Top Notch Inn 2 weekends in a row! First weekend was to take my son and his friend to Story Land, which wasn't far away, and the drive was beautiful! Second stay was for my 32nd Birthday and we went to Great Glen Trails which was amazing. Our stay at the Top Notch was wonderful. The service was great and the people at the front desk were very nice and very informative when it came to places to eat, shop and sight seeing. They also included 10% coupon to the very nice restaurant next door and if you brought your hotel receipt to Walsh's (A great place to have a breakfast buffet) they would give you 10% you meal there as well. When staying, we were able to swim in their heated pool (the weather was 64 degrees) and use their hot tub for later in the evenings. The Top Notch Inn is not only conveniently located in a great area, it's also a quiet little neighborhood too, and the price, in my opinion, was pretty good! SO needless to say, next time I heading up to the White Mountains area, I'll be choosing the Top Notch Inn again!

Room Tip: If you have a family of 3 or 4 or you're with friends or children, get the room with 2 doubles a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bow, New Hampshire, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We have stayed at the Top Notch Inn several times when visiting the Gorham area. If you have a special vehicle or cargo, you are parked right outside your door. Comforting. The rooms are ground-level. We have never had an issue with cleanliness or odor - and we are pretty particular! Our last visit on Labor Day weekend, when the motel was full, was problem-free. On all visits the outdoor pool and hot tub were clean and in order. The location is perfect for us, close to White Mountain attractions while avoiding the hustle-bustle of North Conway. I don't go to the North Country for the shopping! We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Top Notch Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Top Notch Inn

Address: 265 Main Street, Center of Town, Gorham, NH 03581
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New Hampshire > White Mountains > Gorham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Gorham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Top Notch Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AAA approved,in-town location,walk to cafe, dining and wood fired pizza! 5 Restaurants with discounts for our guests. All rooms have free WIFI, 32" HDTV, fridge and microwave, family rooms with kings and bunks or doubles and twin, deluxe king rooms, groups and families love the Moriah Cottage with 5 bedrooms sleeping up to 10 & the Pinkham House with fully equipped kitchen, spacious living room, and three bedrooms that sleep 8 comfortably. We are dog friendly in select rooms and 100% smoke-free throughout. Mt Washington Auto Road and Great Glen Trails are 10 minutes away, discount available. Story Land, Santa's Village, hiking, rafting. Moose tours close by. Specials for Story Land, Santa's Village,Moose Tours and much more. Newly renovated and Eco-Friendly rooms for 2013. We are proud of our Sustainability Rating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Top Notch Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a Top Notch Hotel Gorham
a Top Notch Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Top Notch Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.